We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell & Barge

) #132 of 160 Restaurants in Rugby $$ - $$$ , British,
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
+44 1788 569466
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good30%
  • Average23%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The Bell and Barge is situated in a lovely canal side location with an open air balcony overlooking the canal. The interior is tastefully decorated and a warm welcome awaits you as you wait to be seated at your table. The waitress ( Amy) was...More

Thank Dougie K
Reviewed 3 days ago

All in Breakfast on Saturday morning. Mmmmm gorgeous! What a great deal. Whatever you want for the main cooked breakfast. Countless coffee and juice. Plus help yourself as many times as you like to the Continental - yeeeeeeee haaaaaaa what a bargain! Lovely waitress as...More

Thank Linda R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've eaten here a few times (same as other big chains with below average food). I like to pop in on a sunny day and soak up the sun on the decking or garden area! Great potential this place adjacent to main Oxford Canal running...More

Thank yelsmek
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yelsmek, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here with our granddaughter as this was her treat. I have not visited this Harvester before although I have visited others. We were seated very quickly and our order for drinks was taken straight away. Our granddaughter loved helping herself to the salad bar...More

Thank Viv B
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Viv B, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Bell and Barge!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In need of lunch in the Rugby area so this seems an appropriate place. On arrival the the horribly overgrown grounds, the scruffy restaurant and the all pervading smell of stale grease reminded me of a 50 year old transport cafe. Window deaths us a...More

1  Thank I8643LFdavidr
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my wife and i dropped in here to break up our trip home, i think we were the only people in there, the drinks came quickly and the food was just what you would expect, good no frills food, the veg was fresh and crisp...More

Thank Alan157243
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day! Alan157243, thank you so much for the positive review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So almost a week ago I went into this restaurant if you can call it that.. as staying next door. I said I wasn't going to do this although even after the environmental health visit, your managers have failed to contact me as so it...More

Thank AlanHathaway
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr Hathaway Thank you for your social media review. I telephoned you on 28/5/17 in response to your formal complaint via Harvester head office. I was unable to reach you therefore I e-mailed you and included my personal contact details if you wished to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hadn't be here for awhile as last visit was bad but we decided to give another go and was very glad we did. Very welcoming and great friendly staff. Our food was great and hats off to the chef called Gemma. She cooked our steaks...More

Thank AS_Happy_hols
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Bell and Barge. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We sincerely thank you for the positive review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Patrons are asked to wait to be seated but no staff around to seat anyone! The meal of gammon, pineapple, jacket potato, tomato and peas was truly awful. Swimming in grease, the gammon was tough, the pineapple burned, the jacket mushed and overcooked and the...More

Thank Denise G
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Denise, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to use directly at 01788569466 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Harvester to celebrate my son finishing his exams. What an absolute disappointment the meal was. Firstly it look untidy and disorganised, my wife wanted to leave but my son insisted it was his choice. I choose fish and chips with garden peas and...More

Thank Tom H
General Manager A, Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Tom, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Please reach out to us so we can work towards a resolution. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to hear...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nando's
61 reviews
.30 km away
Dilruba Restaurant
257 reviews
1.57 km away
Steam Turbine
143 reviews
.83 km away
Brownsover Fish Bar
22 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rugby Theatre
58 reviews
1.83 km away
The Webb Ellis Rugby Football Museum
27 reviews
2.22 km away
Rugby Art Gallery & Museum
60 reviews
2.11 km away
Elliotts Field Retail Park Rugby
11 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Megan H
Do you allow dogs in your garden area x
31 May 2017|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from AS_Happy_hols | Reviewed this property |
will ask next time I am in, as I am looking for places which dogs are allowed. Baco lounge in town centre allow dogs and even sell treats for them too.
0
Votes
Helen M
Why on earth when you are next to a canal, is there not easier access to your restaurant? We tried tonight having seen your establishment, as we cruised along. We moored our boat almost directly across from your decking and lovely looking garden. We got all 3 kids rounded up along with my elderly, poorly parents. Wandered slowly over the foot bridge which appeared to be the way in, this took us to another bit of abandoned canal, where my partner got scratched to bits with the overgrown plants. We tried the other path which took us into the middle of an industrial estate with no signs, again my partner went ahead to try to find us the way and found that it was a long way to a bridge which appeared to go into a housing estate. Finally, we all came back over the foot bridge and attempted to try to walk round, this however seemed to involve climbing a fence, followed by walk up a steep hill that arrived at the side of a dual carriageway which was simply impossible for our party. At this point we changed tack and went to the easily accessible Ed's Diner. We talked to several other parties moored up beside us who all had the same conundrum and all solved it the same way. Very surprised, that you would want to miss out on all the passing trade ....
22 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from General Manager A | Property representative |
I agree that it is indeed very unfortunate that we have no direct connection to the canal path. It is something that I will be looking into as we have had increased comments since the new shopping centre has opened. I am... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bell & Barge Brownsover Road, Rugby CV21 1HL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Rugby
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 569466
Description
At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing