We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polgooth Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ricketts Lane | Polgooth, St Austell PL26 7DA, England
+44 1726 74089
Website
Today
09:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,251: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I visited the Polgooth Inn 3 times during our holiday in May/June and had an extremely warm welcome each visit, we found the staff friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful meal on the last night of our holiday, my husband tucked into a huge burger whilst I ordered the mussels (as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fiona E C
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were staying in a very nice B&B nearby, and this was one of only two restaurants in the more or less immediate neighbourhood. The other one has better food (at higher prices of course), but this has a nice family-pub setup and feel, and the food was decent and well-made. We had fish and chips with mushy peas, all... More 

Helpful?
Thank somewhereman
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review

Hi somewhereman thank you for the review, but just wanted to put thing straight and say they are home grown Courgettes and not lemons in our Sunday roast vegetables :-) regards Alex More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We went to the Polgooth Inn on a whim. Tucked away in the beautiful Cornish countryside was a bustling village pub in the most beautiful valley setting. The place was packed inside so we had no option other than to sit and eat outside. Not bad, they provide blankets if it's cool and the weather was good. Being packed is... More 

Helpful?
Thank kleec87
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Service was excellent and the pub cosy but the food was really disappointing. I am surprised that it rated so highly on trip advisor. We should have gone back to Sam's on the Beach!

Helpful?
Thank bananaberrysmoothie
Polgooth-Inn, Owner at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review

so sorry to read your review, as you can see we generally get good reviews and happy customers. sorry we were not up to expectation on you visit and hope you try us again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We were happy to be seated on very short notice on a busy summers night. Great food, good service, lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank SaraahK1ng
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Went here twice during our stay in Cornwall and both times the food and drinks were excellent. The service is quick and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. I would advise booking in advance if you want to visit, as it gets very busy.

Helpful?
Thank Mike C
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We spotted Polgooth Inn on TripAdvisor's website - looking for a place to have dinner near St Austell. We were glad that we stopped there. It was very busy (2 car parks were full), but the place is large (many rooms) so does not feel crowded and the staff is on top of things. They were very friendly and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank VdM117
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday afternoon, food was outstanding best Sunday Lunch Around. The Beef Dinner was amazing prices were decent too! We booked for 2pm for 5 of us but we came early and sat at our table for 1:30, which is great!! Desserts were a dream! Sticky toffee pudding is defiantly worth a try, priced at £5.50 because they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Ate here with the familly after hearing great things and looking on tripadvisor of course. All of the meals were lovely just far too much, however we would all rather too much than too little! Some great summer cocktails on the menu also.

Helpful?
Thank hawk t
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Made a last minute decision to go out and they were able to fit us in quickly. Good food, nice atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank SarahKR6

Travellers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$36
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 23:00
Monday
09:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 23:00
Thursday
09:30 - 23:00
Friday
09:30 - 23:00
Saturday
09:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ricketts Lane | Polgooth, St Austell PL26 7DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  St Austell
  • Phone Number: +44 1726 74089
Description
Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Polgooth Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
St Saviour, Jersey
over a year ago
Nova Scotia, Canada
8 months ago
Market Harborough, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Polgooth Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?