We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
+44 1462 812293
Website
Today
12:30 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Fri 12:30 - 21:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Been going here for 20years on and off always had generous lovely meals Great staff and a land lady that has always made me laugh! Any function they are happy to help with and great rooms if you need to stay Definitely one of the best pubs I know! Special thanks to Karen for all the good times we've had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable rooms, warm and clean. N Booked in here on recommendations only which proved to be a good choice. The review rating does not reflect the true value of the establishment. Great restaurant with quality food.... priced accordingly. Good parking and easy access to local areas and road network. Friendly and helpful staff. Would certainly re visit when in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven N
Stotfold
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well presented and well cooked Sunday lunch but price!! Won't return until prices are more realistic.We hear from others that Pensioners lunches in the mid-week are good so will give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank SkorpioW
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I don't usually write a review!! But after tonight's visit I feel the need to let future customers know about their billing system. Want to warn other customers Friend and I went for dinner tonight. The food was lovely and the waitresses were polite and friendly. So no issue there. My problem is that when we went to pay for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina M
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a very disappointing visit here in December the manager invited us back to try and put things right. Well I have to say they certainly did. The meal was fantastic. They had a new menu and I tried their new chicken dish which was first class. We were very happy and would highly recommend having a meal here. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda0501
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

We are so very pleased that you came back on the managers invitation and had such a great experience this time, and thank you for taking the time to write the review. Hopefully we will see you again soon. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Went to lunch here with a friend, never been before. We stood at the bar for almost 10 minutes waiting to be served. Eventually someone came and we got our drinks. We ordered the food and that came out reasonably quickly, but it was horrible...I ordered the fish and chips, the portion was huge but the fish tasted unpleasant. Apparently... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JulienneX9
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had a disappointing time when you came for lunch here at the Green man, unfortunately we are so short of staff due to winter illness. We apologise for all the times that you had to wait and do hope that in the future you decide to visit us again and have a better experience More 

Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

Mayself and a friend went for lunch to this restaurant. The menu offered a good choice of dishes although we were surprised to be initially given their older persons menu as I am 53 and my friend 48 after explaining to the waitress that we were not eligible due to age . she seemed embarrassed and gave us the regular... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaroleBowpitt
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, sorry about the mishaps, but glad that overall you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon More 

Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

When I first saw the advertisement I couldn't believe the price £29.95 for a three course meal and disco on New Years Eve! I knew the food would be good, but wasn't sure about the rest. Arrived to a lovely welcome tables were in the conservatory. We all had tiger prawns to start which were lovely. I had lamb to... More 

Helpful?
Thank diane497
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Hi there, this is Karen who worked that night and first i would like to thank you for your review but i have to say that the customers made for a great atmosphere that night, which in turn made it a great night for us that had to work. So thank you once again More 

Old Warden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Visited here on Christmas Eve, the food was delicious and plentiful, the service was friendly and efficient. I would have rated excellent had it not been for the children running around the restaurant. Would still highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Terry G
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recommendation, we can only think that the children were excited for Christmas. More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

The location is easy to find and very adequate parking . The Ambience , Service and Food is really excellent . We held a 90th Birthday Party with all Family and Friends present and all the Group commented on how good the food was throughout the meal . A place to visit for Lunch , Evening Meal or Bar Snacks

Helpful?
Thank Thewelm
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you and your party had such a lovely time More 

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stanford Road, Stanford, Biggleswade SG18 9JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Biggleswade  >  Stanford
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 812293
Description
Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, inglenook fireplace in our front bar and new log burner in our eating lounge room area which is very popular with our patrons especially in our winter months. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities on the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for. This includes weddings, see our wedding package on our website. You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95. We also have a lunch deal available to all ages, this includes two course for £9.95 or three course for £11.95. We have also just launched our Christmas 2016 menu which is also available to view on our web site

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Green Man staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?