We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YE OLDE TAVERN

5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pot roast” (103 reviews)
“apple butter” (117 reviews)
Open Now
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We have been going to Vermont for many years and for no particular reason, never ate at the tavern. That was a mistake! We had a very nice meal, near the fireplace, outstanding service, and because we got there early, (5:30, which is our norm)...More

Thank jdcBoston_Ma
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded today

We are thrilled that you finally got to experience the charm and fine food at the historic charm Ye Olde Tavern. In addition, it is great that you were able to take advantage of Our Early Bird Menu. This Menu delivers the best quality meal...More

Reviewed yesterday

The fritters and whipped maple butter were delicious! The food was good and the portions were reasonable. The service was quick and everyone on the service team was working together to make sure people were taken care of in a highly efficient manner.More

Thank happytraveler0412018
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks for your visiting us and for taking the time to give us a 5 star review. The team works very hard to make sure you have a great dining experience and it's great to hear that we accomplished that. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed yesterday

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner last night and absolutely loved our waitress who drives 45 minutes from Rutland to waitress here, they are lucky to have her. We started with venison sausage with an incredible blackberry sauce and an order of crabmeat stuffed...More

Thank Jack06413
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Jack, Thank you so much for the wonderful review and dining with us! We're so happy to hear your service was great (we have 2 sisters that drive from Rutland to work here, do you know which one?) and you enjoyed all of the food!...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I love the Ye Olde Tavern in the Winter -- it's always has a nice fire in the fireplace, and if I can get the front room behind the check-in desk, you know its going to be warm and toasty. We've found that this is...More

Thank Walter C
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Walter, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. t's great to see you call out so many aspects of the visit that you enjoyed. We all look forward to seeing again soon and there's a warm welcome waiting for you. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Ye Olde Tavern six or seven times in the last two years. Some nights it has been absolute perfection -- great food, great service, comfortable, interesting. Other nights, a total disaster. I think it helps to be very, very careful choosing...More

Thank mommak201
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your dining at Ye Olde Tavern on many occasions. It is nice to hear that you thought that we have 'great food, great service, comfortable, interesting.' That is what we strive for and, usually, achieve easily. Therefore, we are sorry that you found...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here during a ski trip to Stratton. Food was very good and tasty. This is an old style traditional American food restaurant. Wine list was just so so. Atmosphere was that of an old colonial era tavern in the tradition of the 76...More

Thank Scott G
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Scott, Thank you for dining at with us. We are happy you enjoyed your evening and enjoyed the historic ambiance. We wold be happy to have you join us again and earn that 5 th star. Cheers, Michael

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great dinner. We were greeted, seated, and dined quickly and comfortably and were able to enjoy the "early bird" specials because we arrived early on a weeknight. The food was very good, the courses were efficiently served, and we thought the prices...More

Thank GrnMtnGirl79
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Ye Olde Tavern. We are very proud of our New England Comfort Fare, service from a bygone era and historic ambiance. It is always lovely to hear that our guests find everything to their liking. We are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a tour guide in one of the most prestigious places in the United States, I appreciate history. I was appalled to be turned away at the door tonight, simply because I had my two children with me. We may have looked a little disheveled,...More

1  Thank historylover222
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am shocked by the 'extreme' negative tone of your review and must refute your comments. Those of us who live and work in the hospitality industry spend hours planning how to be the most welcoming and provide the best in food and service. At...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I got snowed in in Manchester VT. (See review of Manchester View) Everyone else closed for the night at around 4pm. These folks were open and had the best Early Bird specials I’ve seen in ages. $19.99 for bread, cranberry corn fritters, choice of salads,...More

Thank David R
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

David, While we are sorry to hear that you got snowed in, we are thrilled that it brought you to our historic Tavern. We appreciate your kind comments and are very pleased that you enjoyed 'our twists' on classic American fare, the price of the...More

Reviewed 9 March 2018

This is the place for you if you're looking for some good old fashioned comfort food. They serve an awesome pot roast and a great chicken pot pie. We have eaten there many times over the years and it is always great. If have have...More

Thank CES11937
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review based on your many visits to Ye Olde Tavern. It will be a pleasure to share your positive comments with our kitchen team. In truth, many of our patrons 'feel' or 'see' spirits at...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Manchester
Palmer House
346 reviews
.24 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
144 reviews
1.00 km away
Aspen at Manchester
117 reviews
1.06 km away
Casablanca Motel
235 reviews
1.08 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mrs. Murphy's Donuts
133 reviews
.47 km away
Cilantro Taco
235 reviews
.24 km away
Up For Breakfast
755 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Comollo Antiques
6 reviews
.76 km away
Tilting at Windmills Gallery
5 reviews
.69 km away
Northshire Bookstore
252 reviews
.51 km away
Backroad Discovery Tours
136 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
roadtrip815
16 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about shipping our maple butter. Unfortunately we do not ship it, do the fact of the weight and that it would have to be next day air. If you are ever in the area and it is before opening time, we... More
0
Votes
Amy E
11 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about the historic Ye Olde Tavern. Our Early Bird Menu is offered Sunday-Friday from 5:00-5:59pm (you just need to be in the building by this time). It is not available during peak periods, such... More
1
Vote
NewtownBobby
19 October 2016|
Answer
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
We just got your message. As we focus our energy to our guests, we check TripAdvisor every other day and do not accept reservations or table requests via online websites. I just looked in the reservation computer and did... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$34
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing