We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Company of Weavers

31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
+44 1993 777930
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good27%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (16 reviews)
“panini” (4 reviews)
“curry night” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been coming here for some years now but I am not local so I get a good look at the trend. Unfortunately, recently the trend of the bar staff seems to be what they are going to do later that night rather than...More

Thank Laurie G
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and efficient staff, good food and beers. Really good atmosphere and a good night out with friends.

Thank Graham R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been a regular ever since it opened and really satisfied with the food and the beer, The beer choices have been fantastic and the presentation top notch. Have noticed over the past three months a rapid deterioration. Last few times I have been in...More

Thank Geoff T
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Visited for the first time yesterday evening, the drinks were good. On finding a table our expectation was diminished due to a layer of stickiness on everything we touched - from the table top to the pepper and salt pots to the sauce bottles, we...More

Thank Neil C
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Neil, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I apologise that you did not receive the best cut of meat. We are working extremely hard with our new suppliers to improve the quality of our steaks, but it looks like...More

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Came in this morning (Saturday) for a fry up treat. Young lady behind the bar, Freya, did a great job singlehandedly serving, taki g breakfast orders and relaying messages to the kitchen. Breakfadt when it came was beautifully cooked and presented.

2  Thank Figgy D
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Figgy Its true, Freya is great! Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them along.

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We are now at the point where we have given up on this tired, grubby, threadworn Pub. Run by demoralised staff who just go through the motions. You will know the dining experience you are about to "enjoy" as soon as you go through the...More

Thank Alex A
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Alex I apologise for your recent experiences. We have lost a few key members of staff recently so have been somewhat outgunned during the busy Easter holidays. Fortunately we have managed to recruit some lovely people and will be back up to speed shortly....More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A great Weatherspoon pub, good location with well priced food and drinks, did run out of some food and drinks that were on offer, probably because they were priced so cheap👍

Thank Merlin A
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Merlin I am afraid the shortages were due to supplier issues but hopefully these have been resolved now. Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This must be the Worst weatherspoons I have visited bar service at a Snails pace only one person on bar and seemed to be learning the job but had no tutor. Meal service was worse with at one point 12 ,meals waiting under under the...More

Thank Geoffrey R
WeaverManager, Manager at The Company of Weavers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Geoffry, It is true that we have had to recruit new members of the team recently. We are working hard to bring them up to speed and increase their numbers. Please bear with us.

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Now been sat waiting for over an hour for 3 meals, tables of 4 who ordered after us have been served. There was no warning of how long the food would take to arrive and now starting to wonder if the man behind the bar...More

Thank Winston627
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Visited yesterday for breakfast & never again. Dirty cutlery, burnt egg , dry beans dirty table . Miserable staff .

Thank martin h
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Witney
The Fleece
442 reviews
.09 km away
The Blue Boar Hotel
317 reviews
.10 km away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
691 reviews
.77 km away
Old Court Hotel
230 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Shake Shop
150 reviews
.15 km away
Coffeesmith
223 reviews
.08 km away
Sandwich de Witney
100 reviews
.07 km away
Meze Lounge and restaurant
299 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Wychwood Brewery
543 reviews
.23 km away
Undiscovered Cotswolds
30 reviews
.26 km away
The Witney Blanket Hall
81 reviews
.58 km away
Cogges
207 reviews
.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Helen B
3 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Ervis K | Property representative |
Mrs Beevers Please do, we would be more than happy to do that for you.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$18
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Television, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Market Square, Witney OX28 6AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Witney
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 777930
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;