We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jack Mytton Inn

Hindford | Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
+44 1691 679861
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good19%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“lamb henry” (14 reviews)
“pie” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Pub, British, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Hindford | Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 435 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awful management food was average threw all customers out at 10-30 because a known trouble maker at the bar!!!#??

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This review has been reported as a fake review. No such event has ever taken place and The Jack Mytton has been closed on winter break since early January 2018.

Reviewed 24 January 2018

We popped in on New Year’s Eve for a drink with family and two dogs, great friendly staff, we only stayed for a couple of hours but it was very relaxed and we had a lovely night. We will return next time we stay in...More

Thank kay c
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We finally went here for a meal after it had opened after a very long renovation project and my partner and friends had a below average meal and we had to return an ales as they were cloudy and did not taste very good at...More

2  Thank JosefBea
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Went for a birthday celebration and it was excellent. Brilliant choices on the wine , bar and menu . The service was first class and nothing seemed to much trouble . Would definitely recommend.

Thank keithygordon
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

My family and I, a party of 8, booked for a family celebration on Saturday 9th December (joint birthday and engagement meal). Arrived to be told they had no chef and what’s more claimed not to have our booking. We had to try and find...More

6  Thank RussWilliams123
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

We too are very sorry about Saturday. We do not like letting down customers and people who know us know we do everything to avoid such situations. I am so sorry you could not be reached before you arrived.

Reviewed 27 November 2017

I have visited this venue on two occasions recently. I haven't eaten there however I found the place to be clean,comfortable,full of character and warm. After telling the (I assume owner) and the young lady serving me about electrical problems on my boat they gave...More

Thank mart2
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

One of the advantages of mooring alongside the Pub by Boat is you can literally have one for the road on the way back to the Boat at closing time. It was lovely to see you again and thank you for letting us know on...More

Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Visiting family in the area and called ahead to book our 'fake Xmas' dinner as we sadly won't be all together on the special day. The staff member I spoke to couldn't have been more helpful, checking with the chef what would be available gluten...More

1  Thank Glutenfreefam
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your words. One takeaway from your feedback is to make sure we have a Gluten Free Gravy to offer. We do take a lot of care over special dietary needs and much of our menu is designed so we can provide a...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017

We called in here yesterday (Thursday) lunchtime with our Cocker Spaniel, although the pub was not really open due to Winter serving times, they were expecting a group of walkers and we were warmly welcomed. What a fabulous pub! the decor was fantastic and very...More

1  Thank Belindaa_11
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback. As a Pub we do march to a different beat as we offer an "at Home" feel rather than having lots of pub memorabilia. Your comment "just how a Pub should be" makes us all happy. Oh and the...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Five of us on a canal holiday with two nervy dogs we had asked for a table out in the conservatory and the staff were happy to oblige , though they were not very busy , it was still nice to be made welcome. The...More

2  Thank Keecloud57
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank you so much for your visitor comments. The toilet block was the first to get a sledgehammer and a modern rebuild when I moved in over two years ago now. We are a stickler for cleanliness. I hope we can see you again soon.

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Having read some mixed reviews I wasn’t sure what to expect on a first visit to ‘Mad Jacks’ for some time. I needn’t have worried. Ok the menu isn’t massive but it is bolstered by specials which a few of my party opted for. The...More

2  Thank Robin W
David M, Owner at The Jack Mytton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your kind comments which seem to tick all the right boxes for you. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Oswestry
Lion Quays
1,366 reviews
4.24 km away
Moreton Park Hotel
327 reviews
4.85 km away
Travelodge Oswestry
197 reviews
5.16 km away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
654 reviews
5.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Narrow Boat Inn
33 reviews
1.54 km away
Whittington's Quality Fish and Chips
10 reviews
2.27 km away
The Greyhound Inn
328 reviews
4.99 km away
The Keys
196 reviews
3.66 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whittington Castle
88 reviews
2.06 km away
Park Hall the Countryside Experience
311 reviews
5.41 km away
Cambrian Heritage Railway
51 reviews
5.20 km away
Oswestry Town Museum
41 reviews
5.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Jack Mytton Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$38
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hindford | Whittington, Oswestry SY11 4NL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Oswestry
  • Phone Number: +44 1691 679861
  • E-mail
The Jack Mytton is a canal side Public House set in the hamlet of Hindford North Shropshire set in grounds of nearly 3 acres bordering the Famous Llangollen Canal where it houses 6 private boat moorings. A popular Summer Family Venue, the Jack Mytton is closed for the Winter to reopen later in the Spring.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now