We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schwaben House

) #29 of 715 Restaurants in Greenville $$ - $$$ European, German,
1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
+1 864-329-8681
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sauerbraten” (20 reviews)
“apple strudel” (15 reviews)
Open Now
17:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My Greenville friends were determined to find 'a good German restaurant' while I was in town. I am German. Someone recommended 'Schwaben House,' so they decided that we should give it a try. The restaurant is modern and stylish with outside seating. The staff is...More

1  Thank JuttaJo
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Happened upon Schwaben House on the way into Greenville for a business meeting. I felt as Spaten House from Munich had been dropped right into the outskirts of town. Fantastic beer list and service were met with an equally good menu. Roasted brussel sprout soup,...More

1  Thank CarolinaEsq
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Came upon this accidentily. It is a bit pricey but well worth it. Staff is great. Food was fabulous. I thought the beach decorating motif was a bit quirky. Make sure you check out the sink in the ladies restroom.

Thank captmom
Reviewed 19 May 2017

My lady Joanne and I visited this restaurant while visiting Greenville. I spent 2 years in Germany during my time in the US Air Force and I wanted to try some local German cuisine. We arrived right at opening time, and were immediately seated at...More

1  Thank Terry W
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

The food was delcious!!! As first timers we had the house specials Sauerbraten and Jagerschnitzel were unbelievably tasty & the Knoedle (Side dish) brought back childhood memories. We shared a Carpaccio...as an appetizer that by far was the best mouthful of the night.. highly recommended....More

1  Thank NA N
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We could not say enough good things about this restaurant. It is superb and has really thoughtful servers who remember you, what you've eaten and make suggestions at what you might like to try. Don't be scared away if you don't know German food. They...More

2  Thank Codeedo
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Place is really decorated nice. Menu has some great choices . My boyfriend got the butchers plate which was a special. All the sausages were good. I got the spätzle which was good. Service was outstanding and desserts they had the small bites available. I...More

Thank athena5365
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Hands down, my favorite place to eat in Greenville. Wonderful food, good atmosphere, friendly and attentive wait staff. The food arrives quick, hot, and is incredibly tasty. Good selection of beers and wines. I have never had anything but a great meal here. It is...More

2  Thank TravelingBikerdoc
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time and giving us a five star review. We do take pride in our food and service and it is always wonderful if the whole team gets rewarded for the hard work with a good review. We are looking forward...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017

My wife and I went on 4/1/17. I ordered the butcher plate which came with three different kinds of sausages. All three were not good. Two had very little flavor and the other was tasted like something from Hillshire Farm. When I politely informed the...More

1  Thank 1998TIGER
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Let me make some comments on you review about bad food: After the server brought your entrees, she came back and asked how your food was, your wife said hers was delicious and you said yours was good. She came back a second time and...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

I am visiting USA on business with my colleagues. After two weeks we wanted something from Home... The restaurant looks good all the waitresses treated us nicely. But there we're a young Tania. She messed up our orders then started to look angry on us...More

1  Thank Zoltan S
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

We are sorry that you had some issues with the server. The misunderstanding started after the food order was already sent to the kitchen and you made changes afterwards. We are all humans, and we are not perfect but at the end you received your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kitchen Sync
51 reviews
.24 km away
Da Vinci's Ristorante
71 reviews
.59 km away
Papas and Beer Mexican Restaurant
199 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Runway Park at GMU
103 reviews
.89 km away
TD Convention Center
104 reviews
1.49 km away
Quest Brewing Co
27 reviews
1.39 km away
Camelot Cinemas
14 reviews
.41 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jean4282
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WLR3d | Reviewed this property |
They did not but they are very accommodating and will serve how you desire.
0
Votes
janice m
19 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sarah O | Reviewed this property |
Nope - I live several hours from both places. If you look at my other reviews, I tend to suggest other places if the original was bad. The food was awful - my guest who lived in Germany for years agreed. No clue why... More
2
Votes
victoria p
5 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Annette F | Property representative |
Please give us a call at 864 329 8681. Thank you looking forward to hearing from you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$36
Cuisine
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Greenville
  • Phone Number: +1 864-329-8681
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing