We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bell - JD Wetherspoon

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
13-15 Salisbury Street, Amesbury SP4 7AW, England
+44 1980 677700
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 08:00 - 23:00
Wed - Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The preceeding customer entering this pub on the evening of 12th Feb 2017 was a rat that ran in off the street and went through the inner door as I opened it. Despite telling the staff they only seemed concerned in telling me I shouldn't have let the rat in. Yes I make a habit of that guys! Meanwhile pandemonium... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1978sprint
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

We greatly apologise for the disturbance you experienced when visiting our establishment. We fully understand the severity of the situation and have followed procedures with our head office and pest control to better understand and prevent this sort of occurrence from happening again. Regards, The Management Team More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late (2230) after having been delayed at work. Asked if they were still serving food (thank heavens the answer was yes) and was told yes by a very helpful barmaid. We immediately ordered a substantial meal that quickly arrived and very good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank D J
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hello, thank-you for the great review. We serve food all day from 08:00 - 23:00 every day of the week. Its great news to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you soon. John More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We go regularly as it is on our doorstep .The food is always excellent even when busy and you never have to wait long .They have different specials on every day as you would expect from a Weatherspoon. The staff are always friendly and helpful .The pub has different sitting areas which makes it cosy and intimate and there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheila056
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your great review, its always nice to get great feedback. We always try to be helpful and friendly at all times. The fire really is a great asset during the colder months and I am happy that you agree. hope to see you soon John More 

Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central in Amesbury, this is a place to go for an easy and budget family meal. I was a bit put off by the scruffy chairs and general tackiness of just about everything, but the prices more than made up the shortfall. The quality of the food is excellent, and there is a very good array of condiments in their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. On the subject of the chairs we are in the process of getting them re-upholstered so hopefully by the next time you are here that process will be almost complete. Hope to see you soon. John More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't know if it's always that quiet, or being the first Saturday of the new year, but we were very surprised at how quiet it was on a Saturday evening. The pub had some very good (almost ridiculously cheap) offers on such as fish n chips for £4.99, the food was tasty, hot and served quickly, all the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank breakbeat
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your great review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and made the most of our great offers. I hope to see you again soon. many thanks John More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

Had breakfasts or dinners on a number of occasions. Food is always well cooked and served quickly. Price is very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank DaveandSue2000
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We always aim to please and I'm glad we did on this occasion. We hope to see you again soon. The Management Team. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

A small Wetherspoons which was quiet on the night we were there.. A Tuesday evening... Me and my mate had different burgers (I had one with chilli on it) and it tasted pretty good... I had bottled beer and my mate had a lager so I can't rate the ale

Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you found your experience with us enjoyable, and that you enjoyed the food. We hope to see you again soon. The Management Team. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

I went to this pub for lunch, I had burger and chips, with a drink, The food was of good quality and served quickly. I returned for breakfast the next morning. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank B7152FJpeterw
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks John Pub Manager More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

A typical Wetherspoons house, could do with a little brightening up. Good offers available, 2 meals for 7.99. Fairly busy on our visit but service friendly and speedy. This was our second visit and will almost certainly go again

Helpful?
Thank cliff3232016
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our pub and took advantage of one of our great offers available. We hope to see you again soon. The Management Team. More 

Amesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Been going to this pub since it opened and today when having my family visiting we decided to go for a meal. Loads of empty tables but unfortunately not fit for 6 persons and a child. The manager didn't made the effort to accommodate us. Leaving us standing up with people looking at us. Really disappointed. When I asked for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joana S
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to hear your experience wasn't to your satisfaction. We always aim to facilitate but unfortunately this is never guaranteed. As for the Manager in question, I'm certain she is extremely apologetic for her lack of efforts that you have mentions, and will be addressed accordingly. We do hope to see you... More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bell - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Television
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13-15 Salisbury Street, Amesbury SP4 7AW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Amesbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1980 677700
Description
Newly refurbished Wetherspoon pub in the centre of Amesbury. Drop in for a visit and enjoy the beautiful beer gardens, good value food and a wide variety of drinks including

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell - JD Wetherspoon and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell - JD Wetherspoon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?