We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Milko

118-126 High St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
+61 3 5427 2274
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good30%
  • Average19%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“toasties” (8 reviews)
“cakes” (5 reviews)
“pie” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
118-126 High St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Coffee was really good but it was the food which delighted. I love fresh food and this food was fresh and tasty! Thank you to the staff for making my visit so relaxed and enjoyable.More

Thank Robert R
Mathew H, Owner at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Robert R Thank you for your kind words and in particular for recognising our hard working and friendly team! Our focus is 100% on serving up tasty, affordable and local foods which we are wrapped that you enjoyed so much Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped by this delightful little cafe to have a break and enjoyed the excellent service , great food and ambience. Staff was very pleasant and polite. We had turkey sandwiches with beetroot relish , pumpkin soup and a chicken sandwich - all fresh and...More

Thank tara2211
Mathew H, Owner at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks Tara2211 So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And we loved the great shots you posted of your Milko experience. Thanks once more.

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We ordered toasted sandwiches here and they were made up of one tiny thin piece of lunch meat, some dry rocket : no cheese or condiments. Think dry toast. Took 25 minutes and was beyond a poor effort for such an easy dish.More

Thank Hannah P
Mathew H, Owner at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Hannah P, We understand that the sandwich was not prepared correctly. If you have rocket, then you ordered the Pork Porchetta Toastie. Far from lunch meat it is made by a local providore Butcher; it is served with a house made Apple Sauce, which...More

Reviewed 18 February 2018

In two weeks we have been here almost every other day with one or other of our family (daughter and two little toddlers). The children's snack menu is good and the adults are fully catered for in the way of toasties, pies, cakes and hot...More

Thank Sandybags_13
Mathew H, Manager at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you so much for your positive comments and we hope to see you all again soon! The Milko Team

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely decor and ambiance... it was nice to sit outside under the vines and eat lunch, however the service was lacklustre. Our coffee that was ordered to come out after the meals came out before and then one meal arrived 15m before the other, so...More

Thank Sambo70
Mathew H, Owner at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for you review and positive comments. Apologies if we did not get the service quiet right, not sure of the circumstances but sometimes we can have busy periods where service levels can for a small time below where we would all want the...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

The Milko had a good range of food options and caters for vegans. Not that I am vegan but I did have a vegan toastie and it was delicious. The Milko also catered for children with a kid friendly area and baby change facilities. Good...More

Thank Leonie W
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Good food, good coffee, not the best in town, but very close to it. The staff have always been very nice - the other day I was waiting for my family - who were about 20 mins late - and I had ordered their drinks...More

Thank Luke J
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Got sick of always waiting in the queue at Bourkies so went exploring and stumbled across this cafe. Loved the coffee and the rustic feel of the place. Would definitely come back just for the coffee which was not too strong (as they are often...More

Thank johnnoshungry
Mathew H, Manager at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks Johnno, Great to see you found us and we would be happy to see you again soon for some more Seven Seeds Coffee! Cheers.

Reviewed 21 July 2017

It was ok. Overpriced pies and terrible coffee. The only real thing it had going for it was the decor and the friendly staff.More

Thank Jasmyn1985
Mathew H, Manager at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Hi there In response to your review and on the topic of pies. I agree our pies are more expensive then some others. We have a choice to buy generic pies from bulk suppliers and charge a lower price but we choose to purchase our...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

As being a vegetarian who doesn't eat dairy it is often hard to find a cafe that caters for this. Milko has many vegan options. I would recommend this cafe to anyone, the food was perfect, for both meat eaters and vegos!More

Thank Paige N
Mathew H, Manager at The Milko, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you Paige for you review of the Milko and for recognising our vegan and non vegan options, we are really wanting to provide food for all at a reasonable price. One year in and we are feeling that we are getting the right balance....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Woodend Hotels
The Bentinck of Woodend
9 reviews
1.19 km away
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
127 reviews
6.09 km away
Central Highlands Motor Inn
43 reviews
13.00 km away
Kyneton Bushland Resort
101 reviews
15.93 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Schatzi's
112 reviews
.06 km away
il Caffe
68 reviews
.34 km away
Paysanne
43 reviews
.05 km away
The Village Larder
124 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woodend Children's Park
45 reviews
.18 km away
Holgate Brewhouse
116 reviews
.14 km away
Australian Natural Treasures Touring
8 reviews
.07 km away
Woodend Visitor Information Centre
7 reviews
1.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Milko staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$11
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 118-126 High St, Woodend, Victoria 3442, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Macedon Ranges  >  Woodend
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5427 2274
Description
The Milko Cafe provides casual eating options for all people. Specialising in Toasties, Bagels, Salads and Pastries we provide the largest range of Gluten Free, Vegan and Vegetarian options in Woodend; as well as traditional fillings. With two separate eating areas, a courtyard and street-side tables there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy The Milko's offerings. Coffee is the heart of our business, provided by Melbourne's own Seven Seeds, it is one of Woodend's best brews.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;