We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Y Sgwar

12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
+44 1766 515451
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (30 reviews)
“pudding” (26 reviews)
“lamb shank” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Very good service, well cooked food and proper Welsh lamb, not New Zealand mutton as served in some places!!! Vegetables well cooked, i.e. not overcooked and the red cabbage well worth having. Portions more than adequate. Well worth visiting.

Thank Beryl19
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An alternative and reasonably priced restraunt situated in Tramadog. This wonderful little restraunt has a young and friendly waiting staff who can't do enough to make your meal enjoyable and do it with friendly personalities and a smile. The food is very well cooked and...More

Thank Jim S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A classy restaurant, yet surprisingly inexpensive, particularly the 'Early' Bird' option. Delicious food, friendly staff.and a beautiful setting.

Thank jaeron
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely evening spent in your restaurant. The booking was made based on previous reviews and our group wasn't disappointed, the food was excellent (personal favourite the gin and tonic cheesecake) and the service was friendly and quick. I would definitely recommend your restaurant to...More

Thank Sarah B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely little restaurant with an informal and friendly atmosphere. Staff very accommodating of our 4 month old baby and food was gorgeous. We went at 7pm and had the early bird menu, great value for money. The roast beef was delicious. After a starter and...More

Thank Shellie1883
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

After a busy weekend it was lovely to read this review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal and your evening with us. I hope that you enjoyed your dessert back in the van! We look forward to your next visit with regards...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here last night for my boyfriend's birthday. I had scallops to start and sea bass for main and my boyfriend had mussels to start and pork belly for main. I order fish 90% of the time at restaurants and the sea bass is the...More

Thank Rachael O
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thank you for such high praise. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed your meal and that you had the best sea bass ever! Lovely to hear the front of house staff went the extra mile to mark your birthday celebration. We look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely restaurant. The people were very friendly, the food was served quickly and was delicious. I had 10 oz fillet steak. Other people had lamb, pork and chicken. There was plenty meat on the plate with accompanying sides made it very filling. Everyone ordered...More

Thank Alertbirder
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you for placing us a 5 star review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope that you can come again soon. with best regards Lorraine

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food quality is great ,location is good -peaceful and lovely.Staffs are helpful.The interior design of the restaurant is ok but the price for the food is slightly expensive compared to quality of foodMore

Thank tenhangr
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. There is small comment in the review regarding the expense. In general we believe that we offer a rounded experience of excellent service, quality fresh ingredients and a menu with different prices for different budgets and tastes. We believe that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Y Sgwar as part of a package arranged by our B&B which included a taxi service. We were not disappointed. We were eating on Sunday night and I imagine they had been busy all through lunch time, but the service was friendly...More

Thank Emily C
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for placing this excellent review. Reviews like this give us all a boost and it was our absolute pleasure to serve you. Gin and Tonic cheesecake is a new addition and I think it will be staying. with kind regards Lorraine

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There was a group of us that visited early on a Saturday evening. The place is okay looking and the waiters were excellent and very attentive. The food was slightly disappointing and we got money knocked off for the steak. This was tough and other...More

Thank Peter H
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for placing your review. I am sorry that you expected more. We always do our best, and it was unfortunate about the steak. We did try to rectify this as best we could. There are lots of lovely restaurants for you to try...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Breaktimes Cafe
441 reviews
1.14 km away
Chippy Dre
156 reviews
.08 km away
The Golden Fleece
277 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Madog Quads
306 reviews
.56 km away
Welsh Highland Heritage Railway
184 reviews
1.13 km away
Purple Moose Brewery
85 reviews
1.40 km away
Porthmadog Tourist Information Centre
74 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NicolaCook
28 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
We don't I'm afraid. Both our neighbours have covered outside areas if that's any help. The Golden Fleece and The Union Inn.
0
Votes
Optional F
I was wondering why you didn't treat your cousin to their anniversary dinner if they were having financial difficulties? Also, I would be very embarrassed if you 'outed' me as having financial problems, just to get sympathy for your dining experience. Their financial status is nothing to do with your review. It was a bit unfair to criticize the restaurant for things you didn't give them a chance to fix.When a restaurant is busy - like on Easter weekend, it's chaotic in the kitchen and things will go wrong even though the restaurant normally has higher standards - that's just the nature of any business. You said that the host told you they don't open till 6pm, but you didn't say you had to wait - so this comment is just a report on a conversation - it seems that you're looking for any negative ammunition you can find. I wonder if you're having a difficult time yourself at this point of your life or if you're always so unforgiving. I would think that your attitude would have ruined my anniversary dinner if i was your cousin - instead you could have been a little less rigid and a bit more fun. I am planning to visit this restaurant, so I am taking your review with a grain of salt - with over 350 excellent reviews, your experience isn't indicative of what this restaurant usually delivers.
8 May 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from DebbieRose0404 | Reviewed this property |
I repeat, please delete your comments. They do not relate to any review that I have put in and are offensive
0
Votes
Elizabeth R
22 September 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
Of course they are welcome! We have a couple of high chairs, so please call us to book and we can allow space.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Porthmadog  >  Tremadog
  • Phone Number: +44 1766 515451
  • E-mail
Description
Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing