We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hare Inn at Scawton

Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
+44 1845 597769
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent91%
  • Very good5%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (51 reviews)
“venison” (23 reviews)
“pudding” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Tucked away, along a winey road off Sutton Bank, you'll find The Hare Inn. When you step inside you're immediately greeted with a very friendly & welcoming greeting. Whilst having pre dinner drinks we deliberated over the 6 or 9 course tasting menu. We decided...More

1  Thank Mwalshm
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had not been to the hare for over 12 months and immediately realised how remiss this had been. Liz and Paul have made this a truly wonderful venue Paul's attention to detail as a chef is incredible. The tasting menu really is a gastronomic...More

Thank Pauline G
A TripAdvisor Member
168
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We regularly visit the hare and it's quite simply superb there's nothing quite like it for miles Service food wine is faultless See you soon

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Without doubt one of the hidden gems of Yorkshire.Took a bit of finding but wow so worth it . Lovely setting fabulous food. Meat that just melts inthe mouth . Wonderful

Thank Dave C
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful food, lovely setting and great service. Great flavours, beautifully presented. This is a 13th century inn with plenty of character. The staff were geat and even gave us a written Anniversary card signed by all the staff. Brilliant night, thanks.

Thank PaulMulhern
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We booked The Hare well in advance for a special birthday dinner. We knew we were in for a treat but didn't really quite realise until we were on our journey through the menu quite how much we would enjoy our evening. Every dish was...More

Thank ClareF017
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Was recommended to visit here by friends; we hadn't been in years, and certainly not since the new owners. Wow! Stunning food, served by attentive, friendly and passionate people, nestled away in a homely old Yorkshire inn. Staggered we hadn't heard more about this place,...More

Thank Jorvik93
Reviewed 12 May 2017

This 13th century inn is at the top of Sutton Bank. The quality of the food is superb - even by my exacting standards! The only criticism I have is that the portion size is a little on the small size. Given the location we...More

Thank Traveller_Ian333
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The Food is amazing with fantastic special board all set in a traditional olde worlde pub. Wonderful food, Beers and service all topped of with a great atmosphere.

Thank Nick F
Reviewed 9 April 2017

This is not just a meal, but an experience. From the moment we arrived we felt special, and were well and truly looked after. We had the ten course tasting menu, and what a treat, from the way each dish was presented, the flavours and...More

1  Thank Yorkshirelass481
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Swan at Oldstead
810 reviews
3.95 km away
The Forresters Arms
92 reviews
5.16 km away
White Horse Inn
190 reviews
5.67 km away
Nearby Attractions
Byland Abbey
162 reviews
4.46 km away
National Centre for Birds of Prey
975 reviews
5.43 km away
Ampleforth Abbey
198 reviews
6.79 km away
Rievaulx Abbey
950 reviews
3.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nudger1
3 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Liz and Paul J | Property representative |
Hi Thankyou for your message. Unfortunately not. We do have a small bar currently where you can dine in however it is not as comfortable as in the restaurant. If you wish to find out more do email us direct or call us on... More
1
Vote
Oliviajburnsxx
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Liz and Paul J | Property representative |
Hello, Thanks for the question. Yes we can accommodate Gluten free and Coeliac. We ask that if you do have any dietary requirement including vegetarian, nuts, Gluten free, coeliac etc that you notify us at the time of... More
0
Votes
rubyandviolet
12 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Karen G | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't think so because it is a smart restaurant. However, they may allow them at lunchtime. Perhaps you might give them a call to ask - they are lovely people - and they would be best placed to answer your query.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$72 - US$91
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Scawton Village, Scawton, Helmsley YO7 2HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Helmsley  >  Scawton
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 597769
  • E-mail
Description
13th Century Inn, 21st Century Restaurant, The Hare is tucked away in the very south of the Moors. We offer Tasting menus, each dish is individually designed to showcase our team's ability, local produce at its finest and to incorporate different cooking techniques including both modern and traditional methods. Our personalities are reflected on each individual plate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing