We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound Inn

The Square | Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5EZ, England
+44 1929 480205
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (82 reviews)
“fish and chips” (73 reviews)
“pudding” (28 reviews)
Open Now
10:30 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, British, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square | Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5EZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed a really good dinner here recently. The Inn enjoys a great position on the square, plus has pleasant, cosy atmosphere & decor. Food was very good, with generous portion sizes & the gourmet chips definitely should not be missed! The stem-ginger cake dessert, too,...More

Thank Col777
Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband love to goes back there.First time we visit this place 6 years ago ,and like nothing change .Amaizing athmospher,good food lovely staff.Place with character!!!Need to be seen.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank mbucior78
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I stopped by here for lunch and were both very impressed. The lunchtime menu is of great value and the food was delicious. Staff were friendly and the pub itself is also lovely inside. Highly recommend (must try the sausages!)

Thank hflorence4
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were attentive in finding a table at 6.30pm since we had not booked, one available after 20 minutes. Chose Sunday roast to be informed only 1 left, then 2 minutes later another 1 was available. We were served quick which was a surprise but...More

Thank Matt3565
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the Greyhound after recommendations from several friends. We were not disappointed! Carl the Manager was very welcoming and we couldn't believe the speed and efficiency of the service. As it was a Sunday, we went for the traditional Roast Beef, which did...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank maxiboy
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear maxiboy What a great review! Thank you so much for the much appreciated praise. I have passed on your comments to Carl and he's chuffed you had a great time and informs me that have booked in for next week :). We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely roast late afternoon on a Sunday. Often roasts are ruined by that time of day but fresh and tasty. Always have a good meal here.More

Thank Dawn C
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dawn C We try not to hold lots of food under lights here, so as much as can be made fresh to order is . Always love to here good feedback from regular customers :) Hope to see you again soon. Best regards Andrew...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit and we had a friendly welcome and a generous roast beef meal with all the trimmings including stuffing. This place has retained a cosy pub feel. We’ll be back. Thanks.

Thank 66NikkiW
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 66NikkiW Well thank you very much Nikki. What a lovely review. Please do come back again soon. Warm regards Andrew Floor manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were really looking forward to a roast in this place and had heard really good things. We may have picked an off day but the roast chicken was dry, gravy over powering and disappointing roast potatoes.More

Thank Karin L
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karin L Well Karin I can assure you that you must indeed have come on an off day, as we do have a very good reputation for our Sunday roasts (as you stated you had already heard) . I can only apologise and hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked to the Greyhound over the Purbeck hills on a cold November evening to be welcomed by very friendly staff and a warm pub! The food was very good albeit a bit pricey. The service was great - friendly and professionalMore

Thank Beani71
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Beani71 There's nothing better after a long walk than to find somewhere warm and friendly is there ? Especially if they also happen to serve very good food. We look forward to seeing you at the end of one of your long walks again...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner in the Greyhound on the last day of our holiday. Absolutely loved the place - menu was full of variety and everything we ordered was delicious. Also very impressed with Nick, who despite only being about 14 was running the place like a...More

Thank RichardBroadbent
Greyhound2016, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear RichardBroadbent Thank you for the kind words. We like to think we offer something a little different from the standard pub fayre and I'm thrilled to read you agree with us and enjoy what we do. I'm sure Nick will be thrilled with your...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Corfe Castle Model Village
255 reviews
.05 km away
The Castle Inn
785 reviews
.37 km away
Mortons House Restaurant
193 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset Waterpark
1,004 reviews
.73 km away
Corfe Castle
2,159 reviews
.23 km away
Corfe Castle Model Village
355 reviews
.11 km away
Cyclexperience
13 reviews
.90 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lindajanea
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from NickGranger924 | Reviewed this property |
Couldn't be absolutely sure but reckon there's a good chance.
1
Vote
Lindajanea
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from williamjc55 | Reviewed this property |
Hi , I am not sure , you best ring them if not I think the model village nearby does , william
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$27
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square | Wareham, Corfe Castle BH20 5EZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Isle of Purbeck  >  Corfe Castle
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 480205
  • E-mail
Description
The most photographed pub in Britain, nestles under the magestic remains of Corfe Castle. Large outdoor garden with views over the Swanage Railway and Castle. Simply delicious British food with a European twist. Locally sourced seafood with fresh produce from farmers, butchers and bakers. Large selection of real ales and Dorset ciders. Fish and Chip Takeaway. Hand made Italian pizza to go Food served all day. Live music every Friday. Two beer festivals May and August. Weddings, birthday parties and staff parties. Look at our website for details of our food festivals. 01929 480205
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing