We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

sweet olive

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
baker street | aston tirrold, Didcot OX119DD, England
01235-85-12-72
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 263: English reviews
Oxford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I brought my father a Travelzoo voucher for Christmas- a meal for 4. We rang and booked explained we had a voucher and the chap we spoke to was very friendly and reminded us to bring the voucher with us. We went last night and had a fantastic evening and meal. Service was superb and the presentation of the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordPingu2
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked, shared we had a voucher, no details of said voucher asked for. Upon arrival the Manager was just dreadful, unhelpful & ultimately rude. We were not going to be treated so poorly & left. Never again, The Hart @ Harwell was however the polar opposite, spend your money there!

Helpful?
Thank Natasha J
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear Natasha J, I am sorry you had such a disappointing experience with your booking however, I absolutely dispute that you mentioned when booking that you had a travel zoo voucher as the voucher itself says clearly it was not valid for Valentine's Day or Mother's Day and myself or my bar manager would certainly have bought this to your... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After the change of ownership I was not sure what to expect as the food had been very good previously. Went with a friend for dinner and we all had a nice dinner but it seemed to have lost the French speciality style which had characterised it before.We enjoyed the meal nevertheless. We returned for lunch a few weeks later.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear Richard P, Thank you so much for your super review. We're very glad you enjoyed your first and second time dining with us. The previous owners had run the restaurant as a French eatery as they were French themselves however we are a much more diverse little team who all have catering experience from different parts of the globe... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I love this place. Such a nice restaurant with a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The food is beautiful and the menu is always diverse and fantastic. It's always difficult to decide what to have because all the dishes sound amazing. Whatever one chooses, you know it will be cooked beautifully and presented well. And most importantly, will taste great. Best chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherrySundaeTattoos
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear likemisshoney, An amazing review, thank you so very much. We're delighted to have pleased you so much with the menu, food and atmosphere. It's always great to hear when someone appreciates the effors we put in as a team and we're so happy to hear you'll be returning. Our very kindest regards to you and grateful thanks for your... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had Lunch at the Sweet Olive in Aston Tirrold, near Didcot, last week and enjoyed every morsel. It was, without doubt, the best lunch we have ever had when using a discount voucher and if the offer is ever repeated, we would snap it up. In fact we would revisit and pay full price...... We were a little dismayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cali4Uk
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here last Thursday evening. We had a Travelzoo deal. I was most impressed, we had a choice of seating either in the restaurant or the bar area and as it was a very cold night we chose the bar area which had a blazing fire!! Our deal was for fizz before and a 3 course a la catre... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear Diane W, Thanks so very much for your amazing review we're all so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and that you felt the food and staff were pleasing to you. We genuinely look forward to welcoming you back soon. Once again, many thanks for your kind words and time taken. Very kindest regards The sweet olive team More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Knowing we were going to Henley today, my husband and I thought we would try out The Sweet Olive on the way home, especially because we have friends who visited you recently and said that under the new ownership their experience was great, staff friendly, food amazing etc. I therefore had a look on your website last night and saw... More 

Helpful?
Thank floss64
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear floss64, Thank you for your time taken to write your review. I am sorry about the confusion with the menus and you're quite right the website was out of date. It is managed by a third party and a request had been put in to remove the pub classics and set menu as you were quite rightly informed we... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This part of the world is not one that we normally visit but was chosen by friends to have a rather pleasant birthday lunch. Whilst the menu is not overly extensive, which in my view is a good thing, there is sufficient choice for anyone. Two of us had the home cured gravalax which looked really good, well presented and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan R
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear Alan R, Thank you so much for writing your super review. We were delighted that you had such a great time and enjoyed the food and service.if you find yourselves out in our direction again we'd love to see you. Once again many thanks and kindest regards. The sweet olive team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here on a promotional offer, our first visit. It was Saturday lunch and we had booked for 1pm. The waiting staff are very friendly and there is a lovely ambience in the bar but we had to wait such a long time for our food. No problem with the starter but our main meal arrived at 2.30pm and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank oxonfour
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear oxonfour, Thank you very much for writing your review and once again my apologies for the delay with the food. I explained we had had an unfortunate, unavoidable staff issue which had left the kitchen compromised that morning and being fully booked that day this had added to the delay. I apologised profusely for the delay and you were... More 

Berkshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first experience at the restaurant, we were here on a Travelzoo promotion so had the benefit of being able to try the menu at a very attractive price. Regrettably, the lunch experience was somewhat spoilt because the dining room was very cold. The radiators weren’t working and for unknown reasons the fire couldn’t be put on, added... More 

Helpful?
Thank beasles
MartineOX11, Owner at sweet olive, responded to this review

Dear beasles, Many thanks for taking time to write your review. I am always keen to take constructive feed back and am concerned that you felt cold during your meal as we've just had a new central heating system installed and not experienced any issues since it's installation. I'm wondering if you spoke to a member of staff regarding this... More 

Travellers who viewed sweet olive also viewed

 
Steventon, Didcot
 

Been to sweet olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$30
Cuisine
European, British, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: baker street | aston tirrold, Didcot OX119DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Didcot
  • Phone Number: 01235-85-12-72
Description
Beautiful country pub and restaurant serving elegant, seasonal, locally sourced food. Constantly evolving selection of beers, real ales, ciders and eclectic wine list. Beautiful cottage garden with seating Al fresco dining available during the summer months and indoor fireside dining during the winter. Walkers, dogs and children are all most welcome.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from sweet olive staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?