We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Bar

16 Bonemill Lane, Washington NE38 8AJ, England
+44 191 419 0359
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“wings” (5 reviews)
“burger” (10 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
16 Bonemill Lane, Washington NE38 8AJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently visited the river bar as we do most weekends, however despite a lot of perseverance over recent years (yes years) the beer just does not get any better. Had a pint of Supposedly Fosters but it is consistently flat and tasteless, tried the Tuborg...More

Thank sunderland1951
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We would like to look into your issues further. Could you please email me at manager@fiumeriverbar.co.uk at your convenience.

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Had a fab time with friends great atmosphere friendly staff looking forward to returning brilliant prize give away 😀

Thank Allison W
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

We are delighted you had such a fantastic evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again at some time in the near future.

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I booked a booth for my daughters 21st on Saturday afternoon, we had a great time, loved the music, great atmosphere and the food was fab!!!!😊

Thank Lynsey L
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. I am pleased you all had a wonderful evening with us. Happy belated Birthday to your daughter also. We hope to see you all again very soon.

Reviewed 15 April 2017

I'm not sure what market River Bar is aiming for but of the three pubs on Bonemill Lane it doesn't appear to be up to the competition. The service is basic with no engagement from the staff at all and, after a wait where we...More

1  Thank Andi20
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, I am very sorry to hear it was so disappointing. I would like to discuss this further with you if that's possible, could you please contact us at manager@fiumeriverbar.co.uk at your convenience....More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Just pub food Dried up or microwaved Not great Frozen food cooked in order tasteless and nothing really nice about it Dry fries Tasteless chilli Stringy cheap cheese Frozen everything so if it's cheap great but so pleased I didn't go for the actual mains...More

Thank charliesam2
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

We were very concerned to learn that you did not enjoy the food provided during your recent visit. Whilst we fully understand that not all dishes appeal to everyone, we will certainly review what was served as it is never our intention to disappoint our...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

The food here is actually ok, and there are several things I am dying to try but the attitude of the bar staff (not all, but most) is beyond a joke!! I don't know if they hate their lives or jobs but either way they...More

2  Thank Andrea-Mck88
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the service was not up to standard during your visit. Please could you email me so we can discuss this further. My email address is pr@fiumeriverbar.co.uk Kindest regards

Reviewed 29 March 2017

our regular eatery, reasonable price and most times the food is perfect. plenty to choose from on the menu

Thank kevchezza
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Checked website to make sure the 50% off food and cocktails was still available on a thursday as visited before christmas and the food was first class. However on arriving had to ask bar staff if they were open as no one else was there....More

Thank Delicia G
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive feedback. We have now recruited a full time Marketing Executive who is implementing changes our website. I have listed our current weekly offers which should be of some use to you. Monday – 50%...More

Reviewed 24 January 2017

Reserved a seat which was just as well as it was pretty full. Drinks and food 1/2 price. Delicious sweet potatoes fries. Staff rushed off their feet but still smiled

Thank Soozin2015
jenifermurphy24, Manager at River Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you for reserving a table with us and sharing your fantastic review. We do hope to see you again soon and receive a 5* review from you on your next visit.

Reviewed 20 December 2016

Witnessed a bouncer punch someone outside on Friday night. Never again will I set foot in a pub where I don't feel safe. Absolute disgraceful behaviour by the people who are there to protect you.

3  Thank amanda e
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Havelock
328 reviews
.03 km away
San Lorenzo
159 reviews
1.14 km away
Ristorante Fiume
512 reviews
.01 km away
Biddick Inn
59 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Penshaw Monument
281 reviews
2.37 km away
WWT Washington Wetland Centre
286 reviews
3.12 km away
Pelaw Grange Greyhound Stadium
14 reviews
3.86 km away
Riverside Park
58 reviews
4.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bearhead55
7 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Touran P | Reviewed this property |
I don't think they are allowed
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$29
Cuisine
American, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 16 Bonemill Lane, Washington NE38 8AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Washington
  • Phone Number: +44 191 419 0359
  • E-mail
Description
Here at the River Bar we specialise in serving exquisite cockatils, we use a variety of drink making techniques to surprise, baffle and tantalise your taste buds in a most pleasant manner. All our food from our burgers, hot dogs and even fries are made to order. our meats are smoked using the famous Bradley smoker, cooked low and slow . . . we 24 hour dry rub and marinate all our meats in our secret seasoning and smoke over our hickory and maple woods for up to 12 hours. then slathered with our BBQ mop and finished over our house griddle.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing