We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shebeen Pub & Braai

247 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5043
+1 434-296-3185
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good35%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (18 reviews)
“corn chowder” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
247 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5043
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and I always worry if tastes run the same. Well, in this case it does. We stopped in after a visit to Monticello not knowing what to expect and having never eaten South African fare. We studied the...More

Thank Ginko214
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the 5-star review! We're so pleased to hear that everything was to your liking during your recent visit, especially the flavors of your appetizers and entrees. We appreciate that you took the time to leave us feedback, and we hope to serve...More

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely terrible experience at the Shebeen on 10/20/17. Our party of five adults had an open table ressie and arrived on time. After pouring water for us, the waitress disappeared for 15 minutes. When she returned, we ordered appies, drinks, and dinner. One appie and...More

Thank concordelover
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Don, I'm very sorry that your recent experience dining at Shebeen was negative. We have high standards for customer service that were not met and this is not the type of experience we want our customers leaving with. We are working internally on improving...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Brunch for two on a warm Sunday offered an opportunity for us to sit outside. It was a real pleasure. I had Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon served with fresh fruit and my companion had the Corned Beef Hash, which was served with eggs of...More

Thank Enjoysgoodfood21
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for trying Shebeen again after a previous negative experience. I sincerely appreciate your continued patronage. We are always improving and are glad we met your expectations this time and you had an enjoyable meal on the veranda. Thank you for the positive feedback,...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

I was here for a reunion dinner with old friends. The menu is extensive and offers choices with blends of spices that aren't commonly seen. There are also "regular" items for those who don't want to explore something new. The marinades on the meats are...More

Thank K5122CSchristineg
WalterSlawski, Manager at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for choosing Shebeen for your reunion dinner! We're so glad our flavors, wine, and service were all excellent. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to serving you again soon! -Walter, Owner

Reviewed 7 September 2017

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this restaurant. It was our first time eating here and we were not disappointed. It has a very quaint atmosphere and the wait staff are friendly and helpful. My husband had the ribs which were excellent. A...More

Thank Geisha514
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We are so happy you and your husband chose to celebrate your special day with us! We always aim to provide a 5 star experience and are glad the atmosphere and food were enjoyable. We look forward to having you both back soon! -Walter, Owner

Reviewed 25 August 2017

Felt like stepping into another world. Menus in Africaans with English subtitles. We tried four different entrees as well as an appetizer sampler. I totally enjoyed the experience. Some in our party will definitely be coming back. Some of us were okay with the one...More

Thank Sherri R
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We're glad your party enjoyed the experience at Shebeen, Sherri! We agree, our service staff are pretty awesome and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to the team. We look forward to having you back in soon. -Walter, Owner

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Four of us for dinner. Our initial impression of the menu was that it was not very extensive in its offerings. We started with the Stellenbosch Sampler appetizer, which was quite good and raised our expectations for the food to come. Alas, we were disappointed....More

Thank Nortguy
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

While we're disappointed your experience as not excellent, we appreciate the honest feedback. We always strive to serve delicious dishes with the best South African flavors- it sounds like you may have caught us on an off night. We are always improving for our guests...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Great restaurant! Great food. Happy Hour is great-$3.00 rail drinks that aren't skimpy. The staff couldn't be any nicer.

Thank earman2016
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thanks for stopping by for Happy Hour at Shebeen! We appreciate your compliments and look forward to having you back in soon for more great food and drinks! -Walter, Owner

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Great service, great space, great food. I ordered the curry. It was served in a mini cauldron. Beautiful. Subtle spices.

Thank Josh W
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We're glad you enjoyed all of our food, especially the curry. Thank you for leaving us a positive review, and look forward to cooking for you again soon, Josh! -Walter, Owner

Reviewed 10 July 2017

My husband and I went here for Sunday brunch. The atmosphere outside was so cute. They have swings at the bar that we wished we would have known about the night before. I had Shenandoah Joe coffee which was really good (the waitress actually brought...More

Thank Tina R
WalterSlawski, Owner at The Shebeen Pub & Braai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Tina, thank you for trying us out for brunch! We're happy to hear you enjoyed our veranda's atmosphere and also our delicious brunch options. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area! -Walter, Owner

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Downtown Grille
414 reviews
.30 km away
Albemarle Baking Company
96 reviews
.27 km away
Orzo Kitchen & Wine Bar
273 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Historic Downtown Mall
312 reviews
.27 km away
The Paramount Theater
83 reviews
.49 km away
City Market
34 reviews
.28 km away
Jefferson Theater
62 reviews
.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mermaidindisguise
7 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from informedtripper | Reviewed this property |
It's west of the Mall in a shopping center across McIntyre road opposite the Omni Hotel.
0
Votes
thenorthwind
16 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WalterSlawski | Property representative |
We are open sundays for brunch from 10 till 4 and dinner from 4 till 9. We look forward to seeing you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 247 Ridge McIntire Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22903-5043
    (West Main St)
  • Location: United States  >  Virginia (VA)  >  Charlottesville
  • Phone Number: +1 434-296-3185
  • E-mail
Description
The Shebeen Pub & Braai is our little piece of Africa in the heart of downtown Charlottesville! Our Shebeen, styled after the Cape wineries, offers unique food in an engaging setting. At The Shebeen Pub & Braai we present you with South African hospitality. Our menu reflects the multiculturalism of the Southern African palate. From spicy African peri-peri sauce and Dutch farmer's Boer sausage to pub-style fish 'n chips, you will explore a cuisine of surprising diversity. Allow us to host your next dinner party, or simply meet your mates in the pub for a pint. We will blend exceptional fare with a comprehensive event planning and management if you're interested in our catering services. Our commitment to local and seasonal ingredients and our passion for special events, allows us to do what we love every day. We look forward to having you at The Shebeen Pub & Braai!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing