We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 26/05
20:00

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$28 - US$70
CUISINES
Australian, Wine Bar, Bar, Contemporary, Dining bars
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
88
27
10
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
88
27
10
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course degustation menu nougat steak beans duck matched wines recommend this restaurant dishes chef asparagus
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

Food was nice although the portions were very small. Staff were nice. Ambiance was good. The food was sooooooooooo overpriced it was absolutely ridiculous. I got the rump cap which was nice but tiny. Sides you have to pay for separately. The rump cap was...$45. Im a butcher so i know how much that would have cost the restaurant. And yes i know there are a million factors that go into the cost of running a restaurant. Still way too expensiveMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 March 2022

I booked a group lunch here on the strength of the reviews. I couldn't have been more misguided. The waiter was so serious and looked unhappy, and interrupted us so many times while I was trying to talk to my fellow diners, I kept forgetting...my train of thought. I got the impression that it was 'fine dining' with the decor to match. Instead it looked like a pub interior, all wooden floors and tables, no tablecloths. The food portions were miniscule. The sourdough seemed stale and came out in huge slices. Two or three slices for four people, how does that work? No one would take one because they were so big and someone else would have missed out. The butter was almost melted. The entree was bland and forgettable (popcorn on foam on crab?), with this size it should have packed a flavour punch but there was none. I thought the main would be better. It wasn't. The sauce with the fish was brown and looked so unappetising, and was tasteless. The side dishes were so small, no one would take any because they thought there would not be enough to go around. I was alarmed to see that the beef that others had ordered had chilis on the top, when this was not mentioned in the menu. Some honest person in my team later said that the waiter was wrong about the chilis not being super hot. I had dessert, thinking that it would be hard to stuff that up and it might save the day. I was wrong. Coconut sorbet did not even taste like coconut. Had something that looked like hard molasses in it. Couldn't even figure out what the pieces of fruit were, maybe semi ripe peach? I could tell everyone else felt the same as not one person commented on the food, except when asked, they said it was 'good'. Too polite to complain. If I had to think of positive things, I would say the napkins were nice and the food came out promptly. As I had chosen the restaurant I was so embarrassed. This was a rare outing for our group and we were really looking forward to it. I would never go back or recommend this restaurant. Sorry, I hate to be negative but it's the truth. When you are charging $40-50 for a main, it had better be spectacular and this was disappointing at any price.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
John B, Owner at Annata, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2022

Hi We love what we do at Annata, so we take customer feedback very seriously. Your Trip Adviser review is dated 9 March and you mentioned your group lunch was for four diners . However, we did not have a lunch booking for four people...More

Reviewed 27 February 2022

The food was stunning, matched wines superb, service outstanding, ambience lovely. A great experience. Thank you

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 January 2022

Fantastic food, drinks and service at Annata. Really impressive. Top quality steak with a unique sauce, and the beans were exquisite too. Top shelf staff to match. Very professional. Thanks for a great night.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 November 2021

We celebrated a birthday dinner at Annata which was recommended to us. We had made a booking for 6pm but had been told that we could come at 5:30pm to be out by 8pm. Arriving at 6pm, the person who checked out booking said that...we must be running late but it's okay, there was still enough time. I brushed it off but in hindsight it wasn't really a necessary comment to make. We ordered entrees and mains and one of the entrees didn't arrive and the waiter admitted that he had forgotten to order it. The food overall was good and nicely presented and cooked. The price however, is what really makes me rate this restaurant as average. A slice of bread costs $5 per person. $5! Pretty much the cost of a loaf of bread. It was nice bread, don't get me wrong, but not worth $5 a slice. I had the steak - which was $50. I don't mind paying that for a nice meal, if it comes with something else. I asked the waiter what it comes with and he said it comes with some asparagus and lettuce... It came with about 3 of 4 small rocket leaves and two mini asparagus spears on the top of the steak. So all up it was $50 just for the steak. It was a nice cut but not worth $50. So overall whilst the food is nice... it is not somewhere that I will return. There are a lot of restaurant options in Crows Nest where the food is just as good and at a fraction of the price.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 16 April 2021

We’re always impressed with this place - but the duck tonight was exceptional- so much so it would be wrong not to review it. It’s not every chef who can get it so right.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We like this place very much and the food is really great! The only problem is the service goes off after a little while and you find yourself waiting for the original person who looked after you to come back and see if there is...anything else you might like. Or in fact, anyone. We tried to praise the food so much but there wasn’t a lot of interest in what we thought or said. Would like to go back, but the service would have to be better.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Christian B, Owner at Annata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review; we will definitely be reviewing our sequence of service and making sure that our staff are maintaining the attentive standard that we aspire to every day. Hopefully we can see you again soon, and keep our...More

Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

We had a nice night- great company, ambience and service but the food was really disappointing and the bill made me fall over . The waitress kept suggesting we would need double of everything we ordered because the dishes were small so we went with...it . By the end of the night we had an absolutely ridiculous bill. There is no way I would eat there again because it just wasn’t worth it.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Christian B, General Manager at Annata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2021

Hi Sharon, Thankyou for your feedback. We pride ourselves on sourcing the best quality ingredients we can find, and our chefs work long and hard to prepare them in a mindful and inventive way. The prices we charge, and the coinciding portions, are the result...More

Reviewed 13 January 2021

We all know local restaurants are struggling to survive at the minute so decided to go local rather than into the city and so glad we did! The five course degustation menu was beautiful, my favourites were the spanner crab salad and octopus but hey,...they were all delicious. I think the menu changes monthly so we’ll be back next month for sure. Matching wines are available but we chose a French Chablis, premier cru, not cheap but a fabulous wine and overall the meal was value for money. Important we don’t devalue the excellent food and service provided by suburb restaurants just because of location. This is an awesome restaurant, delivering delicious food and personal servIce. Well done Annata!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 December 2020

A delightful 4 course meal for our group - tuna tartare, spätzle, pork neck and a light and appetising cheesecake. The mushroom arancini as appetiser was well crafted and to finish off we also had complementary puffed rice nougat. Impeccable service, al fresco dining meant...we had the area to ourselves. A nice little find in Crows Nest which has no shortage of dining experiences. Happy to recommend & re visit!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Quest St Leonards
1,050 reviews
.52 km away
St. Leonards Mansions
18 reviews
.96 km away
Cammeray Gardens
8 reviews
1.05 km away
McLaren Hotel
254 reviews
1.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Le Bouchon
286 reviews
.05 km away
Small Bar
89 reviews
.06 km away
tokyo loco bowl
51 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Small Bar, Crows Nest
41 reviews
.06 km away
The Stoned Crow
62 reviews
.16 km away
Siam Cabana Traditional Fine Thai Massage
6 reviews
.15 km away
Hare Krishna Movement
16 reviews
.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Annata staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Annata

Annata is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4