We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boardwalk & Cafes - Ballina RSL

$$ - $$$, ,
Ballina RSL | 240 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
+61 2 6681 9500
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good45%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ballina RSL | 240 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Came here a few weeks back for dinner. The menu I perused online appeared ok ,but the food sizes were enormous and unfortunately at the expense of quality. I ordered the Calamari. Only received about 6 pieces which were ok, but a plate of salad...More

Thank Richard E
Reviewed 5 days ago

A great friendly club, right on the bank of the Richmond river. Beautiful to enjoy a meal, while watching the river craft float by. Food is always good & hot. Beer is always nice & cold.

Thank John H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great views on the dinning room Food was reasonably price but did not like my san chow bow nothing like a chinese restaurant one. Otherwise othef food on tables look good

Thank Cheryl B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visit Ballina twice a year and always have a roast dinner at the RSL and listen to the great music. Wouldn’t miss it!

Thank Jennifer W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and i spent a date night a few weeks ago at the RSL in ballina. I ordered the lamb shank special and my boyfriend ordered the chinese five spice duck (which btw was like $30). My lamb shank was pretty average, but the...More

Thank Isabella H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and nice inside décor, you can sit outside in a quite area if required and watch the magnificent Richmond River flow past. Food is what you expect for a club / pub; over priced standard fare that you would pay in normal restaurant;...More

Thank Island1963
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Extensive menu range, competitive prices and reasonably priced drinks. Food was tasty and servings large.

Thank JohnandFi1953
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Met some girl friends for lunch today. The food choices were good. The staff taking the order at the checkout was not at all friendly or helpful. The responses we received to questions asked were curt as if we should not ask questions. So we...More

Thank ShriFair
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Club meals can sometimes be a "hit or miss" affair, but our meals were perfect. The dinning area is comfortable, with very little noise and a great view of the river. The menu has a reasonable range to choose from, besides the usual club favourites,...More

Thank SoloRider86
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We have been to the rissole a number of times and have had a good run of meals there. It can get quite busy and if your in a hurry Friday / Saturday nights are not going to suit you. On the other hand they...More

Thank mrnudie
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Thai by Night by Chalee
85 reviews
.19 km away
Cafe Swish
81 reviews
.31 km away
Wharf Bar & Restaurant
238 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ballina Naval & Maritime Museum
115 reviews
.76 km away
Ballina Visitor Information Centre
143 reviews
.88 km away
Big Prawn
195 reviews
2.50 km away
Lighthouse Beach
41 reviews
3.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Zac B
Dear Management of Ballina RSL, my apologies for addressing you as 'Mark' in my prior question to you. I am so keen to find out about your steak that I slipped up. Anticipating your response, as I have always enjoyed your club until I recently had a steak that was similar in every way to three I've had in the last year - one as a midnight to dawn meal in a cheap Sydney hotel, the other at a Gold Coast Theme Park, then more recently I tasted a relative's steak in his nursing home. They all tasted the same, looked the same, were the same size, had identical grill colouring and the same strange texture. I'm assuming I'm correct because you did not respond to my complaint about the issue when I posted my comments - strange, because you've responded to everyone else. I guess you don't want to admit you are using these pre-fab cheap steaks found in nursing homes!!!, but people with allergies need to know this, as no-one would ever suspect your sneakiness. Awaiting the answer. Thank you.
9 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Ballina_RSL_Club | Property representative |
Hello Zac B, I am very happy to answer all your questions and response to your review of our establishment. First of all sorry for the late reply to your review but I personally wanted to respond to your review as I am... More
6
Votes
Zac B
9 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Ballina_RSL_Club | Property representative |
Hello, I hope that the response given to your following question, answers your inquiry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$27
Cuisine
Bar, Australian, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ballina RSL | 240 River Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Ballina
  • Phone Number: +61 2 6681 9500
  • E-mail
Description
Stylish and chic.... inviting, relaxing and comfortable.... fabulous waterfront location … it’s a combination restaurant, brasserie and bistro … all rolled into one … there’s such a vast selection of culinary treats … from gourmet cuisine to wholesome and hearty family favourites … and so much that’s fresh, delicious and affordable!Our 3-time ‘Chef’s Table’ gold medal winners bring you a whole new dining experience … and the emphasis is on quality … quality seafood, salads, pastas, steaks, and kids meals … and we really do have ‘the works’!The menu includes a whole new range of snacks (simple or gourmet) that are also available around the clock from the River Café … and you can enjoy these snacks in any of our comfortable lounge areas … so, whether you’ve settled in to watch the big-screen action in the sports lounge … you’re meeting a business client … or simply enjoying some sunset drinks with friends … we’ve got something scrumptious for you
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing