We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Mostyn Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TB, Wales
+44 1745 853770
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 679: English reviews
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Previously eaten here approx 18months ago and it wasn't a pleasant experience then. Our two grandchildren were staying with us. We thought we would give it another go. How disappointed we were yet again. Seating was cramped, tables sticky and food on the floors. It just feels dirty, not pleasant to dine in. Opted for two carvery's & two pizza's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've noticed this place got a real mixed bag of reviews. Hopefully my assessment is level an so down to earth. The problems: - didn't know whether to seat ourselves or wait to be seated. No clear signage indication. - the food we ordered wasn't available. Wasn't told until after payment and wasn't offered a refund, had to chase that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieran H
Liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying with friends again and decided to take them for Sunday lunch. First thoughts were here as our first visit was great. Set off mid afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed another excellent roast. Food hot, staff nice and chap on carvery really helpful with our choice of meats. Thank you again and we must really try the breakfast. See you soon.

Helpful?
Thank iamspartacus
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Hey so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

widnes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday on our way home from a weekend caravaning in North Wales. The pub was busy but it didnt take long to get served. The meat on the carvery was lovely and thickly sliced rather than the thin slices you get at the Toby carvery. Great choice of veg and sauces etc.. My son had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynseyhowson
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm so happy you enjoyed the visit. See you again soon. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came in at about 1pm Sunday the 14th of May and as you can expect it was very busy, but the young man who was serving us called JJ had a nice quick chat with us and made us feel very welcome and the bar staff were nice and friendly too. Think you might need more staff to serve... More 

Helpful?
Thank barbmay386
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments on to the team and congratulated JJ whom you mentioned. See you again soon. More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying up the road at the Presthaven Sands resort and having already eaten in the on-site restaurant several times we opted to take a late lunch / early dinner at the nearby Bells of St Mary's (Stonehouse Pizza and Carvery). As it was a Sunday and a Bank Holiday we decided to drive down earlier in the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizdrip1
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Lizdrip1, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care. More 

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had Sunday lunch(carvery) we both enjoyed it and found it lovely and tasteful and as visitors to the area value for money.We both will go again before we return home next week. I was surprised to see a number of negative reviews as we found the food lovely and the staff friendly and professional.I wonder how many those have tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin F
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Robin F, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Bells of St Mary's! I've sorted the squeak and bang - thank you for pointing it out to me. Thank you again for the great review! More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We absolutely love this place its clean and great value for money. We came twice on a 4 day holiday and both times the food was mouth watering. The carvery tasted amazing and obviously cooked fresh. The burger was so large my husband regretted doubling up, The desserts are nice but the freak shakes were the best bit and for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsp1989
General Manager A, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Mrsp1989, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Bells of St Mary's! We're looking forward to your next visit with us! More 

stockport
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reminder to self - next time you are tempted to stop for a carvery at £5.99 drive past and find the nearest burger joint. It's an unreasonable expectation to think you will get a great meal at this price. The positive is that it's a pleasant and clean pub, but that's about it. Service was awful, the poor youngster behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank IMD33
thebellsofstmarys1, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Imd33, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 01745 853770 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around. More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

good location with good size carpark, however the food was so disappointing and the service was practically non existent. alternatives to the carvery were limited and tasted like they had been made the day before. (don't go for the beef and ale pie) would recommend you say no to the Yorkshire Puddings (more like bricks) previous to the takeover, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank shamc21
thebellsofstmarys1, Manager at The Bells of St Marys, responded to this review

Shamc21, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Please contact us at 01745 853770 when you have an opportunity, and we will be more than happy to try and turn your experience around. More 

Travellers who viewed The Bells of St Marys also viewed

 
Gronant, Prestatyn
 
Gronant, Prestatyn
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Bells of St Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Television, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mostyn Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Denbighshire  >  Prestatyn
  • Phone Number: +44 1745 853770
Description
Part of a chain called

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bells of St Marys and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Wales, United Kingdom
Rhyl, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Bells of St Marys staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?