We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shaan

) #5 of 81 Restaurants in Witney $$ - $$$ Indian, Asian,
12 Corn Street, Witney OX28 6BL, England
+44 1993 779339
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (43 reviews)
“rice” (22 reviews)
“poppadoms” (15 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 14:30All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 Corn Street, Witney OX28 6BL, England
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

It was worth the wait for the food but the time taken was beyond what would be expected from a well run restaurant. In the middle of a heatwave the air conditioning was a real bonus and the menu choice was varied and covered all...More

Thank Chris K
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We have been many many times.... Always good food and portions. Food this time was a little bland I had a chicken madras and I've had better there before.

Thank Linda R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A little gem in the middle of Whitney. It was very busy and we were lucky to get a table. I advise you to book at busy times. The food was excellent, the service reasonable and the prices normal to high. Very noisy but that...More

Thank David S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

food and staff were bob on, would def go back if ever in a 20 mile radius, the sunday buffet was the best curry ive EVER had for under a tenner, and ive had my fare share of currys, GET YOURSELF THERE!!!!!

Thank bigaldear2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Foods alright but it's aires on the side of bland which in itself is an achievement for Indian food. It's worth walking five more minutes for better fair.

Thank keith062
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I found the owner very welcoming and it was a nicely laid out restaurant. Food came quite quickly and madras was nice. No issues at all.

Thank Andy P
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

The team here are the best, my wife and I have eaten here for many years, service is always first class, highly recommend to the people of West Oxfordshire.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 May 2017

A clean restaurant with questionable service. King Prawn Tandoori had 3 prawns and was £13.50... Prawns overcooked and chewy. Unacceptable and no discount offered after complaining for the manager twice. Frustratingly the staff seemed amused by the issue and offered me and my friend "drinks...More

Thank burnzy34
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I eat out a lot . . . almost enough to be a real restaurant critic ! In all my travels in the Cotswolds and beyond The Shaan is not just my favourite Indian, it's my favourite restaurant full stop. Genuine, consistent, fine, truly fresh...More

Thank annie_mcl_13
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The Shaan generally has nice food, but like other good indian restaurants, they let their customers down by taking too many take-away orders & can't properly service their customers. The meal we had was poor, but the waiter was much worse. I really try not...More

Thank Hari V
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coffeesmith
202 reviews
.13 km away
Meze Lounge and restaurant
265 reviews
.04 km away
The Hollybush
361 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Wychwood Brewery
437 reviews
.14 km away
Cogges
177 reviews
.64 km away
St Mary’s Church
26 reviews
.27 km away
SOTA Gallery
16 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
karen19562014
Hi is there a gluten free menu.
2 February 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from somalle2 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Ash A
Dear Rotli, We're very sorry to hear this, we didn't meet your standard, at same time we did our best to make you happy, you have booked for 16 peoples, 4 starters, 6 main dish and 10 naan breads, i have personally served you , every demand you made, i have done for you, even you asked me to give you chilli powder and gram Mossala powder on the table, which i did. Yes i admit you have ordered extra Tandoor tikka after 15 minutes of your first starter, which i explain to you it will take about 10-15 minutes to cook which you didn't like it. There is lot of things you wrote here, which is unfair, on the top you're arguing for discount because of large group, I personally give £20 off just to please our customer.
6 April 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Rotli | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ash A, Yes your right you didn't meet the standard, but honestly speaking we were expecting good standard especially after reading all the reviews on here ... But you failed on simple friendly customer service and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Corn Street, Witney OX28 6BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Witney
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 779339
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing