We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Fish Bar

50 St. Peters Avenue, Cleethorpes DN35 8HP, England
+44 1472 603590
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“haddock” (56 reviews)
“salads” (10 reviews)
Closed
11:30 - 19:30All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
50 St. Peters Avenue, Cleethorpes DN35 8HP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Excellent fish, chips and mushy peas as per usual. Friendly staff, clean and inviting decor. Always very popular so it pays to get there early!

Thank carolwht
Terry J, General Manager at Ocean Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, the staff of the the Ocean will take great pride and encouragement from it.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great place to eat fish n chips take out or restaurant,we had a meal here in July in the restaurant we had fish chips peas twice a pensioners special and scampi meal all came with drinks,there is a license bar for alcohol...More

Thank Susan H
Terry J, General Manager at Ocean Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your kind review, the staff here at the Ocean will take great pride and encouragement. Once again thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

After months of staying away from Ocean fresh we revisited it to give it a second chance.In my last report I told of how let down my wife and myself felt. We ordered as usual after arriving around mid day.At this time of day just...More

Thank Ron W
Terry J, General Manager at Ocean Fish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

In reply to your review on 13/09/2017 referring to Ocean Fresh, to which I presume you mean Ocean Fish Bar, when my wife did a table check half way through your meal she was informed everything was okay. On completion of your meal she was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a takeaway from here today and it was awful. Very small fish that was tasteless and hard bitty chips. They need to up their game. Won't be going back!

Thank Bronwenna
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The fish is always freshly cooked and a high standard. The service is excellent with the owner taking a personal interest in visitors. It is a quiet restaurant compared to others in Cleethorpes A senior meal is available which includes an ice cream sweet. The...More

Thank Kathleen W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for the first time today (02/09/17), and lovely food and great and friendly staff, very fast service, will be visiting again when I am next visit Cleethorpes.

Thank DRFC46
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the ocean special and for the price it was excellent value! Fish was a good size and desert a bonus. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely return again and recommend to friends and family. Also very clean toilets!

Thank tink0
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I come back from Essex to Cleethorpes about three times a year to see my mum and, as a vegetarian, always seek out good chips, mushy peas and the essential scraps!! I would love to have quorn sausages in batter (there was one chippy that...More

Thank R01277
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great fish and chip supper. We ate in the restaurant at 7pm on a Friday. Efficient service - you get seated and then order from the bar. A busy place that closes early so make sure you eat early!

Thank Kirsten O
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Was recommended here by 2 ladies,today, on the same coach trip as myself and my 86yr old mum.So glad we found it,and after being shown our seat,we were served within minutes of sitting down.Beautiful,light and crispy batter on the delicious haddock,nicely cooked chips and yummy...More

1  Thank Jan F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Steels CornerHouse Restaurant
1,175 reviews
.17 km away
Spice Hut
168 reviews
.13 km away
Gallagher's Cafe and Cakery
65 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cleethorpes Country Park
98 reviews
.05 km away
Greenwich Meridian Line
45 reviews
.44 km away
Cleethorpes Tourist Information Centre
15 reviews
.28 km away
Cleethorpes Rock Company
19 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
robtaylor78uk
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Simon P | Reviewed this property |
Sorry it's late but answer your question I don't know give them a ring and ask hope this as helped.
0
Votes
Tarasmum79
16 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from TJaram | Property representative |
Yes we do serve cod.
1
Vote
Mick C
18 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from tuts1230 | Reviewed this property |
yes they have a childrens menu
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$12
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
11:30 - 19:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 19:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 19:00
Thursday
11:30 - 19:00
Friday
11:30 - 19:30
Saturday
11:30 - 19:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 St. Peters Avenue, Cleethorpes DN35 8HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Cleethorpes
  • Phone Number: +44 1472 603590
  • E-mail
Description
An Upmarket fish and chip restaurant with an interested owner, we are also committed to people with disabilities - no steps or ramps, disabled toilet with alarm and room around the tables for back to back wheelchairs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing