We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sweetwaters

120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
+1 802-864-9800
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good42%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“bison burger” (15 reviews)
“fries” (49 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food took 45 minutes and arrived for only some of our party, leaving one to sit and watch, last meal arrived 15 minutes later, manager was rude and disrespectful, unfortunate

Thank Colleen f
Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed in Burlington one night during Brew Fest (by coincidence). We chose Sweetwaters by chance, and discovered its interesting history in a building dating back to 1880, when a trust company first occupied it for some 70 years. It's a large restaurant/bar, with a...More

Thank JimTaggartOttawa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, outdoor seating and some indoor seating with a few of Church Street, great for watching what's going on outside. Cozy interior decor.

Thank 6Vermonters
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food nice selection of local beer. Outdoor seating along the busiest street in Burlington should have had lunch outside but it was hot

Thank phillyphotodave
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family specifically visited this restaurant because it was dog friendly. When we arrived, we were seated outside (the dog friendly area) and our dog was immediately given water in her own water bowl. The menu had a good variety. My two youngest ordered off...More

Thank winnsmash
Reviewed 1 week ago

I go to a lot of places based on Trip Advisor recommendations, and as a result I don't usually submit too many poor reviews. This was one of the rare exceptions. I'll start out positively and try to be fair in this review. First off,...More

Thank mdcawa
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share such a thorough overview of your experience. It sounds like we had some opportunities to impress and that we missed the mark. I am not going to make excuses since it is clear that our manager was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch outside with our Black Lab - I have celiac and they have an pretty extensive gluten free (gf) menu - I had a delicious chicken/bacon sandwich on a good gf bun - my husband had a bison burger. They had gf beer...More

Thank AdkSkiGirl
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the shout out. Our extensive gluten free menu is a big hit and we LOVE puppies on the patio.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We sat outside at an umbrella table and watched the activity on Church St. The food was good but a bit pricey. Ended up just ordering the chicken finger appetizer which was more than enough. Very tasty.

Thank Deb H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was mediocre, and the service about the same. We ordered a couple different things, one being the pulled buffalo chicken nachos, which were weird, NOT pulled, but chunks of leftover chicken that even had a bone in part of it. I understand using...More

Thank Jess V
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jess V, thank you for sharing your feedback. We cook and prepare our pulled chicken specifically for that menu item, which does explain the bone but doesn't forgive our attitude towards you finding one. I do apologize for that and if you would like...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely little spot on Church Street! We sat out on the patio space watching the people on the walkway. It was simply relaxing and the food was wonderful. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable!

Thank traveler195200
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the shout out. We believe we have one of THEE best people watching spots in the state. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience​.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Leunig's Bistro
1,191 reviews
.03 km away
Stone Soup
144 reviews
.09 km away
Muddy Waters
99 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Burlington Farmers' Market
120 reviews
.09 km away
Frog Hollow Craft Center
83 reviews
.12 km away
Mad River Distillers
15 reviews
.17 km away
Burlington City Arts Center
31 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane M
24 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Terri M | Property representative |
Hi Jane, sorry for the delay in my response but it looks like you got great support from the community. We do not take reservations for groups of that size on Saturday evenings.
0
Votes
gailmath
27 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Terri M | Property representative |
Yes we are from 11 am - 11pm.
0
Votes
Kasey R
12 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Terri M | Property representative |
Absolutely. We allow dogs on our patio.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 01:00
Saturday
11:30 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 120 Church St, Corner of Church and College Sts, Burlington, VT 05401-8401
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Burlington
  • Phone Number: +1 802-864-9800
  • E-mail
Description
Sweetwaters is an American Bistro with an unique twist on your favorite eats. For over 30 years, we've been serving fantastic cuisine with local ingredients in a family-friendly atmosphere in the heart of Burlington, on the corner of College and Church Streets on the charming Church Street Marketplace. Architecturally interesting, Sweetwaters is housed in what was the original site of the Burlington Trust Company. Built in the 1880s, the building retains its original mouldings, cornerstone, clock and architectural appointments.

With a full bar, extensive menu, unique interior, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, Sweetwaters certainly has something for everybody. We serve lunch and dinner daily, with a late night menu for all you night owls out there.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing