We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gold Cape

8 Wrexham Street, Mold CH7 1ES, Wales
+44 1352 705920
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good31%
  • Average25%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (7 reviews)
“burger” (5 reviews)
“cheap drinks” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Wrexham Street, Mold CH7 1ES, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visit here regularly when I find myself in the area. Great value for money, excellent service and very attentive staff. Compliments the value for money aspect you get with all Wetherspoons branches.

Thank jimmboobb
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you jimmboobb for your feedback, and what a great review. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Your typical spoons, food and drinks are fine. Food sometimes takes a while (they once forgot to tell us the kitchen was closed after taking our order 30 minutes earlier). Service is usually good and quick but again depends on the night and how busy...More

Thank A6Robinson
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback A6Robinson. I hope you can accept our apology for the previous visit and not being told about the kitchen being closed, we must have had an off day. I am glad however that this didn't put you off a return...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Once again, after 3 months, we decided to get a quick drink after work, and were, as seems to be usual, overlooked at the bar not once but twice. In this day of exceptional customer service it beggars belief that the bar staff cannot serve...More

Thank AdderL
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi AdderL and Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately we have fallen short on this occasion of our usual high standards and I hope you can accept my apology on this. I do hope that this has not put you off returning so we can...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wetherspoons is a consistent brand, and you know that you will get fantastic value on drinks and food. I also admire them for taking old buildings and refurbishing them back into use. Amazingly, this used to be a Rumbelows TV/white goods shop, but has been...More

Thank Tim L
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Tim L for your review. We appreciate all customer feedback and are happy you enjoy your visits to us at The Gold Cape. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I always find this a bit scruffy and like a school dining room with loads of kids. Not my favourite Wetherspoons in the area.More

Thank Nora S
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nora S. Thank you for your review. I can only hope that whatever experiences you have had with us in the past, does not put you off visiting again in the future. Whilst I must add we are a family, friendly establishment, we do...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this wetherspoons many times and whilst it is due a "tidy up - refurb" you generally get what you expect from the chain. Only called in for a quick bite to eat and both meals were good - lamb cawl & skinny chicken burger....More

Thank C5371VQjohnh
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad you enjoy your visits to us at The Gold Cape. Whilst I can only agree with you on the refurb, our aim daily is to ensure our customers receive the highest standards and the best quality food &...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017

As a Wetherspoon you get what you pay for and expect. As with any wetherspoons they could do to clear the tables but the staff are always friendly and they are fairly quick. Great in a hurry.,More

Thank Glenyce2015
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback Glenyce2015! Whilst I am glad you received speedy and friendly service, I can only hope that we met our high standards too. Our staff work hard to ensure every customer gets what they've paid for and more, with the hope...More

Reviewed 5 September 2017

I only called in for a coffee whilst waiting for a friend as we were eating elsewhere thankfully! The tables were dirty, food on the floor, flies everywhere & it wasn't even busy, not to busy to keep tidy anyway. Couldn't wait to leave.More

Thank Beverley G
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sorry about your poor visit Beverley G, our staff didn't quite meet the high standards we aim for on this particular day, however this is a poor reflection of us and the standards that we generally deliver. Please don't let this put you...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We called in here on our way to Ffyngroew. We had 2 traditional breakfasts and scrambled eggs on toast all with a drink for £11.95. Place was very busy but we were served quickly. tables were cleared and cleaned on a regular basis.Staff friendly and...More

1  Thank bag345s
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and our staff were very attentive to your needs. We do hope to see you back here again soon!

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Saturday Market Day - Took ages to get served, long wait for food - lots of dirty tables and tables overflowing with empty glasses and plates. Staff couldn't cope with the volume - felt sorry for them, only 2 behind bar for a massive pub...More

Thank Billypopps
SamParry88, Manager at The Gold Cape, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Billypops, thank you for your review, we can only apologise for the experience you had on said market day. Saturday is a busy day for us here and our staff work hard all round to ensure the best standards are met and our customers...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fat Boar
730 reviews
.12 km away
Parivaar
211 reviews
.04 km away
cibo @ st davids walk
312 reviews
.14 km away
Truly Scrumptious
89 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Theatr Clwyd
152 reviews
1.43 km away
Spavens
40 reviews
.18 km away
Afonwen Antique & Craft Centre
38 reviews
1.36 km away
St Mary's Church
12 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Gold Cape staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Wrexham Street, Mold CH7 1ES, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Mold
  • Phone Number: +44 1352 705920
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing