We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chaser Inn

Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
+44 1732 810360
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shoulder” (10 reviews)
“sunday roast” (21 reviews)
“the pub” (71 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a very pleasant Sunday afternoon at The Chaser. Food as always excellent and service very pleasant. It was incredibly busy but managed to find a table and as we sat down a very nice young lady came over and asked if we would...More

1  Thank SAN0310
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having visited the chaser previously, I booked it for my birthday for 8 people.. on arrival it was very busy, but we were told our table and ordered our drinks at the bar quickly.. We had a pleasant table and pew style chairs ( in...More

Thank Emily S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been here a few times over the last month or so. It is good, lovely garden if the weather is nice, cosy corners of not !! Pretty good food, I can recommend the roast beef sandwich if your looking for a light bite on a...More

1  Thank Paul R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended the Chaser Last night for a group booking, In our party we had a vegetarian, Vegan and a friend who has celiac disease(gluten free). We didn't expect for the Chaser to be able to Cater for our needs but where somewhat delighted to...More

2  Thank Philippa036
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Philippa Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We have worked hard recently to update our menu so it caters for more of today's dietary needs, it's so nice to read that it's being appreciated. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed going here. The pub is in a lovely location, you could go for a walk in the surrounding area. Decorated nicely and has real fires. Courtyard is lovely to dine in, lots of space and not cramped up against other tables. Food was...More

1  Thank Emma B
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Emma Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are very lucky to have such beautiful surroundings, we are certainly popular with walkers. It's always nice to read that we are doing things right, the staff put...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely location, excellent waiting staff but food average. Expensive & small portions. Very disappointed, as it had been highly recommended.More

Thank 59dolly
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi 59dolly Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. What a shame though that you was disappointed with the food offered, especially when you visited us on a recommendation. If you'd like to discuss the problem with your food further please do...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been here once before for lunch also. We were seated away from the families, so we were glad to not have screaming children near us. The service was great, food lovely and I tried the new Vegetarian jack fruit plate, which was scrummy....More

1  Thank 74Deb_13
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Deb Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your experience with us, especially our new vegetarian dish. We have been working hard recently to move with the times and offer more vegetarian and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been visiting the Chaser for years, but after our recent visit it won't be on our list for meals again. The roasts were enormous, piles of food, not well presented and very ordinary. The other mains were generally disappointing. Desserts and starter sharing...More

Thank annieQ3519YA
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annie Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you was disappointed with your food on your last visit here. Our chefs have remained the same for a long time now so it's not down to us changing staff. If you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very well run and efficient service, very generous portions and a friendly vibe. We were a party of 11 and we were very well looked after. The food was good and hearty and it was a very nice experience. The mixed meat roast was very...More

1  Thank kimwing55
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kimwing55 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased to read you had a nice experience. We love to cater for large parties as well as small, the staff work hard to accommodate all. Hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had dinner with family and friends celebrating a birthday. Booked for 6.45. Eventually had our orders taken about 7.20. There was a wide, interesting and varied menu. Many of us had starters and all were pleased with their choice. Another long wait for the main...More

1  Thank Paulvaj
TheChaserInn, General Manager at The Chaser Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paulvaj Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. However I am disappointed to read that you wasn't happy with a few aspects of your evening. If you'd like to discuss this further so I can look into where it went wrong...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe 1809
227 reviews
4.28 km away
Perfetto Country Store
69 reviews
4.51 km away
The Harrow Inn
79 reviews
3.37 km away
Weathered and Worn
15 reviews
4.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ightham Mote
814 reviews
1.46 km away
Old Soar Manor
19 reviews
3.32 km away
Reynolds Retreat
63 reviews
4.57 km away
Hadlow Tower
42 reviews
4.62 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Amanda M
Do you do breakfast?
30 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from TheChaserInn | Property representative |
Hi, yes we do breakfast, we cater for both vegetarians and meat eaters. We serve from 9am on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday
0
Votes
TomandKerri
do you allow 2 small dogs in the church room with a party of 8
28 January 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
mhairi a
Hi I am visiting next week arriving with my 15 year old son on Thursday 23, departing sat 25th. I'm staying at the Flanders hotel Brugge, Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000. If i booked the balloon ride for the Friday 24th in the morning, would you collect us and drop us back to hotel? What time would that be and how much would trip be? Look forward to hearing from you.
26 September 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stumble Hill | Shipbourne, Tonbridge TN11 9PE, England
  • Public Transportation: There is a bus stop directly opposite the pub as well as main line train stations in Borough Green and Tonbridge which are both approximately 10 mins drive.
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Tonbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1732 810360
  • E-mail