We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifford / Coffee Rush

$$ - $$$, British,
34 Fore Street, Shaldon TQ14 0DE, England
+44 1626 872311
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (19 reviews)
“venison steak” (4 reviews)
“cakes” (15 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 Fore Street, Shaldon TQ14 0DE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We were staying in an apartment a few metres away from The Clifford, and having read some reviews we made sure we found time to pop in. We weren't disappointed in the coffee and the only disappointment was that we had just had breakfast so...More

Thank mags592014
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear mags592014 Thank you for your very kind review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed our coffee. All best wishes from the team at The Clifford/Coffee Rush

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a treat to find a place with such a friendly and personal experience welcome and on top of that first rate food at reasonable prices. We were two couples called in for Sunday lunch. The menu is not extensive but will cater of everyone...More

Thank Laurence5836
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Laurence5836 Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All best wishes from the team at The Clifford/Coffee Rush

Reviewed 1 week ago

The friendliest place in Shaldon. Dom and the staff are the best. The coffee is lovely and the cakes are divine..

Thank Mike M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We thought we would try the Clifford/coffeerush for an evening meal as not opened long . What a good decision ! This was easily the best meal experience we have had for a long time. I had the steak Diane and my wife had the...More

Thank mikeandjacky2017
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear M & J Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. All best wishes from the team at The Clifford/Coffee Rush

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and 5 friends went for dinner at the clifford last night. I can honestly say it was one of the best mess I have had in months! We all went for the 3 course option at just £19-95. Starters were amazing salmon gravlax, smoked...More

Thank mishy000
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mishy000 Thank you very much for your very kind review, which is appreciated. With all best wishes from the team at The Clifford

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m going to try to be short and sweet. We attended this lovely Devon gem to mark the 50th of our dear friend. She booked it and sorted our orders prior to the weekend. All came wonderfully prepared and with a sense of good home...More

Thank Robert W
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Robert W Thank you so much for your very kind review, which is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. With all best wishes from the team at The Clifford

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for morning coffee and tea cake the staff were lovely and the coffee in cafetière was a welcome site. Served with a smile well done.

Thank pburgess2016
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear pburgess2016 Thank you for your very kind review, which is appreciated. All best wishes from the team at The Clifford/Coffee Rush.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just popped in for a cream tea but was very disappointed to find that there were no baby changing facilities. My baby left a present just as out cream tea arrived so had to walk 10mins home to change him, leaving my tea to go...More

Thank Elsol86
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ElsoI86 Thank you for your review. However, I don't think it merits a 'terrible' just because there is no room in our ladies cloakroom for a changing unit. Believe me, we have tried to incorporate one but it is just not possible on health...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Nice atmosphere from start to Finnish I'll be back in the summer to try the food menu I've heard good things about this place

Thank johngU1213AI
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear johngU1213Al Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Clifford/Coffee Rush in the future. With all best wishes from the team.

Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

We were staying in the village for a long weekend and met some local friends in here for dinner, the chef is excellent, I had baked cod and it was absolutely gorgeous, my partner had the duck and friends had steak and chips which looked...More

Thank Carol B
CdeSH, Owner at The Clifford / Coffee Rush, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Carol B Thank you for your very kind review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Clifford in the future. All best wishes from the team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Shaldon Hotels
Potters Mooring Hotel
344 reviews
.21 km away
Bay Hotel
231 reviews
.93 km away
Brunswick House
15 reviews
.96 km away
Cliffden Hotel
266 reviews
1.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
ODE dining
166 reviews
.02 km away
London Inn
591 reviews
.20 km away
Clipper Cafe
760 reviews
.28 km away
Fresco
359 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Teignmouth - Shaldon Ferry
118 reviews
.41 km away
Ness Cove
134 reviews
.88 km away
Teign Heritage -Teignmouth & Shaldon Museum
70 reviews
1.35 km away
Shaldon Wildlife Trust
272 reviews
.75 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chris B
28 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CdeSH | Property representative |
Yes - we are. Please 'phone to make a reservation.
2
Votes
hazelsadler96
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CdeSH | Property representative |
Yes, well-behaved dogs on leads are welcome both in the pub and in the garden
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Fore Street, Shaldon TQ14 0DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Shaldon
  • Phone Number: +44 1626 872311
  • E-mail
Description
The Clifford Arms is owned by Dominic and Clare de Suys. It is a combination of the former and much loved Coffee Rush and the traditional approach of the Clifford Arms. Now operating as a continental style café bar serving from 9 am to 11 pm daily with a short closure between 4 and 5 pm to allow us to prepare for the evening. We serve breakfast and light lunches daily and dinner on Friday and Saturday evenings. Sunday lunch is also served and it is particularly popular when we host a jazz group. Monday nights are reserved for jazz (please see list or ring for dates and names of artistes)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing