We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Robin Hood

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Brook Street, Tring HP23 5ED, England
+44 1442 824912
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri 11:30 - 23:30
Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 128: English reviews
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice pub grub here and very friendly bar staff with good, quick service. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Could only be bettered with a real fire. The decor needs a bot of work though. It used to be more colourful and support local artists, be a bot quirky but now it is dull in comparison.

Helpful?
Thank kealeyhenderson
Voiron, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointement Nice girls and Good beer But steak overcooked fat and strong One year ago it was better

Helpful?
Thank f5nmr
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi f5nmr, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your steak when you visited us on this occasion. We source all our steaks locally, but as with all meats there can be variations in quality. There is not an excuse for it to be overcooked, please accept my apologies for that. You would have been better to have brought this to... More 

Freuchie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

This is what pubs used to be like - lots of beams, nooks and crannies to find a quiet spot to chat and have a drink. I wasn't blown away by the ales on offer but there was a half decent range to choose from. All in all a pleasant little pub.

Helpful?
1 Thank Grim72
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

We are a traditional pub and are very lucky to be in a Sixteenth century building with loads of character. As for the beer selection, we are tied to Fullers so are limited to their beer and one guest. That said we have four regular beers on tap, and two rotating, either seasonal or guest, so we would be pleased... More 

Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This place is very traditional and has a brilliant pop up Thai on a Sunday especially good for lazy Sunday dinners! Have not tried a roast yet but will be back as only a few paces from my front door!!

Helpful?
Thank dominictutton
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Pop in for a roast, i'm sure you will enjoy it.. If you are really close then we hope to be your 'local'. We have many regulars and I'm sure you will get to know some of them. See you soon, Terry More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

We visited on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. It was quiet but we were told there was a 20 minute wait. Over an hour after we had ordered, and after being told several times that "it is on its way" we were served. Fish and chips tasted like they had been waiting a long time, and the fish had dried... More 

Helpful?
Thank cressey4
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi crease4 If it was quiet how then is it that sandwiches and meals were being returned to the kitchen?? I have questioned the staff about your review. I have been told that everyone ordered at once, hence the wait, as all food is prepared to order. We have however identified an issue with our fish supplier, a national supplier.... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

I've eaten here a few times and the food has always been impressive. They have a really good gluten free menu too. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and the outside space is a great bonus.

Helpful?
1 Thank caspernfg
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi caspernfg, Thanks for your great review of us, after some we have had lately we were beginning to lose heart a bit. It's great to see an experienced reviewer giving us a good review. I'm very pleased we have a;ways delivered for you and hope this will always continue. Should you ever have an issue please let me know... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Visiting Tring for another reason we called in for food late afternoon. Friendly enough but there was banging from the erection of a structure on the roof which wasn't great.. We ordered two steak meals and two lasagne meals. Both were poor and not good value for money. The lasagne wasn't cooked properly and had lumps of mince which hadn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JanetMulvey56
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi JanetMulvey56 Sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. I have to agree that the banging was a bit loud, we did not want the work carried out during opening time but had little choice in the matter. I do not agree however with your assertion that we are not good value for money. A locally sourced 8oz... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We met up with friends for drinks before dinner and we were made to feel welcome by the lovely owners. The pub has lots of charm and character. It has a lovely court yard to relax and have drinks in especially in the summer and it is lovely and cosy inside for those winter evenings. We had such a good... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank foxybolding
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review, we try to make everyone welcome. We look forward to your return as well, Best Regards, Terry More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

had a wonderful Thai authentic meal which is always held on sunday evenings. Pleasant and polite staff. owners very welcoming can't wait to come back. highly recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandra K
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, the Thai is a great addition to our business on Sunday evenings. I'm pleased you enjoyed it. Terry More 

Herts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

For the most part an OK pub could do with a revamp and a bit clique orientated, staff a bit stand offish nevertheless beers were good standard .

Helpful?
5 Thank Ic_Blue
Terry J, Owner at The Robin Hood, responded to this review

Hi Ic_Blue, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Not sure about a re-vamp but I can say we probably were not looking our best, as we had had a flood that morning and had to clean up as best we could. We don't notice, or encourage, any cliques but i'm sure it sometimes looks that way,... More 

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood also viewed

Tring, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Robin Hood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Brook Street, Tring HP23 5ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Tring
  • Phone Number: +44 1442 824912
Description
The Robin Hood Tring is a lovely 16th Century pub, right on the edge of Tring town centre. With its log burning stoves and cosy low ceilings, the pub delivers a warm welcome in every sense - plus an exciting menu, excellent real ales and good old-fashioned service with a smile. Speciality Sausage nights on Tuesday and Thursday.
Sundays from 1800hrs Tip Kao Thai takes over serving authentic fresh cooked Thai. JJ prepares a delightful menu with weekly specials to eat in or take away.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Robin Hood staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?