We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Olive

$$ - $$$
New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
308 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri, New Zealand
+64 9-407 9693
Website
Today
16:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 16:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have visited the Black Olive on numerous occasions, birthdays, just a place to have that Friday wind down. Food was awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank v0nney
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We'd eaten here a few times and enjoyed the food and service each time. This restaurant was very well loved by locals and the menu reliable. The risotto stack was a favourite of mine. Visited recently and the entire menu had changed. The online menu had not been updated either, so when we arrived we were extremely disappointed. Mostly pizzas... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank notthlandrat
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to this restaurant to celebrate my birthday last weekend and had a lovely evening with great service and exceptional food. We will return and recommend to our friends. Thanks Black Olive. We have had pizza from here before (the best)

Helpful?
Thank Janlh_13
Management response:

Thanks for your review, it's great that you enjoyed your birthday with us! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place and good value. Loved my lamb rack and veges. Great wine selection at reasonable prices. Moved us when we asked (as it was busy and we were in the doorway to start off with).

Helpful?
Thank corinnet869
Management response:

Thanks so much we're pleased you enjoyed your evening! More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have previously eaten here and it was fantastic. We decided to give ourselves a treat and stopped here for dinner on our way north. We ordered fish and chips, a seafood platter, calamari and pasta from the kids menu. The calamari was like rubber, the pasta was supposed to come with a tomato sauce but came out with a creamy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amhdgm
Management response:

We are really sorry you had such a bad experience. We are working hard on improving all aspects of the business but unfortunately we failed to deliver on this occasion. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The whole evening was one of the best I have experienced in ages!! Welcoming when we arrived, drinks menu was varied and reasonably priced.....dinner was AMAZING, starter, main & dessert were of a high standard and delicious. And well priced. Can't fault our experience.

Helpful?
Thank Simone N
Management response:

Thanks so much for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Waipapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to dine only to find the menu has changed a lot since last visit, only offering three main courses. Staff seemed unconcerning, we ordered the rolled chicken which was so dry and had hardly any stuffing very disappointed in the quality compared to last visit. No one seemed to be in charge and when complained a older women took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hiddentallents
Management response:

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. The staff are not unconcerned, in fact the menu was changed in an effort to avoid disappointing our customers. While this is clearly a work in progress please be assured we are addressing the issues you raised. More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Black Olive. We did not reserve and just walked in off the street. The ambience was still the same, relaxed, quiet with good wait staff. For this visit we each chose to have the small pizza having had the medium one on our first visit and finding it more than adequate. Our choice did... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen827
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal with my family during school holidays had a delicious pizza service was quick and efficient, lovely lady on counter friendly and helpful also. Dessert was amazing chocolate cake and toffee pudding great presentation would easily recommend to others

Helpful?
Thank 13ninjas
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant early evening (5pm as with our young son). The restaurant had one large group in it only. We were shown an option of 2 free "unreserved" tables. Whilst deciding someone in the back decided they did not want us in the restaurant - not clear if it was because we had our 3 year old... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this review

I am so sorry this happened it should never have occurred in the first place. We definitely do not have any issue with children and am so embarrassed you were treated this way. I can only again apologize again and ensure you that this would never happen again. More 

Travellers who viewed The Black Olive also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Cuisine
New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 22:00
Thursday
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
16:00 - 22:00
Saturday
16:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 308 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Kerikeri
  • Phone Number: +64 9-407 9693
Description
Family friendly funky atmosphere relaxed and friendly, great food and great prices. Takeaway and dine in

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Black Olive and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Olive staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?