We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn at Catcott

$$ - $$$British, ,
1 Nidon Lane | Catcott, Somerset, Bridgwater TA7 9HQ, England
+44 1278 722288
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good13%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (56 reviews)
“pudding” (33 reviews)
“pork” (18 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Nidon Lane | Catcott, Somerset, Bridgwater TA7 9HQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Beautiful, old pub, beams, open fires, good beer and a very friendly welcome. The food is delicious with varied menu. Thusvwas our 4th visit and took friends with us This time. They said they would love to go back again!

Thank Gwen F
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We love our old fashioned pub too, as many people say "it's a proper pub" look forward to seeing you and hopefully your friends again soon Regards Row

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in Catcott for the night and booked a table at The Crown for dinner. Friendly welcome, good choice of beer and cider on offer. We had a lovely table in the corner by the fire. The menu is standard pub grub +...More

Thank Francesca H
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pleased to hear you enjoyed the evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again Row

Reviewed 1 week ago

As much as I don't want every man and his dog turning up to our favourite Carvery I feel these guys deserve a review.In short,great food,great atmosphere,lovely location,friendly staff and excellent value for money! We have visited many times for a Carvery now and have...More

Thank David I
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your support and lovely review, makes it so worthwhile when it is appreciated See you soon Row

A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Question was asked to the unprofessional man at the bar about change given. Said he was right. Nothing was said about when I cash up I can con firm then and let you know. Doesn't matter who was right or wrong. Was more interested about...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was a very busy night and although I appreciate mistakes can happen, and if we are unsure we always assume the customer is right, and if the till showed the error when cashing up this would have been refunded, however on this occasion, three...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped down for a meal with a couple friends amazing meal had by all. Lovely friendly staff couldn’t do enough for us, would highly recommend.

Thank Natasha R
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you hope we see you again soon Regards Row

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped off for the Sunday carvery whilst holidaying in Somerset. We were made most welcome even though we hadn't booked. The meal was delicious...you can choose two meats from beef, pork (with crackling) or turkey and can help yourself to numerous veg and a...More

Thank TraceyDag
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Our pleasure, thank you too Row

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is excellent for food day or evening carvery Sunday lunch or evening excellent service friendly staff well recommended u will not be disappointed

Thank X9152SHtheresas
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, would hate for anyone to be disappointed, see you soon Row

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We met family at The Crown Inn for Sunday Lunch. A good selection of freshly cooked vegetables, beautifully cooked meat. The choices were Pork, Beef and Turkey with all of the usual accompaniments of Yorkshire puds, stuffing, horseradish, etc. An excellent price. The only problem...More

Thank Helen E
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ummm we are a bit out of the way, sat nav usually works very well, glad you enjoyed your carvery Regards Row

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good carvery, tender meat, good choice of well cooked veg. Chocolate Fudge cake pudding was the very best!

Thank R1590
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, pleased you enjoyed your meal Row

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We have had carvery here and it was by far the best I have ever tasted. Came back again for steak and it was phenomenal. The food is outstanding. If there were more stars this place deserves it.

Thank Rachel N
Rowena K, Owner at The Crown Inn at Catcott, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you so very much, lovely to know we are appreciated and you enjoyed your meals here See you soon. Row

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
King William Inn
120 reviews
.65 km away
The Red Tile Inn
70 reviews
3.08 km away
Ring O'Bells Public House
34 reviews
3.17 km away
The Red Lion
209 reviews
4.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Somerset Crafts
8 reviews
3.37 km away
RSPB Ham Wall
17 reviews
5.53 km away
Wilkins Cider Farm
131 reviews
8.17 km away
Wall Eden Adventure
15 reviews
8.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Michael L
6 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rowena K | Property representative |
We have a dedicated fryer for chips, and our chips are gluten free not coated in a crisping agent, we also have a great selection of gluten free options on our menu which we are happy to discuss with you Regards Jess
0
Votes
Lucas G
5 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Rowena K | Property representative |
Certainly do and they are proper potatoes not coated so gluten free too, also do new potatoes, jacket, mash and herby dice
2
Votes
somersetlad
7 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rowena K | Property representative |
Yes we have a few tables that are available for dog owners, in the bar by the fire and food is served in that area Row
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Nidon Lane | Catcott, Somerset, Bridgwater TA7 9HQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bridgwater
  • Phone Number: +44 1278 722288
  • E-mail
Description
A traditional family run welcoming freehold country inn, over 400 years old and still retaining much of the charm and features of a typical old british pub, locally sourced homecooked menu, specials board, local fully matured steaks and grills and a very popular Sunday lunchtime and evening carvery and new midweek Wednesday Evening Carvery Families are welcome with junior menu options, highchairs available upon request, well behaved dogs welcome (fireside tables only) Great selection of cask ales, lagers and ciders, cosy open log fire for the winter months and large beer garden for the summer. New Wagon Wheel restaurant and function room (refurbished October 16) ideal for larger groups and private parties, buffets, weddings catered for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing