We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willett Arms

$$ - $$$, British,
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
+44 1202 883144
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (17 reviews)
“spicy chicken” (8 reviews)
“sunday roast” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We went here for my wife's birthday recently with 8 of our friends. The service was great, lovely food and everything came out together and hot! This is the second time we've been here and have enjoyed both visits. Good selection of food and everything...More

Thank Venkman69
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was another guest on Christmas day and again on the pm sitting.After reading the 3 other reviews from the same day i'm afraid i have to agree with everything that they have said. I do not want to rehash everything that has been said...More

2  Thank dungeon1970
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was one of those unfortunate diners on Christmas Day as a guest of friends who were very embarrassed at our experience. I have read the reviews from donnelly1208 and Supasuzy and concurr with everything they have said. We all must have been seated in...More

8  Thank Carol E
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Carol E, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for 14 for the saturday before christmas. We expected it to be busy and it was just that. We were greeted by very friendly staff and shown to our table. Drinks were prompt and although a few ales weren't available we...More

1  Thank DEVL1990
General Manager... A, General Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi DEVL1990 Thanks for your review Great to hear you all had a cracking time! I will pass these comments onto the team Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards James

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been regulars at The Willett Arms and have taken many of our family members there over the years, however nothing prepared us for Christmas Day 2017. Had booked well in advance and arrived ready for our 3pm sitting. 3pm came and went and eventually...More

10  Thank Donnelly1208
General Manager... A, General Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Donnelly1208 Thanks for taking the time to put a review on here. My customer service skills are of a calm and respectul manner and have never been questioned and all of my team have the same mentality. Only on a few occasions where guests...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s our local that we like a lot and have been many times to eat but under their new management . identity/ branding a disaster has occurred when profits are more important than customers. We booked our Christmas Day luncheon back in August .. pre...More

9  Thank Supasuzy
General Manager... A, General Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Supasuzy I would love to say thanks for this review but sadly I won’t give you the privilege. Couldn’t be further from the truth if it hit you in the mouth! You and your delightful partner in crime were an embarrassment to you and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The five of us had the festive menu for lunch just before Christmas. We all enjoyed all three courses especially the starters and desserts but for the main course the roast turkey was a bit dry. The service wasn’t quick which suited us and the...More

1  Thank Robert F
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Travelhomer, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for our work Christmas do on a busy evening. The food was really good and well presented and staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

1  Thank Nicki C
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nicki C, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you again for leaving us this response!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Interesting to read such mixed reviews. We enjoyed our meals, especially 3 delicious courses for £15. The chicken curry bites, fishcakes and chocolate brownie were all great. We weren't in a rush so it didn't bother us but it was quite slow to get our...More

1  Thank H R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a friend and I had enjoyed a recent meal here we decided to book a table again for our pre Christmas lunch together. As with our previous visit the food and service from our waitress was good. What truly let our meal down was...More

Thank lesley r
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wimborne Hotels
Les Bouviers Rooms
163 reviews
1.42 km away
Kings Head Hotel
696 reviews
1.70 km away
The Minster Arms
25 reviews
1.75 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
1,515 reviews
4.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cloisters Restaurant
258 reviews
1.42 km away
La Vie En Rose
117 reviews
1.49 km away
The Thirsty Bird
23 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wimborne Minster
279 reviews
1.57 km away
The Priest's House Museum & Garden
83 reviews
1.58 km away
Wimborne Market
59 reviews
1.00 km away
Affordable Studio Art
41 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Salli L
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi Salli Dogs are allowed in the bar area and outside only Hope this helps Regards James
1
Vote
Karen H
13 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from bonjgb1009 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont believe there is. Plus it is closing down for refurbishment on the 5th February.
2
Votes
Everyonelovescake
12 September 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi We do allow guide dogs in the bar area, but not in the restaurant. And we can adapt the menu for gluten free and if there isn't anything on there we can use the main menu as we have a lot of options there too Hope... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing