We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Braunton Inn

Braunton road, Braunton, England
+44 1271 816547
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good20%
  • Average13%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible26%
5 Apr 2017
“Nice location and the food was OK”
11 Mar 2017
“Convenient watering hole!”
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Braunton road, Braunton, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to this restaurant/pub before when I was a kid and was going through the open table app and found this place again. I haven't been here since as it's quite away from where I live and to be honest, I just completely...More

Thank SeanMullarkey20
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback Sean! We are under new management and everyone is working really hard on quality of service and food. We hope to see you more often in the future!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We pop in here every now and again after work but stopped eating here because of poor service and food in the past so we normally only go for drinks now. Popped in yesterday and there was a different manager on shift to normal and...More

Thank Amy C
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and a five star rating Amy! We are under new management and working tirelessly on quality of service and food so we hope you will try us for a meal sometime soon in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here all the time when I was a child with my family (that was over 20 years ago - ouch!). I thought that during a stay at Croyde last week my husband and I should stop here for lunch as it was a...More

Thank Kelly M
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review Kelly. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your tartar sauce, the comments will be passed on to the kitchen for the next time they make it! We hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very tasty food, particular the prawn and lobster starter and the hot gooey chocolate brownie topped with ice cream for dessert. The Caesar salad and the duck both delicious too. Good service and great location with stunning views.

Thank Lewis H
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Lewis, we're very happy you had such a good time with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pre booked a table for my family but on arrival it was not ready and hastily prepared whilst we waited. The carpeted flooring was covered in food droppings the table was sticky and had a deposit of what appeared to be gum. The food was...More

1  Thank Dermotfastnet
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

This is another review left by the same party who left the review '' won't return for dinner'' we are sorry you left unhappy. I fail to see what can be gained from leaving multiple negative reviews which damage the reputation and livelihood of hard...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Straight to the point, I had to send my dinner back. It was only a burger and chips and it was not good. Tasteless and overcooked. The rest of the families meals were a bit hit and miss too unfortunately but they were edible. That...More

1  Thank CobraGT
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Hi Cobragt, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. for the burger we need to cook these to at least 75 degrees or above...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were recently staying in Woolacombe and after a day out we were stuck in traffic so decided to stop and get a meal while the rush hour cleared. We came across the Braunton Inn and decided that this was the place. Being a Vintage...More

Thank Julie S
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your feedback Julia. The staff always like hearing their hard work is appreciated and as we are under new management your comments regarding the steaks will be taken in to account and resolved before your next visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having eaten at this establishment on a couple of occasions, I found it to be an OK restraunt, the classic look of the premises and the position on the estuary give rise to the fine dining atmosphere. Service was good, food acceptable, if slightly prices,...More

Thank Alan H
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback Alan. We are currently under new management and working on quality of food and service so hopefully on your next visit you will find better value for money.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for dinner on Monday night, for the first time. Service was slow despite very few customers. The food was also disappointing. The sea bass was very small and over cooked. The mixed grill was also poor. Not the usual standard we know from Vintage...More

Thank _janlhiggs
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Jan and we are very sorry regarding the issues you experienced on Monday. We are under new management and working on issues with service and food quality. We are currently recruiting and going through a lot of training with our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on Sunday as it was nice day and we wanted to sit outside and admire the view over the Taw estuary. Unfortunately the Sunday roast was thoroughly unpleasant and we wished we hadn't bothered. We ordered the mixed meat platter for two (pork,...More

Thank tomYums
General Manager A, Manager at The Braunton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Tom for your feedback and kind words. We're very sorry you were so disappointed with your roast dinner, we are under new management and currently going through a big recruitment process. Quality of food and service is an issue we are working on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fremington Quay Cafe
585 reviews
1.67 km away
The Riverside
451 reviews
3.17 km away
Han Court
173 reviews
2.50 km away
The Corner Bistro
339 reviews
3.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Biketrail Cycle Hire
59 reviews
1.68 km away
Marwood Hill Gardens
191 reviews
4.12 km away
Finch Foundry
130 reviews
4.56 km away
Museum of British Surfing
32 reviews
3.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Braunton Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Braunton road, Braunton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Braunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 816547
  • E-mail
Description
The Braunton Inn in Barnstaple is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.