We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schwaben House

1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
+1 864-329-8681
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sauerbraten” (18 reviews)
“apple strudel” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

I guess I'm used to larger portions at lesser prices. We ordered pork tenderloins and the meat didn't cover the buns. The sides were good but again, smaller portions. I felt it was fairly expensive given the amt. of food you get. The restaurant was...More

Thank Tom35011
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife and I are always hunting for authentic German restaurants as we travel across the country. Good German restaurant are hard to find. This restaurant was SPECTACULAR, in every way. The waitress was very accommodating and the food was fantastic. I can't imagine ever...More

1  Thank lou_nappi
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Searching TripAdvisor while in Greenville for a business trip, I noticed that there was a German restaurant - my favorite. It is difficult to get authentic German because preparing this type of food takes time and many people don't like to wait. I ordered my...More

1  Thank burnsomaha
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Once again we had a delightful evening at the Schwaben House even though Annette, the delightful owner/hostess/waitress was off for the evening. As always there was a nice selection of draft German beer, my Paulaner Lager was particularly delightful and paired beautifully with my Sausage...More

1  Thank LudwigVonKelkheim
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The food is excellent and they have a beautiful back patio. Very nice ambiance inside and outside + great service. We sat outside so our only complaint was the flies and mosquitos. They should probably consider purchasing a bug zapper and/or several citronella candles to...More

Thank amridgeway
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Usually stop in Greenville on the way back home from busi5trips and used to stop at various places near 85. Had a customer recommend Schwaben House and wow, so worth the extra time to stop! Fantastic authentic German food. I would not miss if you...More

1  Thank FeetofFury
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We visited this restaurant last night to try it out. My parents have been before and really like the food. The food is tasty. But, customer experience is lacking. My dad wanted to make a substitution on his meal and was told "you know this...More

1  Thank Sherri B
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We hadn't eaten at Schwaben House in awhile and decided it was time to go back, the food was always very good, but expensive, drink prices always reasonable, and service used to be better. I think our server had too many tables and wasn't as...More

Thank Richard F
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Family and I had lunch here today. The food was good, but it wasn't great. I had the cheese spaetzle. The cheese sauce was distinctly odd and not what I expected, having lived in the Schwabia region of Germany. I asked our server what kind...More

Thank Travelin_Schoolin
Annette F, Owner at Schwaben House, responded to this review

Hi Travelin_Schoolin, I am sorry you found our restaurant disappointing and that we didn't live up to your expectations. You are right, we could import or buy the more expensive cheeses like Emmantaler, Gruyere or Raclette, (which are regionally more authentic), but then unfortunately we...More

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

It was my first time here for lunch with a co-worker. I tried the Jäger Schnitzel. I forgot the name of the dish my co-worker tried but there's a picture of it. The spätzle tasted homemade. The server was very attentive and delightful. I would...More

1  Thank Kay P
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kitchen Sync
46 reviews
.24 km away
Da Vinci's Ristorante
69 reviews
.59 km away
India Palace Restaurant
57 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Runway Park at GMU
100 reviews
.89 km away
TD Convention Center
103 reviews
1.49 km away
Quest Brewing Co
26 reviews
1.39 km away
Camelot Cinemas
13 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jean4282
Do you offer a children's menu?
23 February 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from WLR3d | Reviewed this property |
They did not but they are very accommodating and will serve how you desire.
0
Votes
janice m
Sarah, you are obviously a minority in your opinion. I came on this site to write a great review, but was compelled to respond to yours. If one didn't know any better, i would think you work for or have a relationship with that other restaurant you mentioned. By mentioning a competitor it discredits your review. I happened to have been there this weekend, and it was by far one of the finest dining experiences I have had in a long time....not to mention that the food was as authentic as it gets. I personally was very impressed. My hats off to all of them!
19 April 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Sarah O | Reviewed this property |
Nope - I live several hours from both places. If you look at my other reviews, I tend to suggest other places if the original was bad. The food was awful - my guest who lived in Germany for years agreed. No clue why... More
2
Votes
victoria p
Do you have gift cards available? I live in Denver but have family there and I thought a restaurant gift card for Christmas would be nice.
5 December 2015|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Annette F | Property representative |
Please give us a call at 864 329 8681. Thank you looking forward to hearing from you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$36
Cuisine
European, German, Central European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 14:00
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1810 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607-2911
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Greenville
  • Phone Number: +1 864-329-8681
  • E-mail