We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Herbert Wells

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
51-57 Chertsey Road, Woking GU21 5AJ, England
+44 1483 722818
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 08:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I've been to this Weatherspoons a few times over the years and I always get what I expect from a Weatherspoons, ie. a good pint, a good meal and always at a really reasonable price. We had two meals and two pints totaling just over £18. They have many ales on which are kept well and are amazingly priced. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ade J
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

Always great for a night out because it's local and the drinks are cheap. Food is really good and quickly served, also sold at very good prices! All the bar staff are nice and friendly. Sometimes when it's busy, it can take ages to get served and because it's popular on Friday nights and weekends, it makes it hard to... More 

Helpful?
Thank eloisesimmons97
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for the extremely kind words. I will pass on the message to the staff that their service is being well received. We always try to serve customers as quickly as possible but alas when its busy this cannot always be achieved. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this jdw for Sunday lunch. Disappointed that the roast is no longer available. Our food was served quickly and was hot and delicious. Always good value for money

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

I am glad that you got served quickly and that the food was hot and delicious. How we always aim to have it! The Sunday roasts is a company decision and it is always up for discussion. If enough people want them back and we can make it work you never know they may make a return, although there is... More 

Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I met a friend for lunch at Wetherspoons. I had a decent pint with sausage and mash. The service was quick and efficient and the food was hot.

Helpful?
Thank MikeyB1963
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

We hope to see you again so you test whether we are maintaining the standards we have set on your last visit. Thank you for taking the time to review us. More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016

We used the Herbert Wells for breakfast. Very clean, friendly staff, quick service and good hot food. A very good Wetherspoon pub.

Helpful?
Thank Derek W
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

What can I say to this but thank you for telling others that we are doing a good job. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for a cheeky glass of the Cold Creek Rose which the wetherspoons have on tap.....to be told they didn't have any!!! Nevertheless, had a glass of white and relaxed in a pleasant atmosphere. Lovely building inside, staff were friendly. Great for a little stop whilst shopping or I'm sure a great place to begin a night out in.

Helpful?
Thank s g
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us but would like to explain why we have no Coldwater creek rose. We have previously stocked this on tap but for some reason can not guarantee the flavour and clarity. We have had the lines cleaned many times and had the... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Being a Wetherspoons, the prices are all very cheap and there is a great choice of drinks. The menu is reasonably priced and unfortunately I found out why, from start to finish my dining experience was dreadful. I asked for a simple bacon sandwich and although not on the menu, there was a BLT which I would effectively be having... More 

Helpful?
Thank Weyside1234
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your visit wasn't what you had hoped. We take pride in offering a welcoming and open environment. However it appears as though we have let you down on this occasion. I have spoken to our kitchen staff with regards their attitude. This will hopefully not happen again and I am embarrassed it occurred in... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Herbert wells has some of the best drinks,which are always chilled,I also brought food which was hot,and tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. The most important thing for us is that we keep this us. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016

Doing the HG Wells tour of Woking so had to stop in here for a meal, of course! Fast service and a good choice of meals at great prices...The HG Wells theme is carried over into the two huge stained glass panels in the ceiling which really do set the scene, and the interesting sculpture of the 'Invisible Man' in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for noticing the artwork. It's funny what you notice when you stop and look up. However whilst one of the stained glass ceiling panels tells the story of 'The War of the Worlds' the other is a homage to 'The Time Machine'. We have a button that will spin the hands around creating the illusion of time passing.... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This is part of the Weatherspoons chain so prices are very reasonable. The food was good just what you expect and the service fast and friendly. It's clean and well laid out and good for lunch or dinner and near the shopping so a good place to take a break from retail.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip P
HerbertWells, Manager at The Herbert Wells, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Fast and friendly service is what keeps customers coming back so its good to hear that our hard work is being appreciated by our customers. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Herbert Wells also viewed

 

Been to The Herbert Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 51-57 Chertsey Road, Woking GU21 5AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Woking
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 722818
Description
Traditional pub offering good value meals with excellent drink selections. 5 Star health and saftey and have been included in the Good beer guide for 8 years.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Herbert Wells and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Camberley, United Kingdom
21 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Herbert Wells staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?