We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Moby Dick

) #151 of 210 Restaurants in Romford $$ - $$$ , British,
Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England
+44 844 243 5385
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good26%
  • Average21%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible18%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
08:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having visited this place several times in the past this time will be the last When I, being naturally mean offer to treat a guest(s) to a meal as a thank you I do NOT expect the venue to display behaviour which SHOUTS "You fool...More

1  Thank Ray S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for a Sunday evening meal around 7pm the restaurant was fairly quiet. We had to wait over half hour for our starters which was prawn cocktail and pate. Prawn cocktail was just a load of limp lettuce and the pate was freezing cold...More

Thank Janiceray
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Janiceray We're sorry that the experience was not what you would have hoped for, I will defiantly investigate the matter. Thank you for leaving your feedback Carl

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned here for Sunday lunch after two years as our last visit was awful - more food on the floor than on the plates. We have tried to get insince but each time we went there was at least an hour to wait for a...More

Thank OllieLady
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ollie Thanks for taking time to leave a review, this is beyond important to us as it's how we learn where we are delivering for our guests and where we can improve. We are under new management and our aim is to improve continuously...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm afraid you've lost a star rather than gained the extra one you were aiming for. Why? The service for one thing. Left standing for a while before an acknowledgment and witnessed another customer starting to speak to a server who ignored him and walked...More

Thank Toheem
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Toheem, Yes we would have loved another star rather than a minus but these things take time, Glad to see the food quality was better for you, we are of course addressing everything so please bear with us. Thanks Carl

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Moby Dick Toby Carvery with my partner and my parents after spending the night in the premier inn the night before for a wedding, and despite being very pleased with the food (scrambled egg especially yummy) we found the lack of a fruit juice...More

Thank Hannah W
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Hannah, Sorry your not a fan of Toby breakfasts, we do offer unlimited soft drinks or tea and coffee, also we offer cereals just not pastries and we don't include the juice as the menu is designed for value, juices would increase the price...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately this venue was chosen for a course i was on. Horrified doesnt even come close! No toilet roll in the ladies for 2 out of 3 days. 1 toilet that locked out of 3, how hard is it to put a call into mitchells...More

Thank Dani E
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dani E, We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time to let us know about your issues. We take the matter of cleanliness and hygiene very seriously as a 5...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had heard negative things about this place, kin terms of quality of food, but we called in here after an afternoon of Moby Golf and had a really lovely meal. Carvery was much better than the Toby in Basildon - there were lots of...More

1  Thank Lady_of_Glencoe
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review, may I ask who served you though? No server should ever assume as change must always be given! Again, thank you for a great review. Carl

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After a very sad day we all went back to the pre planned food in one of the function rooms. No room was prepared even though conversations had happened and a call to check the morning of the funeral. What a shambles the room was...More

Thank elizabethdavies30
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Apologies, I understand your disappointment, this was why a large portion was refunded, unfortunately we had not managed this well so all I can do is apologise and promise that the team involved have learned from their mistakes. Regards Carl

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Popped in for a bite to eat and found it to be very hard to persuade the cooks to let me have a man size portion of meats

Thank g30rg30us
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Apologies, please feel free to ask for more next time. Thanks Carl

Reviewed 22 May 2017

Went with my fiance and my sister and her husband to introduce my fiance to her before the wedding day. Good roast selection with large yorkshire pudding and choice of vegetables to eat. Great value

Thank Ian S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ian, Thanks for the awesome review. So kind of you to share your experience. Thanks Carl

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casa Italiana
42 reviews
1.29 km away
Melih BBQ
134 reviews
1.46 km away
Bhangra Beat
55 reviews
1.09 km away
The Tollgate - Sizzling Pubs
54 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Valence House Museum
45 reviews
2.46 km away
Owls Play Centre
6 reviews
3.14 km away
Romford Dog Stadium
355 reviews
2.04 km away
Essex Limos
6 reviews
2.46 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hayley W
Do you have vegan option?
17 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from jenniferghx | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a vegan option why don't you look at the online menu I'm sure it's on there
1
Vote
ViviB206
Do you have a garden area suitable for children? Play area or anything?
24 September 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from DavidSloan2016 | Property representative |
Hello, We do have an enclosed garden which is safe for children to play but we do not have a play area or climbing frame. Hope this helps. Amy
1
Vote
Beryl G
are you far from clockhouse lane Romford
23 August 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from DavidSloan2016 | Property representative |
Go through collier row staying on the B174, join the a12 turning right towards London and we are about mile up on the left. Proberly 3 mile in total.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England (Formerly Moby Dick)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Romford
  • Phone Number: +44 844 243 5385
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing