We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Neptune

Marine Terrace, Whitstable CT5 1EJ, England
+44 1227 272262
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Terrace, Whitstable CT5 1EJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The location can't be beaten - right on the beach. The servings of cod and chips were huge and we shared for lunch. Definitely recommend for a cheap and cheerful pit stop!

Thank Ali J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whitebait starter and fish cakes mains both heavily battered and deep fried lacking in fish and flavour. Very greasy. Very disappointing. Lovely pub. Great service.

Thank Helen W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has it all in terms of location and character, visited for a drink and would have liked to try the food but were a little late. Played the juke box which had all the music relevant to our heyday! Highly recommended!

Thank Andrewfarrrow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered salads as mains but very disappointed as they were very small. Salad basically just garnish on side of plate! Not worth money and we left hungry!

Thank LoulooR13
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a shandy. The pub is ok but nothing special with the staff more interested in their own conversations rather than engaging with their customers. Lots of seats and tables outside on the beach though so a lovely setting.

1  Thank Munky O
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Old Neptune on the Saturday of the Whitstable Oyster Festival and were lucky enough to get one of the outside tables directly on the beach - the location is fantastic (see the picture enclosed), and it literally is a seafront bar. We...More

1  Thank neilhassall
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When the sun is out this is the place to go in Whitstable - we went during The Oyster Festival and was a great atmosphere! Go check it out.

1  Thank duttyvandross
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been here several times over the years and nothing seems to change. I like the pub (Very small inside) so this time on a very hot day in June I was disappointed to find that there were NO parasols out side. This made it very...More

Thank Peter F
Dwilt1, Owner at Old Neptune, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there in answer to some of your issues ,your review was posted on july 15 but you say you were here in june .We dont always put parasols out if there is a strong wind but if you were to ask any of the...More

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Only stopped here for a drink. The location is great, the staff are friendly and helpful and the beer is good.

Thank Philip B
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this lovely little pub that sits on the sea wall at Whitstable, although it gets busy it is easy to see why, amazing views of the estuary, a good selection of local beers and really lovely food although they do close the kitchen...More

Thank Chris P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wheelers Oyster Bar
859 reviews
.32 km away
Samphire
1,113 reviews
.33 km away
The Whitstable Oyster Company
1,109 reviews
.32 km away
Ossies Fish Bar
135 reviews
.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Playhouse Theatre Whitstable
44 reviews
.35 km away
Whitstable Museum and Gallery
41 reviews
.39 km away
St Alphege Church
12 reviews
.31 km away
Fishslab Gallery
9 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Old Neptune staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Terrace, Whitstable CT5 1EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Whitstable
  • Phone Number: +44 1227 272262
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing