We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Oak Inn

) #4 of 16 Restaurants in Lostwithiel $$ - $$$ , British,
Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
+44 1208 872552
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (12 reviews)
“mash” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Stopped here for food after struggling to park in Fowey due to the carnival. Really nice and friendly staff who provided excellent service and managed to make room for us despite being fully booked. Large choice of food and reasonably priced.

Thank DC1989
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this pub by chance and very grateful we are too! A lovely meal and very friendly staff..... it is certainly a place that I would recommend and return to if I come back to this area again.

Thank Wpaul21
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with family who are regulars here . It's not my first visit as we have stayed here in one of the lovely modern rooms a few years ago . The salmon in caper prawns was very tasty, as was the homemade treacle tart after....More

Thank Ali W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We braved the rain and walked into Lostwithiel from our accommodation to find a cosy place to eat. The Royal Oak is dog friendly to the point that our Cavalier pup was showered with affection and treats and now thinks it's the greatest place ever!...More

1  Thank Helen H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for good food at a reasonable price where our injured pet dog could sit quietly with us. We were seated in the bar and invited to choose our table. It was quite late so a couple of the specials were gone, but...More

1  Thank Becky J
A TripAdvisor Member
3613
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quick cheerful service, several local ales on tap, and better food than I expected. A mussel entree was fresh and sweet from the river that runs through town. Nice broth. Good fish and chips. A really good asparagus appetizer with parmesan cheese. A very satisfactory...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful meal this evening. Friendly and lovely as ever. Beautifully cooked sea bass and octopus. Cardamom donuts and white chocolate sauce to finish. A real cut above the normal pub fare. :-)

Thank Benjy B
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in Torquay for the week of my birthday (20/06/17) and had had a superb day at the lost gardens of Heligan and were recommended this place for dinner, the food was 5 star, very comfortable and such excellent service. A really full...More

Thank mrasbb
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to visit here for Sunday carvery with friends. We had booked for 12:30 but unfortunately we were late but was greeted by the friendly staff and was seated straight away. Two of us had straight off the menu, however the other four had the...More

Thank NikMerrilion
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review of our Sunday carvery and I am glad you found the food to be up to expectation and not cold like 'Vivien G' review, considering you were here on the same day and ate half hour after them!! We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A quiet mon evening but what a great find! We had 2 kids who enjoyed the usual kids meals. We enjoyed the special of 2 steaks with a bottle of house wine for £30. Great value and lovely food. The blue cheese sauce was gorgeous...More

Thank jayse21
Graham T, Owner at Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Trewithen Restaurant
419 reviews
.20 km away
Asquiths
183 reviews
.10 km away
The Globe Inn
385 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Restormel Castle
251 reviews
1.49 km away
Lostwithiel Museum
16 reviews
.13 km away
Green Cart Farm Distillery and Artisan Centre
7 reviews
1.41 km away
Castle Private Day Tours
10 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ScotinEngland
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Graham T | Property representative |
I believe you spoke to simon today and booked your table. We look forward to seeing you tomorrow. Graham
0
Votes
Andrea S
23 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Graham T | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Yes we can cater for gluten free. We have quite a extensive menu and we offer the facility to swap between dishes to cater for your needs. We hope to welcome you to The Royal... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Duke Street, Lostwithiel PL22 0AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Lostwithiel
  • Phone Number: +44 1208 872552
  • This restaurant is at Royal Oak Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing