We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Small, friendly cafe in converted Church building. We offer fresh artisan roasted coffee from a local roaster, speciality teas and home baked cakes and light lunches including soups and panini's.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
181
54
12
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
181
54
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes soup panini coffee and walnut cake victoria sponge toasties crisps converted church old church home baking on display the main road little gem excellent coffee knick knacks by chance dirt track
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

Stopped by for a (very) late lunch at 3.15pm after walking the West Highland Way from Crianlarich. Very glad to find they were still serving food. Excellent quiche with fresh side salads, and tasty home-baked cakes. Beautiful location, we sat outside and enjoyed the company...of the inquisitive chickens. Really highly recommended, definitely worth the 3-minute detour off the West Highland Way (& it’s very well signposted for walkers).More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Thank you for that . Hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk. Sorry about the weather!!

Reviewed 22 October 2021 via mobile

What a marvellous find this was. We had just come off Beinn Challuim after a four hour walk, and the cosy Artisan Cafe provided the most perfect end to the day. Fresh tea in bone China and home baking of delicious quality. Add in the...delightful, friendly staff, and we couldn’t have been more content ❤️More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2021

Thanks for that David. Lovely to see you.

Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

Having researched this cafe as being dog friendly we decided to visit for lunch. We were very disappointed to see on arrival,on their outside chalk board - no dogs allowed. We were going to leave and actually got back into our car, but then changed...our mind and thought we would sit outside. However the tables and grass were wet and it was too cold, so reluctantly we had to choose to leave our dog in the car, which is not something we like to do and if it had been sunny we wouldn't have been able to. Inside there was a good choice of items. We had soup, paninis, scone. Everything was lovely and we really enjoyed our lunch. The only down thing was it was not dog friendly and given the area where alot of people are on holiday, for "staycations" with their pet I think they could be more accommodating.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2021

Very sorry you were disappointed . We are big dog lovers ourselves and for the first couple of years we did allow dogs but had no end of problems. ( Dog poo left under tables, barking/growling and customers leaving as they had dog allergies). If...More

Reviewed 12 October 2021

Close to main road between Crianlarich and Tyndrum. Superb place in old church with lots of tables well spaced out...fantastic stafff who are very friendly and efficient. Superb menu for breakfast , brunch or lunch or just coffee and cake( huge pot of filter coffee)...gluten...free choices no problem. have driven past this place literally hundreds of times on the way north to the big mountains. We will not be driving past again... a brilliant hidden gem. Well not so hidden as its only a few metres from the main road.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 September 2021

Been before, soup,sandwiches and cake are all freshly made and always tasty, tables inside and out, nice walks nearby, plenty of room to park at side, its in an old church building

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you for coming back again!

Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely little cafe just off the main road,with fresh food and home baking. The converted church is a lovely, calm environment and the staff were friendly and kind. Coming off the main thoroughfare by just a few yards, makes all the difference.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021
Google Translation

Nice to see you Helen.

Reviewed 19 September 2021

Away from touristy Tyndrum, this chapel cafe makes a lovely place for a pit stop. But we were frustrated by a long delay... just to pay for two coffees. If any of the staff ever read these reviews, how about considering the option of letting...customers pay upfront when ordering, especially if it's something simple like a couple of hot drinks? Even though we just wanted to pay and go after finishing our coffees, I was unlucky to get caught in a queue which included people waiting to be seated, someone asking for complicated directions to avoid a road accident and someone ordering for a group who couldn't decide what takeaway sandwiches they wanted. When I finally got to the till, the card machine wouldn't work. So to pay with cash I had to go out to the car to get the right coins... and then rejoin the queue all over again! Another point worth noting is that the coffee served here is exceptionally strong, with two shots the default dose. Consider asking for a single shot if you're on a long journey and don't have a strong bladder!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Sorry to hear you had such a frustrating time . As a staff we have discussed your situation and can only presume that as it was so busy at the till, we were unaware you were waiting to pay. We would have happily allowed you...More

Reviewed 24 August 2021

Stopped here for lunch after walking in the national park. Had the most incredible food, but my order was wrong so I told the waiter and he took it away and gave me the correct order. My boyfriend was a bit picky about the juice...as they said “fresh” juice on the menu but it was from concentrate and he doesn’t like juice from concentrate so he asked to see the bottle of juice before he ordered a drink. I ordered a large juice but received a small one, didn’t say anything about this since they already had to fix my food order and clearly weren’t happy about having to do so, as my plate was basically thrown down in front of me by the waitress onto a table that could barely stay up straight and almost caused our drinks to spill. Went to pay and checked that a small juice was charged rather than a large one, the man at the till didn’t even give me or offer me a copy of my receipt. He took my payment and promptly said “bye bye now!” And turned away in the rudest manner possible, leaving me to add up my items from the menu so make sure it matched what I’d paid. It did, luckily, and I left. Stunning venue, stunning food, just keep your order simple and try not to have any issues otherwise you’ll leave feeling totally sad and deflated like I did and wondering what you did wrong for the next few hours.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2021

Many thanks for the positive comments but sorry to hear you felt you were treated unfairly. Your comments have been discussed between our staff members. If there is a mistake with an order we always prefer the customer to let us know so we can...More

Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

We stopped at this cafe on our way to Fort William -stumbling on it in fact and I am so glad we did, its a lovely small cafe which you can sit inside or outside (we had great weather so sat outside) coffee was lovely...and the Victoria sponge was AMAZING!! Best Victoria sponge I have ever tasted! So Thankyou!!! This little Gem of a cafe is definitely worth a stop! Cute and quaint.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Thank you! (Donna is very proud of her Vicki sponge!)

Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

Lovely cakes, good coffee, nice cafe. Good selection of GF ‘fine pieces’ if you’re looking for that. We came along not long before closing, and they accommodated us nicely.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
diane m, Owner at Artisan Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2021

Try to do the GF/DF/Vegan thing! Thanks for coming in.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
1,105 reviews
2.63 km away
The Tyndrum Inn
389 reviews
2.71 km away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
1,252 reviews
4.83 km away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
360 reviews
5.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Real Food Cafe
1,960 reviews
2.57 km away
The Tyndrum Inn
383 reviews
2.70 km away
Ben More Lodge
214 reviews
5.53 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Green Welly Stop
218 reviews
2.81 km away
Beinn Dorain
11 reviews
9.44 km away
Loch Lomond Wakeboard
38 reviews
13.54 km away
An Ceann Mor
30 reviews
19.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ehumphries91
29 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Colbou1 | Reviewed this property |
yes they are
2
Votes
macfdill
19 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Stovies1978 | Reviewed this property |
I checked their menu and they are open from 10:00 hrs, and sell Bagels, Beans on Toast, Porridge, Scones etc.
0
Votes
suegilholm
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Linnhe1212 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, don't know!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Artisan Cafe

Yes, Artisan Cafe offers takeaway services.

Artisan Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5