We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
103 Queen Street, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
02 4464 1920
Website
Today
08:00 - 15:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Wollongong
Level Contributor
358 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The cafe is set in a lovely old, long & narrow building with plenty of seating options including a courtyard. We sat out the back in the library where there were bookshelves full of pre-loved books to browse and buy. The staff were lovely. The Berry Burger was great as were the milkshakes!

Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and two children had lunch today and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Fresh, tasty, perfect size, good coffee, kids colouring pages and prompt friendly service in lovely surroundings. Thankyou!!!

Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
556 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've stop here a few times on our regular trips to Sydney from Ulladulla. We enjoy their coffee + banana/date/walnut bread with ricotta & honey. However, the lunch we had today was a small serve of avocado & 1 egg (+ a bit of salad garnish)...just 1 small slice toast so for $16 overpriced in our opinion. My husband (who... More 

Helpful?
Thank NotMolly
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi NotMolly, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel you received good value for money on your recent visit. We do take feedback seriously and we actually respond to all TripAdvisor reviews. The smashed avocado toast from our brunch menu is one of our most popular dishes and we have never had this feedback. While it is a single... More 

Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
446 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent trip through Berry, we stopped off at Our Book Shop & Café for a coffee break. Since our last visit there, it has a fresh new look and updated interior, which gives it a funky cosmopolitan look. We liked the freshness of the look. We chose to have a coffee accompanied by a muffin. Maybe with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review pandd1946! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again. We constantly change our menu to reflect the best available seasonal produce and now that we have launched our new breakfast and lunch menus today, we look forward to introducing a new cakes menu within the next week. There will... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We've been three times to our book shop and cafe three times. Each time the service didn't match the quality of the food and atmosphere. The first time it was slow service. The second time it was abrupt service like we were interrupting the waitresses other important duties by asking for food. This last time we were visiting with my... More 

Helpful?
Thank KevinDwyer1956
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, I am sorry to hear that your experiences with our cafe haven't always been the best, as we do pride ourselves on our service. Please know that you visited our cafe in the busy school holiday periods and your last visit was actually on the day that we broke our record for number of customers served in a... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We come to Berry every year when we're in the area and normally love it. First off we were told there would be a 20 minute wait because they had had a busy breakfast session and the kitchen needed a rest (it was 1pm by this stage). The bread on both the BLAT and the salmon sandwich were stale. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo C
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Jo. Firstly, I am very sorry that you had a poor experience at our cafe. New Year's Day was the biggest day in our cafe's history and we did struggle to deal with the overwhelming number of customers who arrived due to other cafes in town being closed. We did take the unprecedented steps of closing our kitchen for... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here for coffee and a light brunch before heading back to Sydney. Cafe was very busy but staff were friendly and personable. Coffee was great! Had the smashed avocado which was served with grilled lemon! Yum.

Helpful?
Thank fromthedale
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review 'fromthedale'! We hope to see you again soon :-) More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely stop here for coffee and scones sat out under the trees in the garden. It was super busy over new year but the staff kept up, especially the owner who was friendly and personable. The scones were nice although I prefer whipped cream rather than spray. The coffee was just the pick me up we needed on... More 

Helpful?
Thank philbert83
Alison H, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review 'philbert83'! We have taken your feedback on-board and I am pleased to say that our freshly baked scones are now served with whipped fresh cream. We agree, it does taste better!! We also have a great new menu for you to try and we hope to welcome you again in the future. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I took mum away for her birthday this past weekend and we stopped at the cafe and bookshop for lunch on Friday and because it was so good had lunch there again on Saturday. The jumbo salad wraps were so fresh and lovely. We sat out the back in the garden courtyard as it was such wonderful weather. Berry is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristen G
Ali_H255060, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review Kristen. We hope to see you again next time you're in Berry! More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016

i have been here twice recently for lunch and coffee. coffee is very nice, as is the food but the service is painfully slow or has been on both occasions.

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
Ali_H255060, Owner at Our Book Shop & Cafe, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that has been your experience Laura! The recent school holiday period was a very busy time for us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal and coffee though and we do hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Our Book Shop & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Our Book Shop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 103 Queen Street, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Shoalhaven  >  Berry
  • Phone Number: 02 4464 1920

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Our Book Shop & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?