We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ippokampos Beach Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ippokampos Beach Restaurant
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
From early in the morning until late at night we serve great coffee, refreshing drinks and innovative Mediterranean cuisine. Breakfast/ Brunch: 8.30 Am - 12 pm. Kitchen hours: 12 pm - 12 am. Location: Enjoy the amazing view in front of the famous beach of Saint George, while tasting the delicious dishes of Ippokampos. Features: Summer breeze and relaxing atmosphere are the main features of the beachfront Ippokampos Cafe Restaurant. The restaurant experiments with numerous Mediterranean products of superb quality. The great service and relaxing atmosphere, with the light colours and simple decoration, are there to satisfy your every taste need.
PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, Mediterranean, European, Greek
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service, Waterfront, Beach
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
117
53
20
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
117
53
20
9
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Great view, accessible, and very friendly staff! The owner stayed and took a good care of us. ...and the menu is so full of Imagination... I would love to visit again!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?21  
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel but went to the beach and ate lunch at the restaurant most days. It was so good lovely sun loungers very comfortable and the two girls who look after the beach are great. Extremely Friendly and really helpful...(especially Debra really loved her). The food is great quality and competitive price. Drinks are also very reasonable. 10/10 made our stay perfectMore

Helpful?
Reviewed 4 August 2021 via mobile

Although prices are affordable, by the time you get what you ordered you won't be either thirsty or hungry anymore. It takes at least half an hour to get a beer and the glass will never be properly full even if you complain there is...too much froth. I have never seen such a slow service. The staff is far from being as friendly as in other places. There are much better places in saint george’s beach than this one.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
ΕΥΑΓΓΕΛΟΣ Σ, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ippokampos Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear 14apostolosk, you ordered 2 beers of 500ml on the beach.. when we served them to you, you returned them back because, as you said, the beer liquid was not till the line that means 500ml... you mentioned that it was too much froth, but...More

Reviewed 3 July 2021

My husband and I got married on the beach at Ippokampos in late June and it was a truly magical experience, made perfect in every way not just by the breathtaking setting, but by Spanos and his terrific staff. Every detail was thought of, planned...and executed to perfection, from the placement of our floral arch on the sand by the sea, to welcome drinks and canapés, to dinner and dancing on the beach under the stars. Exceptional food and drink, a wonderful photographer and amazing DJ, combined with warm and professional service at every turn, made our celebration one that we will never forget. We can't wait to return for anniversaries. Thank you Ippokampos!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Our group of friends sunbathed in front of the Ippokampus most days so always ended up having lunch here. Good range of foods from salads, meats and pastas etc. along with a nice cool beer. Staff were very friendly and pleasant especially Vimita who was...always on hand to look after us. We came several times for a sunset cocktail as well, all of which were good quality and value.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 September 2020 via mobile

Awful experience! Manager is in denial, read the comment. Ordered toasts and scrambled eggs. Waited for 20 minutes to receive below average toasts. Started eating, accidentally spilled our coffee right after the food was served and ordered a new one. Waited for 15 more minutes...for a new coffee to come. I mean, 35 minutes of waiting and 5 minutes of consuming product! The toasts contained only bread, cheese and ham inside, plus potato chips on a side. Nothing was pre-cut or pre-cooked, what could take 20 minutes to prepare!? And after you spill a coffee, you expect a new one to come immediately. But not in this restaurant! You wait another 15 minutes. A manager was in denial about the serving speed and was rude,started arguing instead of apologising. All we expected was a quick breakfast, that's why we ordered plain toasts and eggs. Stay away from this "restaurant".More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Ippokampos s near the beach,this was one of the beach areas that we would go to almost everyday because it was near our hotel. After a nice swim you can enjoy and relax with a drink or a meal

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Went for breakfast, had to wait 20 minutes for 3 sandwiches and coffees and 15 minutes for an additional coffee. Food was averageMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Span0sV, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ippokampos Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2020

You visited our place at 11:40. You ordered coffees, toast and scrambled eggs . Αt 12:01 you ordered an extra coffee because you spilled the first one. This means that in the meantime (20 minutes), we served your order, you started consuming our products and...More

Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

Breakfast - even better than a five star hotel. Lunch and drinks - delicious. Beach - clean, calm and perfect location. Dinner - excellent.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 October 2019

We arrived in Naxos at 07:00 on 27th August having travelled overnight from London, we couldn't access our accommodation until about 09:30 so we went to Ipppokampos which has the number one spot on St Georges beach. We've been there many times previously to eat,...drink and use the sunbeds. It's a great bar with a lively atmosphere, OK food and OK prices in an up scale, contemporary setting - probably the most stylish bar on the beach actually and its always been one of our favourites! Unfortunately, the music was really loud this year and while I like and fully accept, music on the beach, it didn't suit us although it might some others. For us, it was a little over the acceptable level that helped to prevent easy private conversation. This was our 14th year in Naxos, we've used Ippokampos a lot in the past six years or so and had breakfast there this time but we used their sunbeds just once instead of every day for two weeks - at €15 per day that's a loss of revenue of around €200, we didn't return for any lunches or dinners either which would probably have been another €500 over the two weeks. To sum up, Ipookampos is a stylish venue, it's in the prime position on the beach, their food is usually OK, their beer is ice cold, their staff usually do everything they can to make you happy but this year, for the first time, the music was just too loud and it's for that reason and that reason only, I'm rating them as AverageMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Spanos V, Ιδιοκτήτης at Ippokampos Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2019

Dear Bob C, thank you for your review. of course we will take your opinion under consideration. Nice to see you back to Ippokampos in the future.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Blue Sky
86 reviews
.05 km away
Sun Beach Hotel
58 reviews
.05 km away
Korali Boutique Hotel
132 reviews
.10 km away
Naxos Resort Beach Hotel
574 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Menu me nou
109 reviews
.25 km away
Melimilon
254 reviews
.32 km away
Nissaki Restaurant since 1971
730 reviews
.25 km away
Nostimon Hellas
969 reviews
.26 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saint George Beach
851 reviews
.19 km away
Falcon Auto & Moto Rentals
94 reviews
.02 km away
Oinohoros-Wine Bar & Shop
5 reviews
.28 km away
Philema Food Tours
49 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ippokampos Beach Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ippokampos Beach Restaurant

Yes, Ippokampos Beach Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Ippokampos Beach Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5