We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

South Leavenworth

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
913 Front St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1482 (9th Street)
+1 509-888-4328
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 21:00
Fri 11:30 - 22:00
Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 552: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
204 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were recommended to eat dinner here from a local and it did not disappoint. Great latin food with an outdoor back patio and heaters, set a cool vibe. Big plus is there is no corkage fee if you bring your own wine, so we purchased a bottle from a local tasting room prior to dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Lulu2828
Management response:

A big thank you to you and your boyfriend for sharing a lovely meal with us, Lulu. I'm so glad that you both liked your dishes and that you enjoyed our atmosphere. Whenever you're nearby, we'd love to see you again. Safe travels, Price, Owner More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super great margaritas and excellent food. I am gluten free and had a terrible time finding GF options in Leaventworth. South fit the bill! Street tacos were amazing and the grilled corn appetizer was SO GOOD! My husband and I ate here twice during our weekend stay in Leavenworth. Great window seating made for a wonderful afternoon of drinking, eating... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellyrackley
Management response:

Kelly, thanks for making us a part of your weekend in Leavenworth! I'm thrilled to hear that we could offer you some yummy gluten free options, especially since you were having a hard time finding some. I hope you make it back into town soon for another visit. Till then, Price, Owner More 

Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Try the Street corn, it's amazing. The bartender we have had on the weekends is awesome. Went back on a weekday and we were disappointed with the margaritas. Food is good, salsa bar, corn tortillas, and the Peruvian beans are really good.

Helpful?
Thank SandKTacoma
Management response:

Thanks for letting me know that, overall, you've had some great times with us. I'll be sure to check into your margarita comment, but I appreciate hearing which dishes you really enjoyed. Can't wait for your next visit. All the best, Price, Owner More 

Davenport, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a latin birthday dinner on St-Patrick's day in a German town! The food was excellent - very fresh & tasty. Our server was friendly and the atmosphere was nice. At the time I made the reservation, we were charged a non-refundable $100 "reservation" fee that went toward the cost of our dinner because our group was "large". The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coshna
Management response:

Coshna, thanks for sharing a fun birthday with us! I'm thrilled to hear that your party enjoyed yourselves and that all the food was excellent. Whether you plan on bringing the whole party or just coming for a nice meal, we'd love to see you again. All the best, Price, Owner More 

Athol, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We've visited here a couple times food is always good. Service was slow but friendly. A good choice if your not looking for German food.

Helpful?
Thank Stacia W
Management response:

Stacia, it's wonderful that you've enjoyed our food so much. I'm sorry to hear that the service seemed slow on your visits, but we're taking our time to make sure your meal is perfect. Still, I wanted to thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon for an even better experience. Till then, Price, Owner More 

Pendleton, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I have always wanted to come here. Looking through the window from the street, it looks like it might be a little more upscale than it is. The food was good enough and the service was really good; just not what I had thought. Great selection of sipping tequilas though!

Helpful?
Thank gcoop75
Management response:

Thanks for finally getting a chance to stop by. It's great to hear you enjoyed your experience, even if it wasn't what you had expected. Speaking of the atmosphere, we try to match the decor to the quality of our food, so anytime you want another good meal or are just up to sip on some tequila, we'd love to... More 

Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We've been to South twice and both times we were not disappointed. The food was excellent, fresh, and wasn't overly greasy like some restaurants. South is on the Main Street in town so it's easy to walk there.

Helpful?
Thank MauiDude82
Management response:

Happy to hear we've done nothing but impress! No one likes greasy food. That's why we keep everything fresh and excellent for you. Looking forward to your third visit. All the best, Price, Owner More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

Didnt taste good payed too much for what we ate everything else was good but not worth it Im sorry but im not going back to this place

Helpful?
Thank Joel G
Management response:

Joel, in every meal, we use the freshest and most natural ingredients we can find. I'm sorry to hear you felt that effort didn't translate into something you enjoyed. I'll be sure to check out what may have gone wrong on your visit. Thanks for the feedback. All the best, Price, Owner More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My favorite menu item - the carnitas plate - amazing. I also really enjoy the green enchiladas. You have to try the caiparina (sp?) - the Brazilian version of the margarita - really enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank Bittsel
Management response:

Bittsel, it sounds like you had an amazing meal. Thanks for letting me know which dishes you enjoyed the most. Anytime you're up for some carnitas and another caipirinha, we'll be right here waiting. Till next time, Price, Owner More 

Ashland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

My wife has a saying: "when you find excellent Mexican food don't eat there just once!" Well, I'm writing this sitting down to our second meal at South and it's every bit as good as the first. We are predominantly plant-based and there were a number of items on the menu for us to choose from. The vegetarian tacos were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Drweatherby
Management response:

Your wife has a very specific and excellent saying! We've always thought there weren't enough food options out there for our plant-loving friends. It's great you found our menu to offer some yummy choices for you two like the vegi tacos and the Sweet Potato Enchiladas. Guess we'll be seeing you again -- I'm looking forward to it. Take care,... More 

Travellers who viewed South Leavenworth also viewed

 

Been to South Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$23
Cuisine
Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 913 Front St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1482
    (9th Street)
  • Public Transportation: The trolley stops in front of SOUTH and the Link bus stop is about 300 feet away.
  • Location: United States  >  Washington (WA)  >  Leavenworth
  • Phone Number: +1 509-888-4328
Description
Located in picturesque Leavenworth, Washington, SOUTH celebrates the traditions of Latin dishes and drinks from Mexico, Peru, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina and more. In our rustic space, we modernize the delicious food of open-air markets, beachside palapas and taquerias. From Michoacán carnitas to Brazilian caipirinhas, our dishes and drinks will transport you to their countries of origin. Drop by, have a bite and travel the world with us.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Leavenworth staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?