We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bower Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY, England
+44 1278 422926
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 384: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I met up with a colleague for a light lunch and a catchup. A word of warning - it can get busy so if you are pushed for time check bookings in advance. The choice of food is good (from light bits to full meals) and even when busy the wait should not be much of an issue as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David A
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Good advise with booking - we have so many "walk-ins" some services it is hard to judge how busy we will be and how long service will take. Yes, areas of the bar are dog friendly - please let us know if you want to bring your dog so we can reserve an appropriate table. Peter More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited to look at it as a possible venue for a forthcoming college reunion. Limited menu lacking in wide appeal. Good quality food but limited amounts and high cost. Average service. On paying tried to charge us for things we never had having confused us with the table next to us.

Helpful?
Thank ilovefood354
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about the mix up with the bills, I trust it was resolved satisfactorily. Your other comments surprise and disappoint me and certainly do not represent our usual feedback. However, we are never complacent and your remarks will be discussed with the team in detail. I hope you find a suitable venue. Peter More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Food ordered and when arrived 5 of us had Sunday roast which was served up warm, yorkshire pudding was cold the salmon was also warm. Very expensive for the quality of the meal. We complained and had another meal, this arrived and this was warm, the portion of meat was very mean smallest pieces of meat i have ever had.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

I am disappointed when I read that food was served anything other than hot. I am truly sorry that this happened. I understand the staff completely re-made your meals and the feed back, at the time, was then positive. Portion sizes are difficult to judge and always somewhat subjective. That said, our aim is to offer value for money -... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for our anniversary meal to the place we got married 2 years ago. Yet again, food was not a let down! Delicious food. Good service time. Very polite and friendly staff. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Samantha E
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks fro the great review - so pleased not to disappoint once again. Peter More 

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I use trip advisor all the time to review hotels etc but rarely take the time to put reviews on myself but I felt my stay at bower inn warranted taking the time to write this review. I experienced a warm welcome, staff were really nice and pleasant, food was lovely and probably the best sleep I've had staying away... More 

Helpful?
Thank Celiaw101
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much fr a lovely review. So glad we were good enough for you to write a review - much appreciated. Peter More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A birthday lunch at the Bower Inn was all we expected it to be (Four in a bed winner), friendly service in a modern, but at the same time, rustic atmosphere. Our age range was 80 to 3 years. Everybody, without exception, enjoyed their food. All served by the friendly and welcoming staff. Will certainly visit again.

Helpful?
Thank romeohotel
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely review and hope you get to visit again soon. Peter More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

To be honest we normally avoid eating out on "dedicated" days as places are busy & the food tends to suffer as a result, but this Mother's Day we made an exception & im so pleased we did, although they were obviously busy the food was as fabulous as usual & the staff were attentive with smiles, conversation & the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 5arah-H
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Yes, always a bit crazy, but so glad we were able to deliver on Mothering Sunday. We try hard not to over subscribe on days like this so we don't compromise. A heard learned lesson. Peter More 

london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed her with our children. We had an interconnecting room. The staff could not have been more accommodating dealing with my very complex dietary requirements. Rooms are done up to a high standard. Very convenient for the M5

Helpful?
Thank nicinlondon
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

We have a great advantage when dealing with specific dietary requirements. Almost all our food is produced from scratch on the premises. Furthermore we have a team of experienced professional cooks who understand food and ingredients. There is little from our menus which cannot be adjusted to accommodate all requirements. Thanks for the great comments - much appreciated. Peter More 

Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Went to the Bower Inn for a meal with friends. I cannot fault the service or the food. The staff are excellent, friendly and attentive. Our only complaint and it is quite an important one, is the seating for drinks. I don't think the owners can ever have sat on the sofas and chairs in the bar area, they should... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank K N
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Really appreciate the comments about the sofas. Duly noted. Thank you for all the positive comments as well. Peter More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

The owners, Peter and Candy knew what they wanted to achieve when they took over the rather tired premises some years ago and the subsequent high level of room occupancy and full restaurant are a testimony to their continued success. Good food comes from fresh ingredients well prepared and cooked to a high standard and the owners ensure that standards... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevinthecoach
TeamBower, Owner at Bower Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Consistency in any business is hard earned and after almost 7 years I am pleased to still be reading reviews such as this. Much appreciated and very motivational for all. Peter More 

Travellers who viewed Bower Inn also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Spaxton, Bridgwater
 

Been to Bower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bower Lane | East Bower, Bridgwater TA6 4TY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bridgwater
  • Phone Number: +44 1278 422926

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bower Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bower Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?