We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Millstone at Mellor

$$ - $$$, British,
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
+44 1254 813333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Opens in 5 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pat and I were staying here for two nights while exploring this part of Lancashire and later. I siting Boundary Mill. The weather wasn't the best but our stay here was very good. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the staff saw to us...More

Thank J2R2R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to this restaurant on many occasions thus returned. However I am sad to report it was a very bad experience. Issues as follows On arrival, they didn't have our booking. We had an 82 yo and 84 yo and had to wait...More

2  Thank scottmaxted
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and bring those issues to our attention. The overall experience of our guests is always our top priority so we are really sorry to read that your visit did not live up to previous experiences. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my family visited the Millstone at Mellor for Sunday lunch at 6.30pm. We've all been before and had lovely food and thought it was time we returned following their refurb. We were a table of 13 consisting of 4 children, 2 elderly ladies...More

3  Thank kaylz39
Millstone_Manager, Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however I do strongly disagree with many of the comments you have made. Firstly I was the senior manager on duty, and personally took your reservation over the phone. As you called to increase your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happened on this hotel while searching for somewhere to stay for our planned dinner at nearby Northcote. Lovely little hotel. I love the old building with its character. It was nice to stay in a more traditionally decorated hotel as opposed to something really modern....More

Thank Alexis S
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback about your stay with us. I am so glad you like the decor and feel of the Millstone. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kind Regards, Tim...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

A reservation for 13 of us had been made,to bid farewell to a work collegue. As always the staff were warm and wecoming. Tried a pint of "Lil Bewdy" from the Thwaites brewed range that was in really good condition ,served perfectly and with a...More

Thank BillyBlueEyes2357
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Really enjoyed the food on our saturday night visit with friends in particular the delicious lamb shank.Unfortunately the service was disappointing,lots of young staff who really didnt seem to know what they were doing and didnt seem to know how to smile...with the exception of...More

1  Thank florence1938
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, I am very sorry to hear that your visit to us did not live up to potential with regards to our restaurant service. I will look into these issues and retrain all staff where necessary to...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017

We came to The Millstones a couple of times about 2 years ago and then for some reason we never really went back. About 3 weeks ago we bobbed in as we were passing. Since then we have eaten there twice! On our most recent...More

Thank Totoruth
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments, I am very happy to see you have reignited your Millstone flame and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another visit. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Went for supper with friends. Had a lovely evening, good atmosphere and very friendly staff. The food was excellent! The fish was very fresh and cooked to perfection and the chicken tikka was light and fruity with a beautifuly salad.More

Thank Christabella_48
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind feedback, we pride ourselves on top quality service and fresh homemade food and I am very happy to see you enjoyed your evening with us as a result of this. We hope to welcome you back to the Millstone soon....More

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We only went for a quick, light lunch as time was short but when next visiting my sister we vowed to return for a full meal. The sandwiches were excellent, tasty, filling and creative but the cooked food at other tables around us really got...More

Thank David B
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write these lovely comments about our restaurant and staff. We work hard to ensure anyone visiting us at the Millstone feels welcome and cared for and we really appreciate you letting us know that we are succeeding in...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Visited the Millstone again for lunch yesterday with friends. The restaurant and the bar were very busy but although we had not pre booked the staff at the bar found us a table for four in the recently refurbished bar area. We chose two of...More

Thank cityspotterUk
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review. Our fresh, homemade food and fantastic service are aspects of our hotel we pride ourselves on and I will be happy to pass on the feedback to our team. Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Traders Arms
166 reviews
.43 km away
The Bay Horse
273 reviews
.82 km away
Feilden's Arms
478 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley House Spa
60 reviews
.85 km away
Mrs Dowsons Farm
244 reviews
1.32 km away
Feilden's Arms
10 reviews
.96 km away
Scare Kingdom Scream Park
13 reviews
1.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James C
14 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from sandywalls | Reviewed this property |
booking is recommended.
0
Votes
Franjacko
8 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Malcolm H | Reviewed this property |
As my children are now adults I don't know if they have a children's menu sorry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$80
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 813333
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the picturesque Ribble Valley, Lancashire, the Millstone is an award winning restaurant and bar. Chef patron Anson Bolton has worked hard to create a menu inspired by the local produce around the inn. Anson's hard work has earned him 2 AA Rosettes which he has held for 10 years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing