We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bishopsgate Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
+44 1248 810302
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The food at the Bishopsgate Restaurant is good overall, although it seems it wants to be more than it actually is. The ladies serving you are very pleasant, but as other tables arrived they started ignoring us a bit. Overall, a good experience but not great.

Helpful?
Thank Alex D
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No bread served with starters, despite butter on the table. Water glasses on table, but no water offered. Overcooked mains served with poor vegetables. Decided not to go for desserts as the options were jaded (and the menu read like they'd be straight out of the microwave or freezer). Wine over priced. Service - didn't appear to be that bothered.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pestria
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Very shocked to read your review, and very disappointed you do not say what you ate. Can't imagine why you didn't request bread or water as you could see we expect people to do so with butter and water glasses at the ready. You say overcooked mains and poor vegetables, however offer no indication of what you ordered. I have... More 

St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We couldn't get into any other restaurants in Beaumaris on Saturday night - 8th April and I must admit from the outside this hotel/restaurant looked a little tired but we were made to feel so welcome and sat in the bar for half and hour whilst we waited for a table. At all times we were kept up to date... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the full Welsh breakfast the first morning. You can also have various other choices. Fruit juices, coffee. The Sunday lunch was as good as home cooked. Can not fault anything, everything beautifully cooked and presented.

Helpful?
Thank smiffi62
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Purchased travelzoo voucher for 3x course a la carte dinner for two. The bar area was dog friendly which meant we could eat there. Interior was a little tired and probably could do with a little overhaul altho it did have a certain traditional character. Service was a little nervous (not sure why) but polite and we were seated promptly.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyOldham
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took our family with two grandchildren for Sunday Lunch this Mother's Day. We were welcomed and were able to sit in the lounge/bar area whilst our meal was being ordered and cooked. This was great freedom for the children and enabled my husband to eat his starter so we could all have main course together in the more formal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret I
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Lovely time had by all.Really super food served both at breakfast and dinner was as always five star.Bishopsgate is known and is held in high regard by locals and all that stay.Hazel adds the little Extra to make it even more special

Helpful?
Thank RonaldBruce
Hazeljohnsonollier, Manager at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others, always a pleasure to welcome regular guests back to the hotel. More 

Stamford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017

With a celebration while we were on holiday in Beaumaris, we had checked the local restaurants to decide where to have a meal. We narrowed it down to two and chose Bishopsgate based on the number of favourable reviews. It didn’t live up to those reviews for us. Starters were all very nice but let down by a lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjbat35
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

We couldn't be more sorry that your experience at Bishopsgate didn't live up to expectations. I do recall working on the evening in question and do wish you had said something at the time as I remember doing a courtesy check to ensure everything was to your liking. As you are aware we cannot undercook Pork, however if it was... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

The restaurant has 15 consecutive annual AA rosette ratings and Chef Ian thoroughly deserves the accolade. Food is cooked in a classical French style but with lighter style sauces. My meal was duck breast sliced and cooked slightly pink with a morello cherry sauce, delicious. My wife was equally impressed by her choice of perfectly cooked monkfish tail with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Williehell2
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. How refreshing for myself and our chefs to read a review from somebody who really understands our ethos and obviously appreciates and knows good food. More 

Malvern, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We really do think this is the most comfortable restaurant we ever eat in. Hazel runs an almost perfect establishment with very attentive staff and excellent food at sensible prices. This visit we took the "Early Bird" menu before 7.00pm - 2 courses for £15. The soup was very tasty and the smoked mackerel salad made a lovely starter with... More 

Helpful?
Thank thewellcomegroup
Hazeljohnsonollier, Owner at Bishopsgate Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. As always we are delighted when guests really enjoy good food. More 

Travellers who viewed Bishopsgate Restaurant also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Bishopsgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$22 - US$47
Cuisine
British, Welsh, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Island of Anglesey  >  Beaumaris
  • Phone Number: +44 1248 810302

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bishopsgate Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
over a year ago
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bishopsgate Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?