We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Beach Hut Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
38 Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9EU, England
+44 1304 611033
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 160: English reviews
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely lunch as always. Highly recommend the homemade soup and sausage rolls but actually everything here is good. This Easter Monday the children had a fun dessert...a chocolate fountain with banana, strawberries and marshmallows. They loved it! We will be back soon for sure.

Thank becs_d67
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Becs, great to see you and your family and friends at The Beach Hut on Easter Monday, and glad you all enjoyed your food and the chocolate fountain. It was the first time we have done this and all enjoyed it. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Noreen & all at The Hut More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely coffee shop, good cake but coffee was a little weak for me. I like strong coffee! Stairs up to the loos were very steep.

Thank Tinkerbell_77_05
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Tinkerbell, thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we do realise everyone's tastes in coffee is different, but when you visit us again (i hope) please ask for a strong coffee and that is what we will do. Yes the stairs are steep but I am afraid we cant not change them, and we have... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the cafe on a Saturday lunchtime. It was a lovely sunny day so there were lots of people in the town and the cafe was very busy. We were advised it might take 1/2 hour before getting served with food but we weren't in a rush so decided to wait. We found a table that had just been... More 

Thank Roy A
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Roy, thank you for your great review, glad your enjoyed visit to the beach hut cafe. We do take pride in our services & food, on a lovely day it is so nice to sit out side in the sun with a pot of tea. Look forward to seeing you both at the beach hut again soon. Kind regards... More 

Deal, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in with my student for a hot chocolate before continuing our perambulation around this beautiful Cinque Port! Paid the least we've ever paid. If it is full downstairs, be aware that they also have an upstairs, too.Pleasant & friendly staff - tasty hot chocolate -would recommend.

Thank Beddington210
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your great review, glad you enjoyed the hot chocolate, and enjoyed Sandwich it is a lovely town and lots to see. Look forward to seeing you again when you are showing your students around. Kind regards Noreen and the staff at the hut More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Having once worked here and having an in-depth knowledge of the cooking practices, i'm always happy to visit here as a paying customer now. The food is excellent and you can't beat the 'Big' Breakfast. Can't wait to visit again with friends and keeping my fingers crossed that there are some more of the home-made Gypsy Tarts available. Congratulations Noreen... More 

Thank Tyrone A
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible place Bad food cold food And rude staff Don't go there again ever On the whole not what you would expect'

Thank Tyars123
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Tyars123, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the beach hut cafe, I have messaged you asking for details of your visit as we pride ourselves on our warm welcome and good food, but you have decided to answer. I have found it very strange that you have review us and another cafe for which you... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had breakfast here after a big night out. The full English was perfect, great quality sausage and bacon and beautifully cooked. Good coffee, fresh orange juice and when the bill came we thought she'd made a mistake as it was so cheap. Highly recommend. The cakes look amazing too!

Thank PipnEllie
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I have been to this cafe a few times for breakfast. The food is always hot, not greasy and reasonably priced.

Thank nfvincer
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This cafe definitely has a "Nothing is too much trouble" approach towards their customers. Very helpful and good everyday food.

1 Thank thesmiths488
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Very. Good choice of meals to suite every one,the staff .are great, it's very cosy and will be back,plenty of parking nearby. S d

1 Thank johncastle46
Noreen W, Owner at The Beach Hut Cafe, responded to this review

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write The Beach Hut Cafe a great review. We like to put a choice of dishes on the menu to try and suit everyone. Look forward to seeing you again . Regards Noreen and all at The Hut. More 

Travellers who viewed The Beach Hut Cafe also viewed


Been to The Beach Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 38 Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9EU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sandwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 611033
Very Friendly place, dog friendly. The meals are mostly made on the premise. All cakes are also made on the premise, which includes Gluten, Dairy Free. We now take credit & debit cards. We also have an Alcohol Licences from 12pm every day. Private parties.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beach Hut Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?