We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Le Skipper

27 quai de la Poitheviniere, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
+33 5 46 09 20 38
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good39%
  • Average22%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 2:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
French, Gastropub, Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 quai de la Poitheviniere, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We usually eat on the Ilot to have a great view of the port but today we ate on the harbour side. Weather was perfect the view is just lovely and it was just at the right busy factor, (it can be manic). We found...More

Thank llo1846
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a great lunch here with a friend yesterday. Service was perfect as was the view of the harbour. I had the boeuf tartare which was amazing and my friend had the salmon tartare and raved about it. The staff were very attentive and...More

Thank cynjoy
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

It's difficult to distinguish between the various waterfront restaurants. Once you get over the fact that all the restaurants are London prices then it's just a question of finding a menu that you like the look of. Our food was very good, foie gras and...More

Thank Barrfood1
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank for choosing our humble restaurant. Hoping to see you again. Culinary, Le Skipper

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Ok, this restaurant is in a long line of others and I suppose some people expect it to be cheap. We found very good food, very good wine, very good service and a very good location. We were greeted by a friendly waiter who couldn't...More

Thank mcbain70
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for being so kind. We work very hard to make people happy. Hoping to see you very soon so. Culinary, Le Skipper

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Great location right at the heart of the quay at St Martin - inside and out. It does catch some wind in the evening so take a jumper. No frills food, good value, decent portions. Always a 'slate' for daily choices. Short but good value...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for so many compliments. Hoping to see you soon so. Culinary, Le Skipper

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped by this wonderful restaurant for a bite to eat during a day of cycling the island. The 3 course set menu for only 20€ was the option of choice for all of our party and we weren't disappointed! The Serrano ham starter was simple...More

Thank TomSwindall
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you!!! Hoping to see you back at ours soon! Culinary, Le Skipper

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We discovered this Restraunt three years ago. The food is amazing and very well priced. We went again tonight and the food was as before great. We read a review a couple of days ago about a rude waiter. We did not find him. Rather...More

Thank John P
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you so much for all your words. Can't find the rude one either. Still searching. Hoping to see you before 3 years! Culinary, Le Skipper

Reviewed 23 July 2017

We had the rudest waiter I've ever known, told us out French accent was terrible, which may be true but not what you expect when about to pay in excess of 150€ for your meal, and made us choose our own ice cream flavor form...More

Thank skbird01
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the restaurant with great expectations however the waiter that came to our table was immediately rude to us. We thought it was odd behaviour but thought perhaps we had misunderstood him. However when he came back to the table, his rudeness continued to...More

Thank Lesleehudson
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Ate here for lunch. The waiter saw us, but didn't acknowledge us so we seated ourselves (lots of free tables). When he did come over, he seemed indifferent, even a bit surly in his demeanour. No welcome, no smile. He was talking to us, as...More

1  Thank Sabscababs
leskipper2012, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Skipper, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Really sorry for the service, it must not be so terrible. Please accept our excuses. Culinary, Le Skipper

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Martiniere
1,899 reviews
.06 km away
Le Marco Polo
85 reviews
.07 km away
Les Embruns
522 reviews
.12 km away
Creperie De L'Ilot
20 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vue panoramique depuis le clocher de l'eglise
613 reviews
.20 km away
Port de Saint-Martin-de-Re
797 reviews
.03 km away
Anes en Culotte
171 reviews
.35 km away
Citadelle Vauban
51 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Le Skipper staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$59
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
7:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 quai de la Poitheviniere, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Nouvelle-Aquitaine  >  Charente-Maritime  >  Ile de Re  >  Saint Martin de Re
  • Phone Number: +33 5 46 09 20 38
  • E-mail
Description
"Bistronomique" restaurant right on the Harbour of St Martin de Ré. Local, fresh, seasonable and homemade food. Classic and inventive cuisine. Great view from the outside, inside and upstairs. Attentive and kind service, every day and all year long. We welcome you for a romantic, family or friendship diner. We can also organize personnal and professional events, from 10 to more than 150 people, ask for information by mail. Animals delightly allowed. English, Spanish and Italian spoken. Waiting for you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing