We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Joiners Arms

) #9 of 84 Restaurants in Alnwick $$ - $$$ , British,
Newton-By-The-Sea | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 3EA, England
+44 1665 576112
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (143 reviews)
“chowder” (43 reviews)
“burger” (57 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newton-By-The-Sea | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 3EA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Every time we've been the food has been excellent, and the staff service friendly and efficient. The local ales are also fine. So why no 5 stars? After 10 visits over the last couple of years the menu has stayed very similar. The lack of...More

Thank Bilbo B
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on our venue. We appreciate all feedback left by our customers to ensure we are providing the best possible service. I am thrilled you have found the food and service so satisfying on all...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

We called a couple of weeks ago and very much enjoyed our lunch! The food was fantastic and such high quality. Fab atmosphere with excellent, accommodating staff!

Thank MrsR766
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. I am thrilled you enjoyed dining with us so much. We appreciate the 5 star review :) Look forward to seeing you soon. Kind Regards, Jade

Reviewed 6 days ago

High quality cuisine served without pretention in a really good pub that is superb for children. Great staff and service. We miss the smoked haddock chowder that this place used to be famous for but the menu remains full of choice and standards are high.More

Thank HRM135
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review for us. We are thrilled you enjoy our venue so much. The team will be delighted with your review. I will pass on your comments regarding the Smoked Haddock Chowder to the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Very popular venue for holiday makers and locals alike. We were lucky enough to get booked up and our table was reserved for us in the bar area. A little too noisy to be truthful thanks to some customers who obviously think they own the...More

Thank OldBill2
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am thrilled you enjoyed the food and friendly staff on your visit. I am however, sorry you felt the bar service was a little slow- we appreciate your feedback. We look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After having had a lovely lunch here previously, we were all looking forward to a good Father's Day meal. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to expectations. We ordered a shared platter of Olives, Hommus and Breads - this arrived minus the hommus which we had...More

Thank Nicola H
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our venue. I am sorry we did not live up to expectations on this occasion. From the looks of your review we certainly could have done some things differently, for this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

There is some humour in the self-description of this pub. It claims to have a tea garden but the bar staff laughed this off as a mistake. The "luxury" on the signage was also difficult to detect. Nevertheless it was full when we arrived so...More

Thank J_Jarndyce
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on our venue. I am sorry your experience was not what you thought it would be. I do hope you give us another try! Kind Regards, Jade

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for somewhere to eat near Alnwick and came across the Joiners via google that caught our eye and decided to book a table. We were so glad that we did too! It sits off the road in a fabulous coastal village -...More

Thank Stuggy123
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on our venue, The Joiners Arms. I am thrilled you enjoyed both the service and food so much! Your kind words will be passed on to them team who will be delighted with your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Largish group, excellent service, tasty food , mostly stotties, very pleasant atmosphere. We enjoyed it and should we be about the area again would visit againMore

Thank robin m
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robin, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our venue, The Joiners Arms. I am thrilled you and your group enjoyed dining with us so much. Your kind words will be passed on to the team. See you again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Joiners Arms for the first time while staying in Craster. We were welcomed warmly and all staff were very attentive throughout our meal. The meals were well presented and delicious and there was a lovely atmosphere. We enjoyed our meal so much...More

Thank Sue A
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue, Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on our venue The Joiners Arms and for leaving such kind words. I am thrilled you enjoyed both visits so much and that you found the service warm and the food first class!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had a seafood sharing platter to start, which was delicious. He had a trio of meat with veggies and all the trimmings and I had fish, both of which were really tasty and huge portions too, if that's what you like....More

Thank Rebecca G
VenueManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Joiners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us :) I am thrilled you enjoyed our Seafood platter, one of my favourite dishes on the menu! You kind words will be passed on to the team. You will...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship Inn
1,008 reviews
.18 km away
The Greys Inn
271 reviews
2.46 km away
The Craster Arms Restaurant
725 reviews
4.72 km away
Cottage Inn
138 reviews
4.94 km away
Nearby Attractions
Embleton Bay
108 reviews
1.38 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle
920 reviews
3.33 km away
Beadnell Bay Beach
110 reviews
4.47 km away
Serenity Farne Island Boat Tours
565 reviews
7.50 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Josh M
Do you have a gluten free menu
6 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from paulrampling | Reviewed this property |
Unsure. Just give them a call. Simples!
0
Votes
Glenda B
What are parking facilities for disabled drivers
30 October 2015|
Answer
Response from michael_watson733 | Reviewed this property |
Yes enough for guests.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newton-By-The-Sea | Northumberland, Alnwick NE66 3EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Alnwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1665 576112
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing