We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
85 Mortimer Street | Basement Bar, Herne Bay CT6 5PR, England
+44 1227 368388
Website
Today
10:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Wed - Sat 10:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 235: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a small and very cozy restaurant with food which me and my partner devoured! I recommend the serloin steak, it was absolutely gorgeous! The service could not be faulted, the lady who served us was exceptionally friendly with a great sense of humour. My only nitpick would be the prices - they were a little steep, but you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot fault the service in this lovely, tiny restaurant. We were made to feel so welcome and just like part of the family. We were talked clearly through the menu and the food was excellent, really hot and beautifully cooked. I only wish I'd had room for dessert. It is with great regret that we are moving away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane F
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to book at the Wine Bar for Sunday lunch as I can honestly say the food is really tasty and a firm favourite with us. The owners are always welcoming and friendly and informative about the menu they offer. The portion sizes are always generous and the selection of wines good. This time I opted for chicken wrapped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Archangel444
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just been to the Wine Bar, great food and service. Really friendly and welcoming. Very attentive waitresses and great explanation of all the menus, with the option to change / remove anything you didn't like.

Helpful?
Thank Claire1617
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four Adults and two children (9 &7 years old) visited the Wine Bar on Sunday 26th Feb. We received a very friendly greeting , great assistance in sorting out food for children and a comprehensive breakdown of the food available. It was no problem at all to vary the content of each dish, (an ideal requirement with a fussy child).... More 

Helpful?
Thank AL7265
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Wine Bar with your family. I'm also very happy we managed to keep the children happy ( tomato sauce comes to mind ☺ ) Please do come and visit us again soon. It was a pleasure to serve you. Kind regards, Lisa & Tony More 

Hudson Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed there was no menu on their web site when I phoned they said it was on Facebook not everyone uses that. But the lunch menu was fine if you want something lite thy have more in the evening. Good place if you want to catch up with friends and not be rushed.

Helpful?
Thank JeanJeffries
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We really should sort out a web site as we don't currently have one. Sorry about that. I should of read the day time lunch menu and the Black Board menu out to you over the phone, I do apologize for not doing so. However, I'm glad you still enjoyed your recent visit and... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely bar. Came in here. Very friendly service. Nice ales. Totally recommend The Wine Bar to anyone

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. Glad you found us. We serve Goods Ales, from a local brewery. So pleased you enjoyed your visiuvisiut. Please pop in again soon, Kind regards, Lisa & Tony More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently visited the wine bar for an evening out with friends it was the first time I have been here, and I will definitely be going back! The food was amazing and the staff were so friendly great little place to visit and definitely recommended! It was just a shame I didn't have enough room to fit in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Lisa & Tony More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

after recently moving to Herne Bay and visiting a few pubs it was nice to visit somewhere different. good choice of wine and very friendly service with good knowledge of the area. will definitely be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank courtneysweet87
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your lovely review. Pop in and see us again some time, Kind regards, Lisa and Tony ☺ More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was cold service was dismal never go there again... To pricy for what we got....beer wasn't good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaggy60
lisa s, Owner at The Wine Bar, responded to this review

Hi, We were close for holiday in January and have been open for the last three weeks. I don't remember receiving a complaint that match's this review. Its a shame that you did not alert me when you visited that you were unhappy. Kind regards, Lisa More 

Travellers who viewed The Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$26
Cuisine
British, Grill, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 85 Mortimer Street | Basement Bar, Herne Bay CT6 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Herne Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 368388
Description
We are a cosy, friendly basement bar/restaurant. We serve a lunch time menu including a TAPA's menu too. May to October(11.30 to 3pm), and an evening menu (thurs, fri & sat, 7pm to 9pm.Sunday 12pm to 5pm)). We try and use fresh local produce wherever possible. Fresh fish, mature steak and lots more. We are also available for private functions, we can cater for up to 22 sit down, or up to 60 people with hot and cold buffet.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wine Bar and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?