We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornish Arms

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Read more
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Cornish Arms
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$21
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
469
131
52
34
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
469
131
52
34
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brisket pie sunday roast burger mash fish and chips pot roast soup bread pudding the pub one way system beer garden booked a table food was fantastic home made lovely atmosphere
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Came back after being here last October when we were last on holiday. Glad to see that the landlords have survived through COVID and are about to celebrate their second year of ownership. The place and food did not disappoint, already looking forward to our...Sunday lunch tomorrowMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

How lovely . Thank you for remembering us and for returning after the 1onths we have all had. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit . See you tomorrow . Thank you

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had been in St.Ives visiting for the day but it was really busy so decided to find somewhere else to eat. We saw this when driving and my husband drive some where to turned round passing a couple of pubs but he really wanted...to go here. Me and my daughter had chicken burgers and I have to admit I had gone off pub burgers but this was so tasty and perfect. My husband had the Rattle mussels and said there were amazing and the best mussels he has ever eaten. The brownie pudding was really nice too. The only downside was twice a manager approached the staff I could hear them been told off which made me feel a little uncomfortable. I thought the pub was really nice and cosy inside. Recommend this pub to friends visiting latter in the month and they loved it tooMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

So happy you stopped by . We are very proud of our menu and our guests like yourself fall in love with the flavours . Pop back anytime .

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We came here whilst we were on holiday, as most of the restaurants closed for a couple of hours in the afternoon. Staff were really warm and welcoming, the ambience of the restaurant was lovely! I had a chicken burger, which is something I wouldn't...usually order but it was the best burger I have had in years! Food was incredible. My partner had the fish and chips and ate the lot! Speaks for itself really! We had such a lovely early dinner here and would definitely come back! Highly recommendMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

thank you for such a lovely review . Were are exceptionally proud of our pub and our service. We are so glad you enjoyed your afternoon lunch. we serve Tuesday through Saturday and on Sundays we only serve roasts - but should you find yourself...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To start you must wear a mask to be seated I understand hygiene is a major player during covid However dogs can wonder freely whilst you eat You can order drinks with sugar provided it's note coke You order drinks from your table but not...enough staff to keep up with food and drink orders Food was good but not exceptional as it used to be I wouldn't return again but in all fairness a dog friendly pub with good food Just not for meMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

hello and thank you for your review. Yes you are correct we do ask that you wear a mask when not seated at your table. We provide masks for those that don't have one. We are trying to keep everyone safe. Cornwall's numbers have shot...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much to Bernadette, John and their wonderful friendly staff for looking after us during our week in Cornwall. Nothing was too much trouble and food was out of this world (trying the poutine is a must)! My girls absolutely loved the Harry...Trotter burgers! Immaculate service was given even though they were super busy. Our puppy Oscar was treated like doggy royalty and he (and we) can’t wait to return. See you all in May.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so very much for such kind words . We strive to make everyone feel welcome and leave feeling full and happy . Our Harry trotter burgers are quite famous now …. They are moving to our winter menu this week ! Yes we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off at Hayle on route. Noon on a Saturday, the Cornish Arms was close to the car park hence our choice. So glad we did. Food was very good indeed. My wife had Scallops, while having arrived in Cornwall I chose Cod & chips....We left happy and contented to complete our journey. Service was friendly and most efficient.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your visit . Yes there is a large car park across the street and we have a small parking lot for 6 cars . We hope you have a lovely visit to Cornwall . You cannot go wrong with incredible...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a meal here a few weeks ago in early September. It was on a Saturday afternoon so was very quiet. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. Good choices on the menu from some classics to some quite unusual meals. We went for...burgers which were great. Service was fantastic too. My only gripe with this place is that they automatically add a 10% service charge on the bill. This is not something you expect for a party of 3, one of which was a 5 year old. We didn’t notice the service charge on the bill at first and asked how we leave a tip, to which the response was ‘don’t worry, we’ve added a 10% service charge anyway’. We would have left a tip anyway, which which is why we asked but wasn’t expecting that, as you would generally only add a service for larger parties. Overall we loved this place and we would definitely be back when we are next in the area.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a nice review . We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and of course our famous burgers . Thank you for mentioning the staff as they are all working very hard to meet customers expectations and ensure a great experience . The 10%...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Incredible food!! We had the most amazing meal here tonight, from the minute we stepped into the pub to the minute we left we had a wonderful time. The staff are so friendly & accommodating, the food is simply delicious. With a great variety to...choose from, there is something here for everyone! It's rare that an eatery is able to deliver on all of its dishes (especially when they are so different) but from indonesia to the UK the dishes were tasty, fresh and delivered hot. No complaints at all, you can't miss this local gem!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

How fabulous and uplifting to read this review! Thank you so very much . We are very proud of our little pub . Please come back anytime you are close enough to pop in .

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in after walking through Hayle, greeted friendly by staff at entrance, asked to wear a mask which i do not agree but atleast they are looking after staffs safety Cocktail menu was very extensive and came in a nice skull glass I got the...chicken joe burger with the millionaire fries (truffle oil and all the works)which were absolutely to die for, burger had a beautiful combo of sauces in a crisp brioche bun Friendly staff, served by Jess and overall a great pub, recommend to all!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello so glad you enjoyed your chicken joe snd million fries . Both very popular choices on the menu . We love that you tried a jack sparrow cocktail …. Yes we do ask people to wear a mask and offer them at the door...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time visit. We have had a wonderful experience here today. Lovely staff. Great service. Exquisite food.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
bernadette d, Owner at Cornish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review. We love Sundays too! Please pop by anytime you are in Hayle . Stay safe and happy.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
White Hart Hotel
168 reviews
.93 km away
Premier Inn Hayle hotel
1,166 reviews
1.53 km away
Travelodge Hayle
463 reviews
1.58 km away
Boskerris Hotel
897 reviews
3.70 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Mr B's Ice Cream Parlour
378 reviews
.75 km away
Duckies Cafe
249 reviews
.83 km away
Philp's Famous Pasties
1,232 reviews
.75 km away
Sanders Fish and Chips
781 reviews
.84 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Eskinzo Surf School
141 reviews
.81 km away
Hayle Towans Beach
650 reviews
1.23 km away
Paradise Park
1,381 reviews
1.50 km away
Hayle Heritage Centre
31 reviews
.92 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fay P
4 August 2021|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 650bernadetted | Property representative |
Our Sunday roasts are offered each Sunday from noon to 6.30. We recommend booking if possible as we usually are fully booked . We offer roast lamb , roast beef, roast pork belly and crackling and our in-house created... More
0
Votes
Sherpa03813269168
3 August 2021|
Answer
Response from 650bernadetted | Property representative |
We have two menus on our website . Thank you
0
Votes
joyh647
27 September 2020|
Answer
Response from 650bernadetted | Property representative |
The vat is not paid by the customer at all. The vat is paid by the business to the HMRC. The government has given the hospitality industry a reduced vat for a period of time. Due to the Covid-19 situation .
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cornish Arms

Yes, Cornish Arms is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Cornish Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4