We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Millstone at Mellor

Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
+44 1254 813333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to this restaurant with friends despite being reluctant about it. The menu was not to my liking and when we got there we were told there were two items which were not available, reducing my choice even more. We were sat at a table...More

Thank patriciacopple
Millstone_Manager, Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Patricia, Sorry to hear you didn't find what you were looking for on our menu. We like to think the menu we have is varied and has a lot of choices for most people. As all our food is cooked in house and made...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't fault a thing about this lovely hotel. Comfortable Rooms, amazing food, and friendly and helpful staff - all fabulous

Thank Margaret C
Millstone_Manager, Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Margaret, Thanks for the great review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay here with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed it when we came a few weeks ago, so came in for lunch on a Monday again. My wife wanted the steak pudding again but alas they had sold out, so she went for the roast beef sandwich and a mug of...More

Thank 1969steveb
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts on your afternoon with us. I can only apologise for our lapse in service on this occasion, it is not something we like to happen and we will absolutely work harder to ensure this doesn't...More

Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had my wife's 65 birthday party here on Saturday afternoon and it was excellent. First of all the service and bar staff were so accomodating and friendly, they helped out in any way possible and the meals service was perfect as it should be....More

Thank BrockhallBob
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments, we pride ourselves on our service standards and our fantastic food and I look forward to passing your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in...More

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We met up at the Millstone today for lunch. We arrived early for our table due to light traffic on M6 but no problem shown to our table and supplied with menus for both hot meals or lighter lunches. We ordered our drinks then decided...More

1  Thank Flinty59
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, I look forward to passing all of your praise on to the staff and hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind Regards Tim Parker General Manager

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Place was clean some of the staff was busy talking to each other at to wait 10 minutes to get a replacement folk as mine was dirty the food came out cold and wasn't worth the money I paid defo won't be going againMore

Thank Marie P
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

I am sorry to hear that your visit with us was not up to our usual standards. I urge you to give us another try as our usual standards are much higher and we will take your comments on board and prevent this type of...More

Reviewed 23 February 2018

I fancied another trip out to the millstone, bit gutted I've left it a few years. So we went for a late lunch. My wife had the steak and kidney pudding which looked tasty and apparently tasted really nice, glad the waitress said it takes...More

1  Thank 1969steveb
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for such a positive review, we pride ourselves on our food and our Millstone Curry Sauce has been added to the menu as a side due to popular demand. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Tim Parker General Manager

Reviewed 17 February 2018

I was recommended to stay overnight whilst in the area on business and enjoy the kitchen at this refurbished hotel and restaurant. The local girls looked after me very well and found a nice corner of the dining room close to the open fire where...More

1  Thank Brian M
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for the fantastic five star review. I really enjoy reading the excellent reviews we get and I look forward to passing all of your praise down to both our kitchen and front of house staff. Next time you are in the...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018

Great food and friendly service made up for the bad. First, we waited for an hour without explanation or apology for our main course. That is unforgivable. Two and a half hours and nobody asked if we wanted more drinks. The food was brilliant and...More

2  Thank Andy M
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. I sincerely apologise as I completely agree it is totally unacceptable and we will put training in place to ensure this does not happen to any of our customers again. Please do come...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Not been for quite some time went for Sunday lunch had 3 course set menu food was amazing staff very attentive we will Defo be back very soon thanks all

Thank ebeeson
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for such a great review, we pride ourselves on our fantastic food and service and we hope to welcome you back to the Millstone soon. Kind Regards Tim Parker General Manager

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Blackburn
Millstone at Mellor
485 reviews
.01 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
766 reviews
1.18 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
202 reviews
1.46 km away
Sefton Hotel
682 reviews
3.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bay Horse Inn
288 reviews
.86 km away
Feilden's Arms
487 reviews
1.12 km away
Mr Freds Bar & Lounge
129 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley House Spa
64 reviews
1.20 km away
Mrs Dowsons Farm
253 reviews
1.56 km away
Feilden's Arms
11 reviews
1.18 km away
Scare Kingdom Scream Park
27 reviews
1.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James C
14 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from sandywalls | Reviewed this property |
booking is recommended.
1
Vote
Franjacko
8 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Malcolm H | Reviewed this property |
As my children are now adults I don't know if they have a children's menu sorry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$84
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 813333
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the picturesque Ribble Valley, Lancashire, the Millstone is an award winning restaurant and bar. Chef patron Anson Bolton has worked hard to create a menu inspired by the local produce around the inn. Anson's hard work has earned him 2 AA Rosettes which he has held for 10 years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;