We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Petit Poisson

Pier Approach, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
+44 1227 361199
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (61 reviews)
“seafood” (56 reviews)
“dover sole” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pier Approach, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went here after hearing good reviews. There has been a management and chef change. Menu is awful. Hardly any fish on menu. What fish we could order was not fresh. All dishes we had were overpriced, badly, prepared, oily and bland. It's really now nothing...More

2  Thank Mark S
MWDJ16, General Manager at Le Petit Poisson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Interesting you write your first review on the back of so many good ones we have recently received.. ??? Did you actual eat here??? Please do not make incorrect claims about our food. This is extremely damaging and cruel to a business and livelihood. We've...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Arriving on our cycles we were hungry! We looked at the menu and unbeknownst to us the man we spoke with was the new chef saying he hoped we would find what we wanted. We did! We ordered the feta salad and advised that they...More

2  Thank margaret p
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant on the sea front. I had whitebait and my wife had baked camembert both of which were delicious. Friendly staff and good service made for a really pleasant hour or so.

1  Thank Citycentral
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We usually choose a restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews, but this time we didn't. So glad we hadn't read some of the recent reviews, we would have missed out on some amazing food. We shared the seafood platter as a starter. When it arrived it...More

Thank Lindsay C
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Excellent food and beautifully presented. Professional, courteous, polite and very helpful staff. A credit to Herne Bay and a wonderful place to relax and enjoy fine cuisine👏

Thank Deborah L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A disappointing visit.I have been here a few times and once this year with the new management team in charge.That visit was in January, there were a few mistakes but the team on duty that night (one man,one woman)were astonishingly open about their teething problems...More

5  Thank bill t
MWDJ16, General Manager at Le Petit Poisson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

fresh fish /seafood at a weekend runs out eventually as local trawlers only catch a finite amount of fish.. We were fortunate enough to buy a small amount of the limited availability of bass, due to its depleted stocks. When the specials run out that's...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not someone who would usually write poor reviews of an establishment but I really feel that the manager dismissed my concerns and made excuses for every complaint. I will try and make this brief and bullet point some of our concerns. - We...More

7  Thank marmalade26
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had lunch today. The restaurant looks good with outdoor and indoor seating. The waiting staff were attentive and we ordered wine and food - starter and mains. Drinks came slowly but no worries nice house wine. Starter came ok. Then we waited. As we...More

4  Thank CandNHampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just wanted to thank you and all of your staff for a very pleasant visit to your restaurant yesterday. From the outset we were greeted by a very polite young lady who apparently was new to the restaurant but already doing a great job. We...More

Thank wayne h
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for a drink before going for a meal. Beautiful setting on a lovely evening. Friendly staff and a great choice of drinks. The food looked lovely so we will definitely enjoy trying it sometime.

Thank Louise B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pier
186 reviews
.20 km away
The Cow Shed
209 reviews
.10 km away
Oyster and Chop House
496 reviews
.12 km away
Charlie's Bistro
165 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Herne Bay Pier
255 reviews
.08 km away
Herne Bay Central Beach
168 reviews
.25 km away
Central Bandstand
93 reviews
.25 km away
Waltrop Gardens
47 reviews
.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rainham575
17 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MWDJ16 | Property representative |
The new management took over on the 12th January this year and we have taken onboard previous comments and observations to develop a new menu, improving quantities, quality but maintaining high standards with the chef .. we... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$45
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 16:00
Thursday
08:30 - 21:00
Friday
08:30 - 21:00
Saturday
08:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pier Approach, Central Parade, Herne Bay CT6 5JN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Herne Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 361199
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on Herne Bay seafront overlooking the harbour and next to the pier, we specialise in seafood, but also have meat and vegetarian dishes available. All our dishes are cooked to order using fresh locally sourced seasonal ingredients and our menu evolves with the seasons, (it's available to view on our web site). Fully licensed; with a good selection of international and local, wines and beers. Our talented and friendly chefs are happy to cater for special dietary requirements given sufficient notice.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing