We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
+44 1929 552524
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 167: English reviews
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Popped in for a couple of cream teas. The scones were lovely and fresh and warm. The jam and cream equally as nice Had an issue that we weren't provided knives to cut and spread. Asked the waitress who brought us 2 knives wrapped in the only serviette we were provided. As we didn't see another waitress we couldn't ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1Steve_bach
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review - I'm glad that you enjoyed your cream teas however I am sorry that the waitress who served you didn't give you the cutlery straight away and then didn't realize that she had only picked up one serviette. We do have some new junior staff and I will pass on your comments to them. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our extended family to this restaurant. The food is made to order, fresh and flexible for those younger test. They staff are so welcoming, with a kindly gentle touch.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to satisfy even our youngest customers. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Wareham. More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch time meal, not very busy, The service was good, staff weren't very friendly, the food and soft drinks were ok but very expensive. Due to this probably I wouldn't eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank pfcmick
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is difficult to know what day and when you came in during the school holidays. I guess we can't be busy all the time but are glad that you had good service which is a bit difficult to explain as you said the staff weren't very friendly which is surprising. Looking at your other... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived for lunch at 1:30pm today and took a seat at one of the available tables - there were a few to choose from. A waitress brought the menus and we ordered a burger and cold drink each. The drinks and cutlery arrived quite quickly and then we waited... and waited. Several tables vacated and more came in. Eventually... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7Lindy
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

I was the older lady in question that you spoke to when you were waiting for your meals to be served. Unfortunately due to other commitments I did not arrive until 2.00pm on the day in question and as soon as came in I could see that the staff were struggling to serve everyone as it was very busy both... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service and care, we arrived just before closing and were cared for as if we had been the first customer of the morning"...........wonderful ! Great place to stop for a snack or something more filling with a wide variety on offer, thank you !

Helpful?
Thank Mango1950
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and were looked after well even though you were one of the last customers of the day - we are pleased to see every-one whether they come early or late! We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went for breakfast & pleased to find them dog-friendly. Waitress brought dog biscuits wrapped in a napkin - Ginny was grateful but didn't stop her begging from our excellent breakfasts. Great quality ingredients well cooked and delivered by friendly staff. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank TescoBoy
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and that Ginny enjoyed her biscuits! More 

Eversley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OMG if you want a roast dinner like your Nan used to cook, look no further than Nellie Crumb in Wareham! Took my Aunt and Uncle there on Sunday for lunch and although the choices were limited it really didn't matter because the Roast beef was to die for, it literally melted in your mouth. The veg had been cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank valerieOckendon
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to put your review about your recent visit on Sunday. We are glad that you enjoyed your special Mothers day roast lunch - we did try our own Yorkshire puddings but because the oven door was continually opened they didn't rise as they should have so we had to use an alternative! I know Zoe... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped off here to shelter from the rain and enjoy a nice coffee with Dorset Apple cake. We had our dog with us and were made to feel very welcome. They even have dog biscuits so your dog can get a treat as well. This is a lovely friendly tea room that also serves meals and is very dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive C
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - we really appreciate them and look forward to seeing you when you are next in Wareham. More 

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On Friday morning we visited Nellie Crumb and ordered a vegetarian breakfast priced at £7.95 - which seemed a bit pricey but we were hungry! After waiting sometime the breakfasts arrived - 1 grilled tomato, a small pile of no more that 2 or 3 thinly sliced mushrooms, a few pieces of fried potato and the rest of the plate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela H
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your vegetarian breakfast. The description of the breakfast is on the menu and therefore what you read is what we offer. I was not working on Friday but without seeing what was served it is difficult to comment - I pretty sure that it wouldn't have been two mushrooms and a small... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

After waiting for a considerable time to be asked what we would like to order I'm afraid we walked out! We counted at least 4 staff and 1 took an order from the table next to us but completely ignored us, restaurant was empty on a Saturday afternoon so there was no excuse for being run off their feet, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank apeake007
CHRISTINE B, Owner at Nellie Crumb, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to see that you had poor service when you recently visited our tea rooms - we had been busy over the lunch time but by the time you came in it seems that we were quieter. I will certainly be speaking to the staff who were on duty in the restaurant that afternoon. It depends on... More 

Travellers who viewed Nellie Crumb also viewed

 

Been to Nellie Crumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 South Street, Wareham BH20 4LR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wareham
  • Phone Number: +44 1929 552524

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nellie Crumb staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?