We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Groves Coffee Shop

Appledore Road, Reading Street, Tenterden TN30 7HT, England
+44 1233 758277
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good22%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible16%
3 Jun 2017
“Getting better all the time!”
2 weeks ago
“Overpriced unimpressed ”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Cafe
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Appledore Road, Reading Street, Tenterden TN30 7HT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't believe after paying £5.50 for a children's snack bag with a sandwich they bring out half a sandwich. The menu for the children's snack bag is not near where the items are kept. The menu for the toasties is in small writing for a...More

Thank HYDRO187
Paul H, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Firstly please let me apologise for your disappointing visit. Were our staff able to assist you with this mistake on the day? As you may know, we have recently launched our new menu and we have made extensive changes to our children's offering....More

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Needed some where to have lunch after our craft class , my daughter and me decided to come here , only had a sandwich and a toastie but it was lovelyMore

Thank Janet T
Paul H, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business. We really appreciate your feedback and have passed your comments over to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter again in the future. Kindest Regards, Paul...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Delicious sandwiches, friendly staff and the coffee is very nice. Yes the new arrangement had a hard act to follow from previous Planters staff and food but 'newThe Grove ' is improving with ever visit . The coffee is excellent and do are the breakfast...More

Thank cfc1008
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Previous owners were friendly,helpful and the cafe was really homely. Sadly, the new owner has none of those qualities. His whole manner was rude and condescending and my friend and I will certainly not be returning.More

4  Thank Lesley K
Luke C, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

I am sorry to hear that you have had such a poor experience with us. I would like to make it clear that the member of staff in question is not the owner or a senior manager. Please be assured that we are addressing our...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016

Previously regulars at Planters, this was our first visit to the revamped café / restaurant. The overall experience was good, and we will certainly look to go again. The staff were pleasant and friendly. and the food (scampi & chips and quiche) was served promptly,...More

Thank Philip H
Luke C, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Good Afternoon Philip, Many thanks for taking the time to feedback, we really appreciate it. We are going to revaluate our service procedure and our staffing levels. We do agree that waiter service will go some way to reduce queuing times although this may not...More

Reviewed 19 February 2016

Really disappointed that this used to be good cafe, sadly taken over by Grover that clearly don't have the same high, wholesame standards of Planters. Lousy cup of tea and an indifferent cheese scone. Coupled with surly staff made it a poor experience all round.More

Thank Blatters2008
GrovesTenterden, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Firstly let me take this opportunity to apologise to you for what was clearly a very disappointing visit. I hope our team dealt with your concerns on the day? I would be most interested to know which members of staff were surly towards you as...More

Reviewed 19 December 2015

We hadn't been here before and were not sure what to expect. The garden centre was very busy but the restaurant/cafe had a very calm and relaxed atmosphere. We had a seat in the window and the tables were well spaced out. The staff were...More

Thank Blod12
GrovesTenterden, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate any feedback both positive and negative. I will pass your comments on to our team both front of house and in the kitchen. Hopefully we will see you again soon...More

Reviewed 1 November 2015

....is the only description. The revamp looks very good and the extended kitchen area must be an improvement. However, the menu really needs to state that salads are dressed so that people like me who HATE dressing can say so on ordering. They should also...More

Thank RyeNana
GrovesTenterden, Manager at Groves Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and I am sorry to hear that your visit to us was disappointing. As I am sure you are well aware we took over from Planters at the beginning of October and...More

Reviewed 23 October 2015

Many regulars were somewhat apprehensive when Planters was replaced Groves. No need! The change has been for the better.A good lunchtime menu with specials and a varied choice of desserts should appeal to all visitors. I can recommend the great breakfast offer of £4.95 for...More

Thank GarryAceDavis
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Recently I have been into Planters, that is now known as Groves, I went on the opening day and, yes a bit disappointed, it was a bit slow and the staff were a bit unsure of what they were doing, but it was the first...More

Thank foodmad27
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Tenterden Hotels
Little Silver Country Hotel
674 reviews
6.46 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
613 reviews
6.50 km away
The Flackley Ash Country House Hotel
801 reviews
8.36 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
830 reviews
10.03 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Ferry Inn
310 reviews
2.63 km away
The Black Lion
206 reviews
3.73 km away
Oxney Gourmet Pie & Burger Bar
68 reviews
3.91 km away
Miss Mollett's High Class Tea Room
166 reviews
3.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gusbourne
7 reviews
4.08 km away
Kent & East Sussex Railway
828 reviews
4.96 km away
Rare Breeds Centre
436 reviews
5.18 km away
Chapel Down
408 reviews
3.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Groves Coffee Shop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$11
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Appledore Road, Reading Street, Tenterden TN30 7HT, England (Formerly Planters Coffee Shop)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tenterden
  • Phone Number: +44 1233 758277
Description
Here at Groves Coffee Shop & Restaurant we believe in creating tasty, wholesome meals that are reasonably priced. We pride ourselves upon our handmade, creative approach to our dishes, and lovingly bake a wide selection of cakes and sweet treats so that every time you visit you can expect the same quality and high standard we have become renowned for. Our dishes are freshly prepared to order so please do let us know should you have any specific dietary requirements.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing