We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Torridon Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A896 | by Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland (Formerly The Torridon Inn Bar)
+44 1445 712254
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Belgrade Lakes, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I walked into this inn, I said to myself: This looks like a great place for a pint and some pub food. Unfortunately, looks are deceiving in this case. Although the atmosphere is very pleasant, the food is pretty weak. We ordered fish & chips and a beef pie. Fish was literally burned. Pie was bland with a soggy... More 

Helpful?
Thank inkmom
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am always amazed that people still find the time and inclination to write a review for a stay last season and 10 months after their visit. The beer was ok.....what was wrong with it? If the food was that bad I assume you complained and did not pay for it ? Regards, Dan More 

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

Popped in here for lunch as was looking round the hotel next door for use as wedding venue. Haddock and chips for me, which was pretty much as you expect to be, but worth noting that the fish was enormous. (Chips were nice too). OH had the venison burger which she described as "very tasty". Bar seemed nice in general.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lightintheblack
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and glad the lunch stop met with your approval. Regards, Dan More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Six of us booked for lunch on a rainy Thursday. The food was absolutely superb, with all of us going away happy and more than one remarking the 'best burger ever'! The bar atmosphere was very pleasant and the staff friendly. One small comment is that the service could be slightly quicker and more attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. Regards, Dan More 

Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

We ate supper here both days, and enjoyed our meals. Warm, casual atmosphere. Above-average service.

Helpful?
Thank NewAdventurer2
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thank for the review and good to hear you enjoyed the service and food. Regards, Dan More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016

Such a great adjunct to a stay at The Torridon hotel! Great pub food -- get the steak and ale pie! Local beers and ciders. Amazing.

Helpful?
Thank David K
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Regards, Dan More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

My husband and I had a meal here. My husbands steak was very good. My meal had a problem with it and i had to send it back , it took over 15 mins for it to come back to me by which time my husband had finished . Staff could be more attentive and deal with complaints better than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit as much as you would have liked. Regards, Dan More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Loved the burger, friend enjoyed the fish and chips, though a bit surprised to find the peas were mushy. Maybe we didn't read the menu properly. A comment I must make. I struggle very badly with loud (or indeed any) music in restaurants. I was completely taken aback upon asking to have it turned down, to find my request met... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

We do a lot of burgers and fish and chips and it is great to hear that you enjoyed both. Music is pretty subjective in most cases but I am pleased the team were able to respect your wishes. Regards, Dan More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

We were looking forward to high quality pub food, but things went downhill from our first encounter with the maitre d', a tall chap with a pencil behind his ear who looked downright miserable to be at work throughout the evening and the next morning at breakfast. Despite booking, we were ushered away from the front rooms where people at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pigeon78
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The pub area is dark and cosy, the front area is more like a conservatory, but looks onto the carpark. Nice drink selection. Staff helpful, but all foreign, (oz and kiwi) so no nice local Scottish feeling. Food was very average. If you just need a filling meal it'll do that. Our burgers were very lacking in flavour and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
DanRB, Owner at The Torridon Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review even if a little harsh. Sorry you found the food average. The burgers are all prepared by our local butcher so I will talk to him and check on the seasoning. The staff are international as are many other places in hospitality. Along as they are trained, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local area I... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I had salmon, spinach & new potatoes...I think they forgot the spinach, with only 2 leaves! The salmon & potatoes were nicely cooked & seasoned. My partner had the burger, which he enjoyed. Wine was nice. Went through to the bar after dinner which was great! Folk singer Andy Chung reeled out some Scottish classics & funnies, with great interaction... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhona L

Travellers who viewed The Torridon Inn also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Achnasheen, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to The Torridon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$31
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A896 | by Achnasheen, Torridon IV22 2EY, Scotland (Formerly The Torridon Inn Bar)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Ross and Cromarty  >  Torridon
  • Phone Number: +44 1445 712254
Description
Friendly Scottish Inn with pub restaurant. All dishes prepared using fresh ingredients and plenty of local produce.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Torridon Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?